We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Photography in this area of Russia

Dalton...
Level Contributor
65 posts
4 reviews
Photography in this area of Russia

Anyone with direct experience with photography in Murmansk and the Kola Peninsula? I'm considering a trip to Murmansk in 2019. I'm a photographer and have never been to Russia. I wanted to ask about the freedom to take photographs in general, and in particular, photographing off the tourist trail. My interest is in landscapes, shipyards, old architecture, industrial ruins, etc. in addition to nature photography. I'm considering getting a local guide to take me around since I don't speak any Russian. Any advice from direct experience photographing in this region?

2 replies to this topic
Nittedal...
Level Contributor
305 posts
8 reviews
1. Re: Photography in this area of Russia

Soviet Union is long dead. You can photography whatever, excepted few sensible military spots, but then they also are at access restricted areas mostly.

Rybachiy peninsula is access restricted unless it has changed very recently, as they wanted to install a tourbase there. Check when you will be in Murmansk. Yet the access restriction is on paper, there's no checkpoint so people have been without clearance.

Severomorsk is a military base, closed city., barriers, check points, you don't go there.

Old architecture, not much, excepted couple churches from the ancient monastics settlements at the times Kola was a Solovki territory. Mainly the buildings in Varzuga.

Kola, the suburb of Murmansk, was the ancient town but it was bombed to ashes by the Brits (navy) in the 18th c. (in relation with crimean war), but the church survived.