We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Baxters Restaurant

RR - RRR
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Queens Cottage | 4 Suffren Street, Langebaan, Saldanha Bay Municipality 7357, South Africa
+27 82 430 4505
Website
Today
11:00 - 22:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 16:00
Tue - Sat 11:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

61 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 56: English reviews
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

We had really nice food here just a bit slow because they were not full staff Tris our waiter did a great job food was tasty and the wine 🍷 really good try their Chardonnay

Helpful?
2 Thank AussieCrocodile
Kansas City
Level Contributor
722 reviews
393 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

We ate here two out of three evenings in Langebaan. The dining room is cozy. The chicken satay starter is nice as were the mussels. The beef filet was very tender and perfectly prepared. The ostrich steak was incredibly good. The feta stuffed chicken breast was quite large and beautifully presented. Beg and potatoes come on the side. They have... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank dixiepeach
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2017 via mobile

This is one of the more upmarket restaurants in Langebaan. The food was good, but not great. We shared a starter of pork spring rolls, which both me and my better half enjoyed. My mains of kingklip was ok - the fish was a bit dry and the veggies were a bit undercooked. For dessert, I had the crème brûlée,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Laene101
Cheshire
Level Contributor
159 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2017 via mobile

Wonderful food at a reasonable price. Pretty stylish restaurant, but not at all stuffy. The kitchen is open to the restaurant so you can see all preparation. Everything cooked freshly to order. Beautifully presented and excellent service. Would highly recommend.

Helpful?
Thank RODNEYANDPAT
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2017 via mobile

Very Very poor experience. It just didn't come together at all. Very limited menu. If they had served us before the family of four, who came in after us, I may have got what I wanted. The family were obviously known and they had most of the available dishes, we nearly walked in hindsight we should have. Grim.

Helpful?
Thank Ianone52
peterkX732JL, Manager at Baxters Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your responce. For us to keep our services exceptional as most find us could you please give me some more insight on how it didn't come together? What did you order for it to be rubbish? I would love some more information so we never get this result again. More 

Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2017

As in the title best food so far in langebaan, the chief has a real passion for the taste and quality of the food he produces, love the idea of the open pass, and watching your food being prepared, great service, will be returning to try further foods from the menu, you will not be disappointed, and if you are... More 

Helpful?
Thank hugo-rugged
Soest, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2017

We ate there twice the first time was ok but not great. We decided to try it again, it was rubbish.Disappointing thing was everything was there but it just didn’t come together just a poor show all round.

Helpful?
Thank JjaneJulie
peterkX732JL, Manager at Baxters Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your responce. For us to keep our services exceptional as most find us could you please give me some more insight on how it didn't come together? What did you order for it to be rubbish? I would love some more information so we never get this result again, More 

Level Contributor
212 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2017 via mobile

We are world travellers traveling the world with our own car. Yesterday we had dinner with Baxters without a reservation. There were free tables so there was no problem. Reception was friendly. There was a choice of dishes from a paper menu and one on a blackboard against the wall. Two of us took sizzling chicken and one ostrich. The... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank dewittedirk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2017 via mobile

Had dinner with the family, children's requests where meet with some adoptions to the ordinary menu and the parents had an ok dinner. Very friendly staff who gave the extra service and time. Thanks!

Helpful?
1 Thank Niklas T
Dahab
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2017

We really enjoyed our meal at Baxters. The mussels had the tastiest sauce we have had yet in SA. I had the steak which was delicious and my husband had the Ostrich steak. Followed by creme brule. The restaurant was busy but the quality and experience was good. Have booked for sunday lunch.

Helpful?
Thank Dahab-Holidays

Travellers who viewed Baxters Restaurant also viewed

Langebaan, Saldanha Bay Municipality
Langebaan, Saldanha Bay Municipality
 
Langebaan, Saldanha Bay Municipality
Langebaan, Saldanha Bay Municipality
 

Been to Baxters Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4,5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4,5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4,5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$5 - US$200
Cuisine
Norwegian, Fusion, French, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Child-friendly, Business meetings
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 16:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 22:00
Thursday
11:00 - 22:00
Friday
11:00 - 22:00
Saturday
11:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Queens Cottage | 4 Suffren Street, Langebaan, Saldanha Bay Municipality 7357, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Saldanha Bay Municipality  >  Langebaan
  • Phone Number: +27 82 430 4505
Description
Baxter is a Eclectic type restuarant which is small and intimate. Ideal for booking an entire restaurant for you and your 40 guests. The meals change on a regular basis subject to availability of fresh products. Our Chicken is all free range and we are very conscious on where we purchase our products from. The food takes time to be prepared so if you looking for a quick take out this is not the place. You will be welcomed and seated in comfortable chairs and have no stairs. Parking is off street and secure. We pride ourselves with a selection of delicious meals and home made deserts in a beautiful setting. Come enjoy a great meal with us

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Baxters Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?