We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Christmas in Blue Ridge/Copperhill

New Port Richey...
Level Contributor
20 posts
11 reviews
Christmas in Blue Ridge/Copperhill

We're renting a cabin for the first time in Copperhill, TN for a few days after Christmas. I have already planned on riding the Blue Ridge Scenic Railway, horseback riding, hopefully snow tubing, antiqueing and going to Helen... Any other activities around that time that I shouldn't miss doing?

I am an amateur photographer and have sort of a "bucket list" of pictures I would like to take. One being the Milky Way. I have seen pictures taken from the Blue Ridge area and I looked at the moonrise times and I seem to have 4-5 hours each night I'm there to get this shot, if the weather cooperates. Now I just need to find the perfect spot! Where can I go, close to Copperhill, where it's dark (no light pollution), and where I won't get attacked by bears at night, LOL.

Also, I've been down the Blue Ridge Parkway in September and got a bunch of wonderful pictures. Are there good spots in the winter that are nice for pictures? I know most of the trees will probably be bare, but maybe snow-capped mountains, iced over water areas, etc.

4 replies to this topic
Georgia
Level Contributor
3 185 posts
4 reviews
1. Re: Christmas in Blue Ridge/Copperhill

I like Dahlonega and Blue Ridge over Helen, both are more authentic.

If you've never been to Great Smokey Mtn NP, then that should be worthwhile. Especially Cades Cove.

The Cherohala Skyway is about 1/2 the distance as GSMNP and that stretch of road is about as nice as any stretch on the Blue Ridge Parkway. It's route 165/143 running from Tellico Plains TN to Robbinsville NC.