We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Copper Beech

Alex Moorhouse Way, Costessey, Norwich NR5 0JT, England
+44 1603 743489
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent34%
  • Very good29%
  • Average19%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
“pie” (10 reviews)
“pudding” (14 reviews)
“curry” (7 reviews)
Open Now
11:30 - 22:30 Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Contemporary, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
RR - RRR
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Alex Moorhouse Way, Costessey, Norwich NR5 0JT, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (601)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 601 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

4 of us arrived for an evening meal, having eaten and enjoyed the carvery there before.I wasn't too hungry so asked about the 'Soup of the day'. The girl at the bar didn't know, so she asked another who also didn't know but luckily the...More

Thank M S
CBMgt, General Manager at The Copper Beech, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your comments. We take all feedback very seriously. To be honest we did have signs but they get so splashed with sauce and gravy we removed them temporarily until we found something that cleans easily. I can confirm our gravy is vegetarian...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Another very nice, enjoyable meal on s Monday lunchtime.. Tables clean, efficiently friendly staff and ordering. The carvery was delicious, particularly the beef and gammon. Purchased the Family Banquet for £20.. great little deal, with nice selection of desserts (cheesecake the best!) Particularly impressed that...More

Thank jonrichardson1711
CBMgt, General Manager at The Copper Beech, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed and look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

First of all the baby high chair given was extremely dirty. The carvery was poor with little veg selection. The staff were very rude and did not explain exclusions of the menu to us upon ordering and waited till we questioned it before stating it...More

Thank 234an123
CBMgt, General Manager at The Copper Beech, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

I am really disappointed to read your review and apologise sincerely. If you are happy to send me an email with bit more detail I would like to address with our team. Copperbeech.norwich@marstons.co.uk Many thanks Claire

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We always make this part of our holiday when we stay in nearby Squirrel Cottage, the Carvery is always excellent as are the other dishes. We were there a few weeks ago and the service when ordering from the main menu surprised us at the...More

Thank Martin H
CBMgt, General Manager at The Copper Beech, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your experience. We take great pride in providing a service worth coming back for so this is great to read. Enjoy the rest of your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back next...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went there for Father's Day, the carvery was tasteless and bland, from the meat through to the vegetables and gravy, even the mint sauce! However the applesauce was nice. My wife had steak which was dry, it didn't take long to be served which makes...More

Thank klondykemike2017
CBMgt, General Manager at The Copper Beech, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

I’m very sorry to read this. We wee never aware of this at the time and am sorry we were in able to make things right for you and your family. I can assure you that our steaks are cooked fresh and certainly not pre...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Bought son for trip out started to rain came inside and straight away employee gave us crayons and paper kept him happy. Beer good food at a reasonable standard staff very friendly

Thank Stuland
CBMgt, General Manager at The Copper Beech, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review! We hope you enjoy many more visits in the future.

Reviewed 15 June 2018 via mobile

Copper beech isn’t the most sophisticated of all establishments BUT it is what it is and what it does, it does well. Haven’t had a bad meal here yet. The staff are always friendly without being overbearing. The drinks and food are always great value...More

Thank Ecp20
CBMgt, General Manager at The Copper Beech, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. We hope you enjoy many more visits and see you again soon.

Reviewed 11 June 2018

This was my first visit to Copper Beech and I was part of an expected party of 60+ on an already busy Sunday evening. I have to say the staff and the management of our whole evening was exemplary . We can’t have been easy...More

Thank Liseviking
CBMgt, General Manager at The Copper Beech, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Thank you for your kind review of your experience. We are really pleased we could help make your experience an enjoyable one. We received some really lovely comments on the evening which were really appreciated. Many thanks for taking the time and we hope you...More

Reviewed 8 June 2018

Went for lunch during the school holidays with our son and had the Family banquet. Very good price and the shared desert was enough for us. Staff are always helpful, our son even managed to have an extra pudding! Play area outside suitable for the...More

Thank goldenlight78
CBMgt, General Manager at The Copper Beech, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2018

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit and hope you enjoy many more in the future.

Reviewed 3 June 2018 via mobile

What lovely staff who look after their customers. Not come across such a caring team for a long time. We witnessed them with a disabled customer and their care was second to none. Carvery is brilliant for anyone watching calories. Turkey, veg & no gravy...More

Thank Mrs-D-Cambridge
CBMgt, General Manager at The Copper Beech, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018

This is lovely to read, thank you Rey much for taking the time to review your experience. We hope you enjoy many more visits in the future.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Costessey Hotels
Premier Inn Norwich West (Showground/A47) Hotel
465 reviews
.38 km away
Almond Tree Hotel and Restaurant
1 review
1.86 km away
Best Western Brook Hotel Norwich
667 reviews
2.74 km away
Wensum Valley Hotel Golf and Country Club
580 reviews
3.64 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Glen Lodge Bawburgh Golf Club
36 reviews
1.46 km away
McDonalds
5 reviews
.28 km away
Pizza Hut Norwich Longwater
165 reviews
.13 km away
Nearby Attractions
Wensum Valley Golf
30 reviews
3.54 km away
The Base (Baseline Activity Sports Extreme)
65 reviews
6.17 km away
Taverham Mill Nature Reserve and Fishery
10 reviews
2.77 km away
Taverham Garden Centre
32 reviews
4.32 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
tokenfemale
30 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from CBMgt | Property representative |
We allow dogs in our front garden, just not in the family enclosure with play area, there are plenty of tables or boothes outside though for you and your dog,
0
Votes
Donna L
25 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from CBMgt | Property representative |
Good evening, we do not serve breakfast I am afraid. Thank you for your interest though.
0
Votes
Harrydoodles
22 February 2016|
Answer
Response from love hospitality 1 | Reviewed this property |
They only take bookings for tables of 10 people or over, but no bookings on a Sunday.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 - 22:00
Monday
11:30 - 22:30
Tuesday
11:30 - 22:30
Wednesday
11:30 - 22:30
Thursday
11:30 - 22:30
Friday
11:30 - 22:30
Saturday
11:30 - 22:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Alex Moorhouse Way, Costessey, Norwich NR5 0JT, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Norfolk  >  Norwich  >  Costessey
  • Phone Number: +44 1603 743489
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing