We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont dont..”
Review of Viva Air (Peru)


Reviewed 16 January 2019 via mobile

Terrible staff at check in. Have no idea what is customer service! I had all the proof that i tried to check in online but the agent nearly accused me of lying. Their goal is to rip off the customer in any way possible. It s good that we can breath for free on this flight.

Emile

Date of travel: January 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
2  Thank emilechaoui
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (843)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

311 - 315 of 843 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2019 via mobile

Absolute garbage airline. If I could rate this a negative number, it would be in the -100's.

Horrible customer service, in person, online and over the phone.

Astronomically high hidden costs for EVERYTHING!! ($60 American just to print the boarding pass at check-in!!!!!!!!!!!)

No leg room, no reclining seats, no tvs, no water, no complimentary anything.

Would not answer phone calls or emails for 3 days!!

If you value your life or your time or your family, you will stay FAR away from this company.

WILL NOT EVER FLY WITH VIVA AIR EVER AGAIN!!!!

Please heed this warning and save your money!

Date of travel: January 2019
Thank Joshshantz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 January 2019 via mobile

Delayed flights, hidden extra costs, unfriendly service, very narrow seating space. The price is mostly quite low, that's true (at least if you manage to follow all rules and if you are not charged extra last minute), but I would only consider this airline again if there is no other alternative. Rather take the bus in Peru.

Date of travel: January 2019
Thank seb_cgn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 January 2019

Beware of the extra charges. Their website has some discrepancies as to the weight of carry-on and checked luggage. There is conflicting information so it's unclear which one to go by. Flight departed on time but they did not provide beverage service on either flight between Lima and Cusco. I would most likely NOT fly them again if other options are available.

Date of travel: December 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank musicmac99
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 January 2019 via mobile

We made a mistake when we booked a Viva Air-flight from Cusco to Lima. The scheduled departure time changed more than 4 times before departure date and once we arrived to the airport in Cusco they told us that Checking in ar counter would cost 14€ per person. We had no other option so we paid. The only reason why we tried to check in at the counter was that online checking in did just not work. We also found out later that even online check-in has a cost. What kind of airline has check in that costs. We were lucky that our flight was not cancelled as many other fellow passengers told us that their flight from day before was cancelled and they had to fly one day later as Viva Air has like one flight a day from Cusco to Lima. Also the flight was 1 hour late, but it didn't feel like much after talking with passengers who had missed their other flights back home because of Viva Air delays and cancellations. I've been flying with over 30 different airlines and I sincerely have to say this one was definately the worst of all.

When we booked the flights there were also many other company options like Latam and Avianca. The funny thing is that Viva Air was no cheaper than those other companies. I haven't tried companies such as Avianca and Latam, but I haven't heard anything bad about them. All in all: Whatever you do, do not take Viva Air flights!

Date of travel: January 2019
Thank amos2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.