We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
R 100 - R 500
CUISINES
Steakhouse, Grill
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (390)
Filter reviews
353 results
Traveller rating
186
108
29
17
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
186
108
29
17
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steak fries cheesecake no corkage own wine complimentary chocolate visited this restaurant meat steenberg jason biltong medium olives management vibe
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Small mixup with my Steak being almost Blue instead of Medium Rare. 2nd time the cham. Super flavourful, creamy, marrow, done to medium rare perfection. Baked Cheese cake OMG, had my toes curling. Well done team.More

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hussar Grill, Owner at The Hussar Grill Steenberg, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Eltons495, Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of The Hussar Grill Steenberg grill room. We are glad to hear that our steak and cheesecakes ensured a delicious dining experience at our restaurant. We look forward to your return...More

Reviewed 1 February 2024

Fantastic steak, done to perfection. Joyline our waiter was attentive and efficient - perfect service! We will be back!More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hussar Grill, Owner at The Hussar Grill Steenberg, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2024

Dear Kim S, Thank you for your excellent review and kind words. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our award-winning speciality steaks and had a great experience with Joyline, our Service Ambassador. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Hussar Grill...More

Reviewed 22 December 2023 via mobile

I was a little hesitant to visit given so many recent reviews are so bad but I’m glad that I went ahead and met friends here. We all had lovely steaks and ribs. I had a delicious blue cheese sauce as well. Loved my Italian...coffee too. Service was good, no complaints :)More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hussar Grill, Owner at The Hussar Grill Steenberg, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2023

Good day Travel_Girl_Reviews, Thank you for your great review of The Hussar Grill Steenberg grill room. We are thrilled to hear that the food, drinks and service contributed to a memorable dining experience. We look forward to your next visit. Sincerely, The Hussar Grill Steenberg

Reviewed 19 December 2023 via mobile

So disappointing. I’ve always had a good meal in the restaurant and even through Mr delivery, but today I can’t believe how poor the standards are. I ordered a side salad with my steak, and a side portion of chips. I got the chips but...no side salad although paid for. I also ordered a mushroom sauce but got a pepper sauce. Clearly only the tourist market is important to this restaurant and there is ZERO quality control on local deliveries. So disappointed! I won’t order from you again!More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hussar Grill, Owner at The Hussar Grill Steenberg, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2023

Dear Mc0068, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are sorry to hear that your meal was not up to standard. We would appreciate the opportunity to contact you and address your concerns with management. Could you kindly follow...More

Reviewed 3 September 2023

Chef with beard who refused to give his 5 times must be fired Claimed I've never been there before and I must leave to restaurant to make my calls...let's look at bar footage 7 to 8.30 pm please he is despicable rudeMore

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hussar Grill, Owner at The Hussar Grill Steenberg, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2023

Dear Whittingdale, We are concerned to hear about your recent experience with us. Please, could you kindly take a moment to follow the link https://hus8.goreview.co.za/goreview-crm?revid=3uS9MfhW and provide us with your contact details and feedback and we'll be in touch. We hope to hear from you...More

Reviewed 29 August 2023

I won't advise this restaurant for lunch or dinner. Lunch special was not even like advertised on poster or websiteMore

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hussar Grill, Owner at The Hussar Grill Steenberg, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2023

Dear Navigate12434479613, Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. We are disappointed to hear that we have not met your expectations. Please may we have the opportunity to contact you and address your concerns? Kindly follow the link https://hus8.goreview.co.za/goreview-crm?revid=8NEMGATh and we'll...More

Reviewed 15 May 2023

What a terrible experience. We made a reservation on the 2 May, for Mothers day, 14 May 2023 @ 12pm. On arrival, we were told they didn't have a table ready for us, and seated us at the bar (with my 11 year old daughter)...to wait. About 30 minutes later, we were seated, eventually ordered and then waited for what seemed like an eternity. After having seated us late, the food being brought after a long time, at 13:40, were then told we needed to leave at 14:00, as there was another booking for that time. We of course refused, as we were never told prior of any time limit we had to finish our meals in. When our drinks were brought, we were again reminded that we needed to leave soon, to accommodate another booking. We refused again. We proceeded to order dessert, which was brought at 14:35, and told we actually needed to leave at 14:30! lol... to add insult to injury, they brought 4 chocolate drinks, complimentary NOT for the bad service, but standard with the meals we ordered. These were alcoholic drinks, served also to my 11 year old! amazing... It seems the Hussar Grill in Steenberg is too concerned with turning tables and not focussed enough on making the dining experience for their patrons, which is a big part of what we pay for a pleasurable one. I've read the other reviews and noticed there were many similar experiences to ours, with the management at The Hussar Grill responding to those reviews. With nothing changing though, I am left to wonder about the sincerity of those responses.More

Date of visit: May 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hussar Grill, Owner at The Hussar Grill Steenberg, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2023

Dear Mobile08846961018, Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. We are sorry to hear that the level of service that you received was not up to our usual standard. We would like to address this in more detail. Kindly provide us...More

Reviewed 27 February 2023

It used to be excellent. Now the food is worse than mediocre (badly cooked) and the service is erratic. Beer on tap machine is broken. This Hussar badly needs new management.More

Date of visit: February 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HussarGrill, Agency / Consultant at The Hussar Grill Steenberg, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2023

Dear Movealong2014, Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. Our sincerest apologies that your experience with us wasn't pleasant. We would like an opportunity to contact you and address your concerns with management. Could you kindly follow the link https://hus8.goreview.co.za/goreview-crm?revid=EM3shf, so...More

Reviewed 5 February 2023 via mobile

A carnivores ultimate fantasy the steaks here cannot be faulted. I had the most delicious Tomahawk steak with a peri peri sauce best ever. Relaxed dining experience where we were not harassed at all, and our server Joyline was patient and attentive with a cheery...demeanour. Made a family reunion a very pleasurable evening. Only pity is I cannot eat here every night due to living abroad.More

Date of visit: February 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HussarGrill, Agency / Consultant at The Hussar Grill Steenberg, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2023

Good day Scott B, Thank you for your review of The Hussar Grill Steenberg steakhouse. We are extremely pleased to know that the steaks and service from Joyline were outstanding during your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are...More

Reviewed 10 October 2022

I visited this restaurant with my 3 young children late on a Sunday afternoon and was not very impressed at all. My son ordered the fillet steak medium and it came out rare and had to be sent back. My 2 young children ordered the...deboned chicken and it was over cooked and very dry. I ordered the rump steak medium rare and it was ok but the vegetables I ordered never arrived! When the bill did arrive, I was still charged! I did speak to the waiter and advise him of all these issues and told him I would not be leaving a tip. He said he would speak to his manager. We left the restaurant 5 minutes later and nobody said a word. I don't think I have ever not left a tip and certainly am not in the habit of writing harsh reviews but it really was not good.More

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HussarGrill, Owner at The Hussar Grill Steenberg, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2022

Dear Maka051520, Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. We're so sorry to hear about this unfortunate mishap with receiving the incorrect order. We would like an opportunity to contact you and address your concerns with management. Could you kindly follow...More

Reviewed 1 October 2022 via mobile

We order the 1/2 deboned chicken ( basically an over cooked budgie) the chicken burger with side veg ( side veg had 1 random chip in the mix and the baby marrow that were not topped and tailed) Them the lamb shank, meat was good,...side veg good, but seriously sour mash, the optimist in me wants to say an overdose of sour cream, the realist knows the mash had turned. Not impressed for what is charged, basically not edible.... On the plus side the cheesecake is deliciousMore

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HussarGrill, Agency / Consultant at The Hussar Grill Steenberg, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2022

Dear Tristan L, Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. While we're glad you enjoyed the lamb shank and dessert, we are disappointed that the rest of your meal was not as expected. We would like an opportunity to contact you...More

Reviewed 10 July 2022

We were looking forward to a nice steak meal. The restaurant was almost empty with only one table occupied so there was no excuse for the slow erratic service. We had calamari and a tomato soup to start ( 4 people) which were both good....The steaks, one rump and 2 sirloins were not good at all, very little taste and overcooked. We specified crispy chips and even sent them back bot to no avail, very poor. I had the deboned chicken , not great little taste and a bit dry. Would definitely not go back and would not recommend itMore

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HussarGrill, Owner at The Hussar Grill Steenberg, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2022

Dear Nigeldcapetown, Thank you for your review of The Hussar Grill Steenberg steakhouse. We're very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your meal with us. Kindly provide us with your contact details and feedback by following this link https://hus8.goreview.co.za/goreview-crm?revid=JBG3iZ so that we can...More

Reviewed 2 July 2022

We had a great meal at Hussar. Fantastic service and excellent steaks. We took our own wine and there was no corkage. Highly recommended. Restaurant extremely well run.More

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HussarGrill, Owner at The Hussar Grill Steenberg, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2022

Good day, Grantkip, Thank you for taking the time to visit and review The Hussar Grill Steenberg steakhouse. We are very happy to hear that you had a great time with us and enjoyed your steak. We look forward to your return visit. Best regards,...More

Reviewed 15 April 2022

I found the service to be very good and the steak was ok but wasnt anything special. Once had it over cooked and once under from the way I like it. All round found it to be quite average but not at all bad.More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HussarGrill, Owner at The Hussar Grill Steenberg, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2022

Dear Johnlindenberg, Thank you for taking the time to visit and review our The Hussar Grill Steenberg grill room. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the service. We are, however, sorry to read that our steak and the overall experience disappointed you. Please...More

Reviewed 30 March 2022

2nd visit to here. Tried a lamb shank for a change. to be honest I have had better. the sauce was ok but did not have that traditional taste etc. not really that brown lamb flavor look and taste. Nothing wrong with the lamb. the...rest went for the usual steaks for which this chain of restaurants are known for. They were up to the normal high standards. The waiter was attentive and excellent. what was strange was that they could not offer coffee as the beans had not been delivered. They offered us 3 free choc vodka martinis for free .they were fab and a nice touch from the owner. also no spinach on the menu. we will be back,as they really are overall a great chain.More

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HussarGrill, Owner at The Hussar Grill Steenberg, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2022

Dear Kevins9404, Thank you for your review of our The Hussar Grill Steenberg grill room. We are pleased to read that you received such great service. We are, however, sorry to read that some of our food disappointed you. Please feel free to follow this...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Steenberg Hotel & Spa
653 reviews
.60 km away
Nova Constantia Boutique Residence
540 reviews
3.78 km away
Colona Castle
107 reviews
4.10 km away
Last Word Constantia
300 reviews
4.85 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Tryn
130 reviews
.68 km away
Jakes in the Village
280 reviews
.08 km away
Bistro Sixteen82
1 133 reviews
.84 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Norval Foundation
104 reviews
.54 km away
Blue Route Mall
42 reviews
1.22 km away
Steenberg Golf Club
78 reviews
1.23 km away
Tokai Forest
49 reviews
1.50 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Denise E
27 June 2022|
Answer
Response from Richard v | Reviewed this property |
Yes - Tuesdays
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

The Hussar Grill Steenberg, Westlake - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Hussar Grill Steenberg

The Hussar Grill Steenberg is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4