We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Seafood
Special Diets
Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (196)
Filter reviews
195 results
Traveller rating
95
56
21
6
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
95
56
21
6
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews seafood prawns chicken beach atmosphere unique experience unique restaurant delicious bread sunday lunch coast courses venue
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What a wonderful time we had at the Vette Mossel. The food was such a lovely surprise and we enjoyed the whole experience.

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 19 November 2021

From the get go we could see that the afternoon was going to be packed with awsome seefood and chilled vibes. We ate from all the dishes and it was just as expected. Made us feel that we were some where close to the coast...on holiday for that couple of hours we were there. A must go from us.More

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?
Riaanjordaan, Marketing at De Vette Mossel @ Harties, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2021

Thank you 713gbl for the 5-star review

Reviewed 7 November 2021

Sunday 7 November 2021. Previously visited the venue with amazing food and good vibes. Today we visited with out of town family.. The Vette Mossel should remove "Eat as nuch as you can" The mussels ran out shorthly after the lunch started. The snoek portions...were very small and not enough. People had to wait 30+ minutes for more snoek and then not all people could get snoek. The seafood stew also was not enough and then again people had to wait over an hour for more. It was tasteless with a "pink" sauce. The chicken potjie was absolutely tasteless and ended in the bin. For a "seafiod feast " the beef potjie was edible with some taste. MONEY and effort wasted for R260 per head. First time of all our visits that patrons started leaving within 1 hour after lunch started. My advise for people wanting to visit. Paying this money for this quality and quantity Stay Away.More

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?1  
Riaanjordaan, Marketing at De Vette Mossel @ Harties, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2021

Dear Mr Bothe, We find it sad that you did not once mention any of your grievances to us on the day of your visit. Perhaps you did not hear some of our announcements or misunderstood what was happening on the day. Running a all...More

Reviewed 23 May 2021 via mobile

This is a very unique restaurant with a Westcoast beach atmosphere. The 6 course meal was good and unique. There is an area where kids can play. It is essential to make a reservation. Take your own drinks

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?
Riaanjordaan, Marketing at De Vette Mossel @ Harties, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2021

Thank you SAC0012016 for the 5-star review

Reviewed 31 January 2021 via mobile

A rustic and super laid back environment, comfortable for a party of 30+ people. Celebrating a few birthdays there was more than enough food to accommodate tastes young and old. Kids can happily keep themselves entertained in the outdoor pen. If wanting prawns order early...as there was a cut off time for the Sunday lunch sitting. Watch eating to much of the most delicious bread to allow room for the varied courses.More

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?2  
Riaanjordaan, Marketing at De Vette Mossel @ Harties, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2021

Thank you Anthea.

Reviewed 24 January 2021 via mobile

Everything was amazing! The ambience, food and service. You have to go there hungry to enjoy every course

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?
Riaanjordaan, Marketing at De Vette Mossel @ Harties, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2021

Good Day Kirstan. Thank you so much for joining us, we so please to read your review. Thank you for the 5-star review.

Reviewed 15 December 2020 via mobile

What a fantastic festive atmosphere. The restaurant is family friendly. The food was amazing and well prepared. Staff friendly and helpful. On my next visit to Harties I 'll be there again. Thank you for a relaxing afternoon.

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?
Riaanjordaan, Marketing at De Vette Mossel @ Harties, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2020

Good Day Nikkieg2017. Thank you for the review and 5-stars. We hope to see you back again soon.

Reviewed 7 December 2020

The food was great but unfortunately we were let down by the service of the manager. She was rude and unaccommodating. There were also no covid-19 measures in place. No one was screened at the entrance and the tables were all full and there was...not enough space given between tables. No one were asked to put their masks on while walking around on the premises. Compared to the De Vette Mossel in Parys, this experience was a complete let down.More

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?
Rochelle, General Manager at De Vette Mossel @ Harties, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2020

Hi MiaSey, thank you for your feedback. Not sure what the situation in question was that lead to your experience with one of our managers being so negative. You are welcome to contact us directly with more details on your complaint, dvmhptyltd@gmail.com. In general I...More

Reviewed 2 March 2020

Found our new go-to restaurant for when we want to get out of the city! Definately worth a visit. Great atmosphere, service and value for money.

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?1  
Riaanjordaan, Marketing at De Vette Mossel @ Harties, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2020

Good Day JamesM. Thank you so much for the 5-star review. We so pleased you found us! Looking forward to the next visit.

Reviewed 23 February 2020

Wow what a fantastic atmosphere. Very good food and great vibe. We will come again. The food is great and tasty.

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Riaanjordaan, Marketing at De Vette Mossel @ Harties, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2020

Good Day Naas. Thank you for the review, we look forward to your next visit.

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Kassaboera Lodge
174 reviews
5.11 km away
The Orient
121 reviews
8.28 km away
Alpha Conference Centre
6 reviews
9.11 km away
The Venue Country Hotel
42 reviews
9.54 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Windmill Restaurant
327 reviews
.89 km away
Silver Falls Spur Steak Ranch
29 reviews
3.89 km away
French Toast Koffie Kafee
402 reviews
2.75 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
No1 Waterfront
5 reviews
6.19 km away
Aerial Cableway Hartbeespoort
802 reviews
5.24 km away
Hennops Pride Caravan Park
23 reviews
1.18 km away
Incendo Distillery
19 reviews
4.60 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
add1eH
6 November 2017|
Answer
Response from SaretteD | Reviewed this property |
You will have to contact the venue directly for your booking.
0
Votes
C0enie
1 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from PieterCroukamp | Reviewed this property |
Unfortunately not, only registered guide dogs for the blind
0
Votes
Johangcblignaut
26 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Niel1234 | Property representative |
Hi Johan. Indeed. A play area that you and your children have probbably not experiened - a 8 meter high "lighthouse" with 6 floors and catwalks amongst the trees to bring out the adventure spirit of everyone. Safe. And a... More
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about De Vette Mossel @ Harties

De Vette Mossel @ Harties is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5