We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No refund received 5 months later”
Review of Viva Air (Peru)


Reviewed 17 October 2019

We booked flights for 9 people from Lima to Iquitos in May. However they changed the flight time from 8pm to 8am a few weeks before the flight was due. They offered us a refund if we had to cancel our flights. Now it is October and I still haven’t received my refund, despite numerous requests and phone calls. They say refunds take 60 days from receipt of the request form, even if the refund was done in this time it would be ridiculous.

Date of travel: May 2019
1  Thank Tarik H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (835)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 105 of 835 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2019

That was terrible. The staff were rude and they printed the wrong ticket and we almost missed our flight
They also charged us 40 soles ( group of 12 ) for not checking in the flight on the website although it was not written anywhere
Dont fly with them!

Date of travel: October 2019
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2019

Nunca viajen con esta compañía. Hacen lo que sea para cobrarte una vez estás haciendo la facturación. Llevábamos hecho el check in para un vuelo, tras hacer el check in online se nos ha descargado de su página web un vuelo erróneo. Al llegar al mostrador para facturar, para imprimir la tarjeta de embarque nos han cobrado 35€ (unos 40$). En el vuelo de venida, como las maletas de mano que todas las compañías aceptan aquí no, nos cobraron por cada maleta de mano 50€. Es vergonzoso, les deseo que quiebren y así que dejen de engañar a la gente. Dicen que exhiben sus condiciones, pero deberían ser ilegales

Never travel with this company. They do whatever it takes to charge you once you have bought your flying tickets. After checking in online a wrong flight has been downloaded from their website. As a result, when arriving at the counter to check in, they have charged us 35€ (about 40$) to print the boarding pass. On the coming flight, they did not allowed as hand luggage the size that the rest of the companies accept, so they charged us 50€ for each hand bag. It's embarrassing, I wish them to bust and stop cheating people. They say tuhey exhibit their conditions, but these conditions should be illegal

Date of travel: October 2019
1  Thank NereaMadrid85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2019 via mobile

We were scheduled to fly to Colombia with viva air with a stop over in Lima, both parts of the journey were unexpectedly cancelled a week before with little explanation or apology.

I understand these things happen but the refund process is a joke. It is coming to the end of October and we STILL haven’t received our money back.

We ended up paying far more than we hoped for an alternative flight because of the late notice. Really poor customer service.

Date of travel: August 2019
Thank catjamieson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2019

Three of us were traveling round-trip from Lima to Cusco. Cheap Flight, additional costs for everything except using the bathroom. We had very expensive travel insurance, 30% cost of an actual round trip flight. VIVA AIR switched our flight both ways, instead of giving us free boarding passes for our inconvenience they charged us 107 soles($33) for three boarding passes in Lima airport. We also paid in advance $67 for two language.Our backpacks were 7-8 kg, less then limit, however they didn't let me carry small messenger bag & made us pay additional 43 soles($13). All three of us & all other couples in the plane were separated by Viva Air in order to make customers to pay in addition to sit with your loved ones. They are ripping off the customers. This is so sad. After flight took off, I requested my husband to be switched next to me while I was sitting alone between three seats, we were denied unless we paid for it. We also were approached twice by VIVA AIR Rep while we were waiting for check-in in the line to pay 20 soles for each if we wanted to use faster line, second time rep was bargaining with us for 23 soles for three of us.That was disgrace. We are world travelers. We had never experienced such a poor, unfriendly, unprofessional customer service skills with other Airline company. We never recommend VIVA AIR company to anyone. We also never ever going to use VIVA AIR airline company in our life. Such a terrible experience.

Date of travel: September 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank schreckies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.