We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Information about Måløy to Oslo by public transport in 1978

Level Contributor
23 posts
Information about Måløy to Oslo by public transport in 1978
Save

Dear all,

I'm a French writer and for a novel I'm working on I'm looking for info about Måløy in 1978.

For instance, I'd like to know if there was a ferry to Stryn/Loen at that time.

In case there was none, how was it possible to reach Oslo back then? Was there a daily bus or was it necessary to go through Stryn and Otta for instance?

Moreover, would you have any idea on the price, the timetable and the itinerary of such voyages?

I hope you can answer me, though I know it's been a long time.

Anyhow, I wish you the best,

Michael

7 replies to this topic
Ekk
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
38 posts
1. Re: Information about Måløy to Oslo by public transport in 1978
Save

The road between Stryn and Otta is old, but original one was open only in summer. New road opened in 1977 and stays open in winter

https://no.wikipedia.org/wiki/Riksvei_15

Before 1977 I guess many traveled by boat to Bergen then train to oslo

Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
21 725 posts
108 reviews
79 helpful votes
2. Re: Information about Måløy to Oslo by public transport in 1978
Save

The boat from Måløy to Bergen would be Hurtigruten.

I dont think there was a ferry from Måløy to Stryn in 1978. The Måløy bridge was completed in 1973 and I guess from that point there was a road (and bus service) from Måløy to Stryn. Bus services in these areas are infrequent, perhaps 1-2 times/day.

Harstad, Norway
Destination Expert
for Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
40 925 posts
38 reviews
36 helpful votes
3. Re: Information about Måløy to Oslo by public transport in 1978
Save