We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

On The Rocks

45 Stadler Road | Bloubergstand, Bloubergstrand 7441, South Africa
+27 21 554 1988
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent41%
  • Very good27%
  • Average15%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“line fish” (14 reviews)
“fillet steak” (7 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Seafood, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
PRICE
RR - RRR
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
45 Stadler Road | Bloubergstand, Bloubergstrand 7441, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (596)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 529 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Family gathering of 6 adults, we had no booking but a table was put together for us quickly. Waitress was very pleasant and service was quick. Breakfast menu was accommodating for all of us who have some form of diet. Really enjoyable and also lovely...More

Thank jbb88
OnTheRocks12, General Manager at On The Rocks, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Dear jbb88, Thank you so much for taking the time to review our establishment. We are delighted to hear bout your recent experience at On The Rocks Restaurant. Your comments will definitely be shared with the rest of the team who I am sure will...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Have not been here in years! We seem to revisiting ‘old’ locations...and this location absolutely does not disappoint with remarkable views of two of Cape Town’s icons namely Table Mountain and Robben Island. The menu is varied...and tasty. But the service was slow! The view...More

Thank Rick T
OnTheRocks12, General Manager at On The Rocks, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Rick, Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review on our establishment. It is always great to hear from our regular guests. We sincerely apologize for the slow level of service. This will definitely be addressed to ensure future guests...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely setting, need to book even for breakfast. Indoors and outdoor tables right on the sea edge with a stunning view across to Robben Island, Table Bay and Table Mountain. Service was a bit haphazard with a new waitress, like sugar not on the table,...More

Thank Frenske O
OnTheRocks12, General Manager at On The Rocks, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Frenske, Thank you for taking the time to write this review on your experience at On The Rocks. We are glad to hear that your overall experience was a pleasant one. Thank you for your feedback regarding the dishes as well as the service...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My Mom has been raving about On the Rocks for years, and as my partner and I had never been, she wanted to treat us to lunch to celebrate our new house. It was a gorgeous stormy Monday and we got a seat by the...More

Thank Jenny P
OnTheRocks12, General Manager at On The Rocks, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Jenny, Thank you for your feedback on your experience at On the Rocks. I would like to to apologize on behalf of On the Rocks and our head office that you did not receive our usual standard of dishes and service. We value all...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked this restaurant in England, for a party of14 to celebrate our 40 th wedding anniversary. We had drinks on the terrace looking towards Tablr Mountain, enjoying a marvellous sunset. We all ordered different food, but it all arrived at the same time and...More

Thank AnnChelvey
OnTheRocks12, General Manager at On The Rocks, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Ann Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review on On The Rocks. We are delighted to hear about your recent experience at our establishment. Thank you so much for your kind words. We will definitely share them with the rest...More

Reviewed 6 May 2018

Our friends took us to this establishment for a late afternoon drinks and we were very taken by the beautiful setting and view. We only had cocktails, but the service we received from Henry was excellent. All in all a very pleasant experience. We shall...More

1  Thank TheGreyBear
OnTheRocks12, General Manager at On The Rocks, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Dear TheGreyBear, Thank you for taking the time to write this 5 Star review on On The Rocks. We are delighted to hear about your recent experience even if it was only for cocktails and to experience our amazing view. We hope to welcome you...More

Reviewed 6 May 2018 via mobile

Where to start the compliments? The manager, Chris, was extremely welcoming and warm, the waiter, Henry, one of the best waiters we have come across with his positive attitude, the chef, David, who clearly knows what he’s doing in his kitchen. We had one of...More

Thank morn_l2017
OnTheRocks12, General Manager at On The Rocks, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Dear morn_l2017, Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review on On The Rocks. We are delighted to hear about your recent experience at our establishment. Thank you so much for your kind words. We will definitely share them with the rest...More

Reviewed 28 April 2018 via mobile

Visited On The Rocks with friends. What a beautiful place. Literally on the rocks! The food was excellent and no question or request wad too much for our waiter (Steyn). Thank you On The Rocks and Steyn for making this an unforgettable evening.More

Thank Johan N
OnTheRocks12, General Manager at On The Rocks, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

Dear Johan, Thank you so much for your great review and kind words. We are delighted to hear about your recent experience at On the Rocks and will definitely share it with the rest of the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to...More

Reviewed 18 April 2018

I loved sitting in the corner table and watching the seas crash over the rocks. This beach is filled with broken shells and rocks that is an art form all on its own. This top quality restaurant has a chilled vibe and fab indoor views...More

Thank Kellyseas
OnTheRocks12, General Manager at On The Rocks, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

Dear Kellyseas, Thank you for taking the time to write this review about our restaurant, On The Rocks. We are delighted to hear about your recent experience at our establishment although a bit disappointed in ourselves regarding the soup. We sincerely apologize about the sub...More

Reviewed 16 April 2018

we were 6, and the service was very good, ordering and special changes to different menus weren't a problem. We had fish and meat, the starters, main and desert all very nice, meat cooked as asked and the mussels had a nice sauce, quite big...More

Thank darren g
OnTheRocks12, General Manager at On The Rocks, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Dear darren g, Thank you for taking the time to write this review about our restaurant, On The Rocks. We are delighted to hear about your recent experience at our establishment. Thank you so much for your kind words. We will definitely share them with...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 7 hotels in Bloubergstrand
Pinard on Sea
64 reviews
.02 km away
Blue Peter Hotel
116 reviews
.47 km away
Blouberg Manor Boutique Hotel
57 reviews
.71 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Blaauwberg, Cape Town
1 review
1.49 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Blue Peter
501 reviews
.47 km away
moyo Blouberg
428 reviews
.88 km away
Ons Huisie
734 reviews
.11 km away
Nearby Attractions
Surf Big Bay
88 reviews
.42 km away
Loisico Tours and Excursions
65 reviews
1.33 km away
Cape Town Surf School (Pty) Ltd
19 reviews
.56 km away
Studio 46
7 reviews
.03 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
nsamps0n
2 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from LekkeNeh12 |
45 Stadler Rd, Bloubergstrand, Cape Town
2
Votes
Erica B
11 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Carisa M | Property representative |
Beste Erica, Ons het 'n menu vir Kersfees uit. Dit moet bespreek en betaal word vooruit. U kan 'n bespreking maak direk by die restaurant 021 554 1553. Vriendelike groete, Carisa
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, View, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 21:00
Monday
09:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 21:00
Thursday
09:00 - 21:00
Friday
09:00 - 22:00
Saturday
09:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 45 Stadler Road | Bloubergstand, Bloubergstrand 7441, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Bloubergstrand
  • Phone Number: +27 21 554 1988
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;