We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Artist's Cafe

Main Street | Windmill Centre, Clarens 9707, South Africa
+27 58 256 1404
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent31%
  • Very good45%
  • Average15%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“brunch” (15 reviews)
“pancakes” (21 reviews)
“salad” (16 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Healthy, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
RR - RRR
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Main Street | Windmill Centre, Clarens 9707, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (470)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 451 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

We all had Saucy Beef Burgers, loved the huge homemade pattie, some of us had salad, very fresh, others had chips and wedges with our burgers; we all enjoyed. Good to be in Clarens, lovely outside seating from where we could watch the kids play...More

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank CardamomKM
Reviewed 6 days ago

Nice vintage feel, the food was good, but not great. The roostekoek was nice and freshly baked. Not enough vegeterian and vegan options.More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Itchytwiggy
ArtistsCafeClarens, Owner at Artist's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear Itchytwiggy Artist's Cafe is known for being a bit different and we are glad if you appreciated that. The roostekoek is a firm favourite and people come back for it again and again. Unfortunately you don't name the "not great food" which make sit...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

If we craving bread with lettuce, this the place for you! There are plenty of other options in the area to choose from.More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank ReshmaP185
ArtistsCafeClarens, Owner at Artist's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear ReshmaP185 Thank you for taking time to write a review. I am however confused as in the picture which you posted I can identify 5 other ingredients as well including tomato, gherkins, feta, avocado and our creamy mayo dressing? The meal you chose to...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Not the greatest place to eat breakfast- how can anyone get breakfast wrong - really- the most disgusting bacon and egg sandwich- dry and blandMore

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Juanitav167
ArtistsCafeClarens, Owner at Artist's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear Juanitav167 So sorry to hear that you had to eat a disgusting sandwich; next time please inform management and we will attempt to do better. I am however not sure what could have been wrong as it is a simple item which we sell...More

Reviewed 7 November 2018

Great value for money and good food prepared great. A must on the menu is the Baked Butternuts with various stuffings to cheese from. Relaxing atmosphere with space and place for the kids to play.More

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank 523isakb
ArtistsCafeClarens, Owner at Artist's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear 523isakb Thank you for the lovely review; it always gladdens our hearts to hear from happy customers. The butternut is a favourite and stuffed with either savoury mince, chicken mayonnaise or feta and spinach there is something for everyone to choose from. We hope...More

Reviewed 24 October 2018 via mobile

Had good service waiters very pleasant. Enjoyed the coffee and scones. Impressed that the department of tourism had staff training working there. Well done

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank JamesR6563
ArtistsCafeClarens, Owner at Artist's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2018

Dear JamesR6563 Thank you for the review; will forward compliments to our staff. The Tourism Buddies is a popular teaching tool and the students enjoy the working experience very much. Regards The Artist's Cafe Team

Reviewed 19 October 2018

It's been 3 years since we last ate here, and I was left somewhat disappointed. No one really paid much attention to us when we sat down and we had to request menus. This would be understandable if it were busy, but it wasn't. Kids...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Minxund
ArtistsCafeClarens, Owner at Artist's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2018

Dear Minxund We are sorry to hear that your experience did not live up to your expectation. The business is still in the same family as it always was and we pride ourselves in delivering great service and delicious food. We do however ask on...More

Reviewed 17 October 2018 via mobile

Lovely setting, goodfacilitirs and a excellent menu with good servive and acceotable value for money meals!!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Koos K
ArtistsCafeClarens, Owner at Artist's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2018

Dear Koos K Thank you for the positive feedback; we are happy to hear that you had a good time visiting us. Hope to see you again soon. Regards The Artist's Cafe Team

Reviewed 16 October 2018

We always stop in for a meal or two at Artist's Cafe when we are in Clarens! We really love the casual, relaxed family vibe at this restaurant & always find their food & service wonderful!More

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank DeeRoelRSA
ArtistsCafeClarens, Owner at Artist's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2018

Dear DeeRoelRSA Thank you for the lovely review; we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit(s) with us. We will continue to aim to provide our customers with an awesome experience such as this. See you next time! Regards The Artist's Cafe...More

Reviewed 15 October 2018

Love this quaint little Café. Had a platter to share with cheese, cold meats etc. Really enjoyed it and the service was excellent

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank 242nadiner
ArtistsCafeClarens, Owner at Artist's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2018

Dear 242nadiner Thank you for the review; we love hearing from our customers. The Ploughman's Platter is a great treat to share and enjoy. Will forward service compliments to the staff. Hope to see you again soon. Regards The Artist's Cafe Team

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 4 hotels in Clarens
Protea Hotel Clarens
338 reviews
.28 km away
Mont d'Or Hotel
203 reviews
1.40 km away
Castle in Clarens
187 reviews
7.00 km away
Fouriesburg Country Inn
105 reviews
24.09 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Clementines Restaurant and Bar
949 reviews
.16 km away
Highland Coffee Roastery
333 reviews
.17 km away
Clarens Brewery
728 reviews
.12 km away
The Courtyard Bakery and Cafe-Clarens
186 reviews
.09 km away
Nearby Attractions
Clarens Brewery
334 reviews
.12 km away
Tobias Art
19 reviews
.08 km away
Blou Donki Art Gallery
10 reviews
.86 km away
Art and Wine Gallery on Main
6 reviews
.11 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
ElmariduPlessis
25 July 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from dumps |
yes
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Wine and Beer, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 16:30
Monday
08:00 - 16:30
Tuesday
08:30 - 16:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 16:30
Thursday
08:00 - 16:30
Friday
08:00 - 18:30
Saturday
08:00 - 18:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Main Street | Windmill Centre, Clarens 9707, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Free State  >  Clarens
  • Phone Number: +27 58 256 1404
  • E-mail
Description
It is at the Windmill Centre on Clarens Square that you will find Artist's Café Family Restaurant -a beautifully built sandstone restaurant set in the heart of this majestic location. Our friendly staff, country-style menu, unique location and playground for the kids make us the ideal place for you to come put your feet up, make yourself at home and relax in the fresh mountain air. We offer cosy indoor seating, with the fireplace burning warm in winter, or cool comfortable outdoor seating where you can get lost in the views of the mountains and activities taking place on Clarens Square. The Artist's Café is a daytime only Restaurant as we believe all our customers are royalty -they should eat breakfast like a king, lunch like a prince and supper like a pauper. Come and sit back while you relax, breathing in the fresh mountain air. Enjoy listening to the mellow music, or take a walk through to browse the original art which is on display in the restaurant. There is a farm-style play area where all kids and furry four-footed children are welcome. Don't leave The Artist's Cafe without hopping onto the antique red tractor for a perfect family photo which will always bring back fond memories. We love being social, so feel free to check-in on Facebook, to tag us on Twitter and to write a review on Tripadvisor. We always appreciate the feedback we get from our customers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing