We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Damhuis

Is this your business?
32 Beach Road, Melkbosstrand 7441, South Africa
+27 21 553 0093
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent45%
  • Very good38%
  • Average10%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“pork belly” (21 reviews)
“bobotie” (12 reviews)
“eisbein” (15 reviews)
Open Now
09:00 - 23:00 Hours
CUISINES
African, European, Seafood, International, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
RR - RRR
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
32 Beach Road, Melkbosstrand 7441, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (509)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 474 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Good service , great food . A refreshing change from Capetown central but just as good ! Well priced and very casual but great venue for lunch

Thank Shane H
Stefan M, Owner at Damhuis, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much Shane!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Wonderful casual atmosphere right next to the see. The breakfast however quite expensive. Also have a more formal inside dinning area. Will go back again

Thank RikavanR
Stefan M, Owner at Damhuis, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you Rika!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were there a couple of times (2-4 people), trying various types of food. Each time, we were very satisfied. The meals varied between very good and excellent. - The waiters were friendly and helpful. - Looking forward to our next visit.

Thank MeineMeinung1
Stefan M, Owner at Damhuis, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Friendly, attentive service. Had the Cold Slimmers Breakfast, which was very disappointing. It comes with a big portion of salmon, which largely consisted of unappetizing off-cuts. It would have been better to reduce the quantity and focus on quality.

Thank erlar415
Stefan M, Owner at Damhuis, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your response. We will definitely give attention to this.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Families and pets allowed. Historical and a little magical. Really enjoyed the food and milkshakes. Good value for money with friendly efficient service

Thank Eloize M
Stefan M, Owner at Damhuis, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you Eloize!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I tried to book a breakfast for our overseas and Joburg guests for saturday morning but what a disaster. I was told that its policy, if you're more than 9 people you HAVE TO order in advance, and if one person orders scrambled eggs for...More

Thank Vivienne D
Stefan M, Owner at Damhuis, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you Vivienne, We have responded via e-mail as it seems that there has been misunderstanding to our policies as we are a heritage site. Kind regards,

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is not the first time we’ve been here, but the service and quality of food have really gone down. Firstly, we made a reservation earlier the day and by the time we got there our name was not in the book. No one actually...More

2  Thank Arno L
Stefan M, Owner at Damhuis, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Good day Arno. Thank you so much for your feedback. Would you be so kind in sending me and e-mail in order for me to investigate into the matter and revert back to you and hopefully find a solution. stefan@diedamhuis.co.za Thank you so much

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The standard in this restaurant is consistently high, the food is fabulous with a wide variety of choices and huge servings. The service is very good too. Caters for all ages and there is a playground for children.

1  Thank Leslie-ann C
Stefan M, Owner at Damhuis, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much Leslie-Ann!

Reviewed 16 March 2018

We were lucky enough to get a reservation in this very busy restaurant. The menu has a big variety of choices.The dishes were well prepared and presented. The waiters were very friendly and attentive.

Thank Johanestelle
Stefan M, Owner at Damhuis, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you Johan!

Reviewed 14 March 2018

Upon arrival we were greeted by the friendliest hostess I've met in a long time. We were shown to our table and then took a walk around. From the unique bar area to the vast kiddies play area, this place has much to offer. If...More

Thank lucianrajah
Stefan M, Owner at Damhuis, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

Thank you so much Lucian!

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Melkbosstrand Hotels
Atlantic Beach Hotel
64 reviews
.43 km away
The Gregorian on the Sea
29 reviews
.84 km away
Blouberg Manor Boutique Hotel
55 reviews
7.49 km away
Blue Peter Hotel
114 reviews
7.73 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Cafe Orca
469 reviews
.51 km away
The Hart Breadhouse And Eatery
72 reviews
.16 km away
Castella Amare Restaurant
206 reviews
.25 km away
Nearby Attractions
Atlantic Beach Golf Club
98 reviews
1.70 km away
Surf Big Bay
88 reviews
8.13 km away
Afta Africa Tours
19 reviews
9.77 km away
Loisico Tours and Excursions
64 reviews
9.19 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Damhuis staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
View, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Groups, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 22:00
Thursday
09:00 - 22:00
Friday
09:00 - 23:00
Saturday
09:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 32 Beach Road, Melkbosstrand 7441, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Melkbosstrand
  • Phone Number: +27 21 553 0093
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing