We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Devonshire Arms

Market Place | Nr Buxton, Hartington, Peak District National Park SK17 0AL, England
+44 1298 84232
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent64%
  • Very good27%
  • Average6%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“scampi” (11 reviews)
“lamb shank” (15 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 - 23:30 Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
RR - RRR
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Market Place | Nr Buxton, Hartington, Peak District National Park SK17 0AL, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (832)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 831 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Came here this evening following a windy, rainy run and it was just what I needed. The gentleman at the bar was polite, chatty and friendly and I was made to feel very welcome. I ordered food and it was really tasty, and far too...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank 99sarste
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited here yesterday for lunch. Really great atmosphere from walking in, friendly cosy and the staff having fun with the customers. The menu had lots of choice and a snack menu too. We had two main meals and they were faultless We really enjoyed the...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Annabel M
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I'm sad to say how bitterly disappointed we were when we visited 'The Dev' on Friday lunchtime. We have been coming to the pub for years and its become a highlight on visiting Hartington. The pub was very quiet when we arrived with no staff...More

Date of visit: January 2019
1  Thank Sevipadge
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A bit late leaving this review, after the hectic Christmas period. We have visited this pub for a number of years and it is always a visit we look forward to, however we left very disappointed this time. The menu used to have some firm...More

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank Lucy H
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We have been coming to the Devenshire Arms for many years. It is without doubt our "pub of choice " when we are in the Hartington area. The food has always been excellent, lunch and evenings. However on boxing day when we visited I was...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Lorraine R
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We came here for lunch on New Year’s Eve and after reading the reviews were a little worried but we had a lovely meal. The staff took really good care of us and did their best to find us a spot in the main pub...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Icklangel
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Oh dear. Having travelled 40 miles for a walk and lunch in The Devonshire Arms (as we have done many times) we find our pub of choice shut and it looked particularly uninviting anyway. Having read the recent reviews we thought we’d try the Pub...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank choochoo60007
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have been staying in Hartington at Christmas/New Year as a family group on and off for 15 years and have always enjoyed a friendly welcome and good food at this pub. This year we were disappointed, it has definitely lost 'something', it just doesn't...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank sja1962
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Popped in with our puppies after a walk through the village, staff were friendly and welcoming and sorted the pups out with some treats while we ordered drinks. Didn't eat here but the bar menu had plenty of options and gluten free was clearly marked.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank gypsygallisa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

No excuse for budget food. My burger was on cheap bread, was of poor quality and no nice salad. Even the chips were cheap and not nice. We await MUCH better things from what was once a great pub.More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Nowtleft
Dean-Danielle, Owner at Devonshire Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Nowtleft, Thank you for your review. We are disappointed that you felt that we have gone to budget foods. We can how ever confirm that we have not changed our suppliers and also we have not gone to budget foods, Some of our items...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Charles Cotton Hotel
1 051 reviews
.05 km away
Biggin Hall Country House Hotel
474 reviews
2.49 km away
The Crewe & Harpur
110 reviews
6.01 km away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
838 reviews
9.73 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Hartington Farm Shop and Cafe
89 reviews
.13 km away
Beresford Tea Rooms
133 reviews
.01 km away
Charles Cotton Hotel Restaurant
316 reviews
.07 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Old Cheese Shop
179 reviews
.02 km away
Manifold Craft Barn
13 reviews
6.12 km away
Manifold Way
62 reviews
6.25 km away
The Manifold Inn
40 reviews
2.45 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
M0ses666
13 December 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Lorraine R |
Yes new owners at the Devenshire Arms. Tables dirty , not enough staff and awful food!!!!
1
Vote
TrailBlazer519947
30 September 2018|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from smallsy28 | Reviewed this property |
Yes it does
0
Votes
lmjwoww
15 May 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Popsider55 | Reviewed this property |
Sorry for the delay in responding - as far as I am aware at least one room inside the pub was dog-friendly.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$15 - US$24
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:30
Saturday
12:00 - 23:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Market Place | Nr Buxton, Hartington, Peak District National Park SK17 0AL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Peak District National Park  >  Hartington
  • Phone Number: +44 1298 84232
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing