We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

There aren't enough food, service, value or atmosphere ratings for Cape Town Fish Market Zanzibar, Tanzania yet. Be one of the first to write a review!

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$6 - US$30
CUISINES
Seafood, Bar, Pizza, Sushi, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
View all details
features, about
Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
18 results
Traveller rating
9
0
1
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
9
0
1
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sushi dar es salaam great food stone town ocean atmosphere
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Food was not great and much more expensive than Forozaan Food Market at its doorstep. I truely can say that only the rice and chips was acceptable on their seafood platter

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
CTFMTZ, Manager at Cape Town Fish Market Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi, Thanks for the feedback. Could you send us an email with your contact details (complaints@ctfm.co.za) so that the store can get in touch? Thank you.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

First time visiting the restaurant but probably will be the last time. Food wasn't that bad service was sooo poor the waiter's/waitress should be attentive and concerned to all type of customers as we all pay for the services but only significant others gets to...be treated well. Other than the poor service restaurant is clean view is beautiful.More

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
CTFMTZ, Marketing at Cape Town Fish Market Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi, Thanks for the feedback. Could you send us an email with your contact details (complaints@ctfm.co.za) so that the store can get in touch? Thank you.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The location is beautiful, the food is good, but prices are high. Overall we enjoyed our experience, but when paying by card, the question raised was "HOW would you like to tip, in cash or add it to the card". A tip should be a...voluntary show of gratitude, and yes, I know it is common in Tanzania, and I was ready to leave a tip. But being forced in that way? Does not reflect the overall spirit of the Tanzanian people and it was a real pity to end the evening like that. That unfortunately means I will not come back, although I am staying here for another week.More

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
CTFMTZ, Marketing at Cape Town Fish Market Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi, Thanks for the feedback. Could you send us an email with your contact details (complaints@ctfm.co.za) so that the store can get in touch? Thank you.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited here for our first lunch in stone town. It’s right on the front so lovely view and perfect place to go for a nice lunch or a drinks break! The cocktails were probably the best I’ve had! So refreshing. The food was delicious! Service...is a little slow so don’t go if you’re in a rush but just go and enjoy a few drinks and some nice food. Good spot for sushi and seafood lovers but a menu that suits all!More

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
CTFMTZ, Owner at Cape Town Fish Market Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you! Pop in again soon.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I visited the restaurant a few times over the past couple of weeks and have found it to be consistently pleasant. Afternoons are quieter and great for meetings. Sunset to late evenings are lively and towards the weekend there is live music. I really enjoyed...watching the surrounding ocean life while The Islanders performed this past Sunday.More

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?
CTFMTZ, Owner at Cape Town Fish Market Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for the positive feedback! Pop in again soon.

Reviewed 9 March 2021 via mobile

Food was not good and definitely not worth the high prices that they charged. We ordered the fish tacos, chicken schnitzel and fish and chips as our mains. They were all sub-par. Had better fish and chips in other restaurants in Stonetown. Not such a...complicated or difficult dish that can be messed up but this restaurant found a way to mess it up... 👍 The garlic and cheese bread was horrible... felt like they had taken stale dinner rolls and slapped some cheese and garlic on it... not warm and did not taste fresh. Again, not a very complicated appetizer but I guess it was complicated for them....😬 Desserts were horrible.. chocolate brownie was not even at room temperature... the inside of the brownie was cold... looked like they had just taken it out of its packaging and quickly heated it up in a microwave. Oh, and I found a hair on my ice-cream. The staff gave me new ice cream. Of course, nothing more than an apology was offered by them. Apple pie was the same as the chocolate brownie.... cold and did not look like it had been cooked fresh. Drinks were okay... I have had better in Zanzibar. Service was atrocious... if you don’t call the waiters to the table, they won’t bother to come and check up on you. Luckily, we had Tshillings with us which we used to pay our bill. But, the table next to us paid in USD and they received their change in Tshillings, which is a loss for the customers. The only good thing about this restaurant is it’s location which is at Forodhani. So, if you only care about the location and are fine with paying high prices for horrible service and food, then this is definitely the place for you. If not, there are many better options in Stonetown and neighbouring tourist areas with spectacular views.More

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?
CTFMTZ, Owner at Cape Town Fish Market Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2021

Hi, Thanks for the feedback. Could you send us an email with your contact details (complaints@ctfm.co.za) so that the store can get in touch? Thank you.

Reviewed 8 March 2021 via mobile

This restaurant has really good location it is actually in the middle of ocean, they also making occasionally some events mostly on weekends, price for drink very fair! Food??..well OK, big selection ... But what really makes disappointing is that nobody from staff wears face...masks :( makes very unsafe for whole customers, they have a lot of staff ruining back and forth without masks, some of them are talking while delivering food and all those small small bubbles flyies in to the food) I believe ... So guys, put the masks on your face to protect your customers...More

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?1  
CTFMTZ, Owner at Cape Town Fish Market Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2021

Hi Karesa, Thanks for the feedback. Could you send us an email with your contact details (complaints@ctfm.co.za) so that the store can get in touch? We'd love to hear from you.

Reviewed 4 March 2021

Myself and a friend had to stay in Zanzibar due to COVID and found it hard to find home cuisine(South Africa). Best food and atmosphere by far. Will definitely return.

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?
CTFMTZ, Owner at Cape Town Fish Market Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2021

Thanks for the feedback! Come again soon

Reviewed 28 February 2021 via mobile

We have been here many times , because we love the vibes, the view and we are sushi lovers . Today , we had a very bad experience with Sushi - as a stone, found in the sushi was about to break my husband tooth...! Yes a stone ! The manager said it was in the rice ! We said no excuses - Sushi , is very sensitive and optimum hygiene measures must be implemented. I dont think we will come back again although we love the views only.More

Date of visit: February 2021
Helpful?
CTFMTZ, Social Media Team at Cape Town Fish Market Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2021

We're sorry to hear that you had a bad experience at one of our stores. Would you please send us your contact details (email and phone number) via inbox so that the store can get in touch with you?

Reviewed 20 February 2021 via mobile

Bathroom too cold due air conditioner and so dirty ( need to be cleaned every one hour minimum) waiters not so attentive and need to called them many times for order and pay. There was a lot of infant and only one baby chair available,...no good , someone bring his own ( no good, buy more minimum 3 ) prices quite expensive, especially for sushi . As that location is so windy put curtains, it was really uncomfortable. Only the environment is good.....More

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?
CTFMTZ, Social Media Team at Cape Town Fish Market Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2021

We're sorry to hear that you had a bad experience at one of our stores. Would you please send us your contact details (email and phone number) via inbox so that the store can get in touch with you?

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Forodhani Park Hotel
169 reviews
.00 km away
Jafferji House & Spa
494 reviews
.08 km away
Tembo Hotel
1 550 reviews
.13 km away
Tembo Palace Hotel
32 reviews
.13 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Silk Route
1 120 reviews
.05 km away
Lazuli
405 reviews
.16 km away
Tamu Italian Ice Cream
221 reviews
.18 km away
Terrace Restaurant at Maru Maru Hotel
386 reviews
.16 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Forodhani Gardens
1 867 reviews
.18 km away
The Old Fort (Ngome Kongwe)
769 reviews
.07 km away
Freddie Mercury Museum
745 reviews
.10 km away
Mrembo Spa
159 reviews
.07 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Cape Town Fish Market Zanzibar staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing