We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Looking for english speaking driver with car for Kola

Dalton...
Level Contributor
65 posts
4 reviews
Looking for english speaking driver with car for Kola

I am planning a trip for May or June 2019 to Murmansk and will be traveling solo but want the freedom of having my own rental car, or hiring a car and driver. Can anyone recommend a local person with car for hire who speaks English? I dont speak any Russian. I'm a photographer and would like to visit many areas of the region over an 8 day stay to photograph landscapes, and other areas like Teriberka, Lovozero, Revda and possibly White sea areas of Varzuga. I'm interested in photographing old places on the Kola that have not been changed since Soviet times, architecture, cities, towns, landscapes, villages, mining areas, and Saami areas.

Am I best off waiting until I arrive to find a local driver, or hire through an agency before? My budget is not large so am leaning toward a local person rather than having tour agency charge a higher price.

2 replies to this topic
Nittedal...
Level Contributor
314 posts
8 reviews
1. Re: Looking for english speaking driver with car for Kola

Hello! I remember you, from before summer maybe. after that I was travelling and quite busy, not here around for a while. Not so many people explore Murmanskaya by car and I remember you asked about it.

So:

>want the freedom of having my own rental car, or hiring a car and driver.