We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Wissett Plough

The Street | Wissett, Halesworth IP19 0JE, England
+44 1986 873047
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent65%
  • Very good21%
  • Average0%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible14%
Travellers talk about
“sunday lunch” (2 reviews)
“the pub” (3 reviews)
“tastefully” (2 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
PRICE
RR - RRR
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
LOCATION
The Street | Wissett, Halesworth IP19 0JE, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited this pub for lunch after a walk with my dads local ramblers group and was really impressed. Tucked away and not on the main route into Halesworth. Would certainly go again for an evening meal. Looks like it had recently been renovated and is...More

Thank Zoe A
TheWissettPlough, Manager at The Wissett Plough, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and spreading the word about us. Is so good to hear you enjoyed the food and our facilities. We hope you visit us again soon.

Reviewed 1 week ago

Our friends took us to this pub for lunch. Lovely location and good parking. Great outside seating and looks very smart on outside. Good decor and clean and pleasant wc (always a good sign).Pub is light and airy and was greeted with a friendly welcome....More

Thank Sara C
TheWissettPlough, Owner at The Wissett Plough, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your feedback

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excellent food, friendly staff, nice atmosphere. Third visit all 3 have been excellent. We will defiantly be back for a fourth visit.

Thank Lorraine M
TheWissettPlough, Owner at The Wissett Plough, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your review. It’s lovely to have great feedback and to hear that you enjoy visiting us.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had a lovely meal, haven’t been to the Plough in 20 years, wonderful menu, and super friendly atmosphere. They brought my toddlers meal out early which was much appreciated

Thank Pippa G
TheWissettPlough, Owner at The Wissett Plough, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It’s lovely to receive such positive feedback.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Checked the website and the sign outside when we arrived at 7.30 on a Sunday evening, having travelled about 10 miles, only to be greeted by a very surly chap outside the door who said "we are closed-bye" We won,t return!More

Thank virgie40c
TheWissettPlough, Owner at The Wissett Plough, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

I’m so sorry to hear you had a wasted journey and for that I do apologize. Especially as I can see from your profile that you come from Brighton so must have been visiting the area. Unfortunately we had a family emergency and had to...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great place to visit. Karen and Eugene are excellent hosts. Very friendly and make you very welcome. Food was lovely no complaints at all. Highly recommended.... the man from Michelin he would say yes!! We will be back. Michelle and Mark (the Southend lush)

Thank Michelle D
TheWissettPlough, Owner at The Wissett Plough, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Michelle & Mark thank you for your lovely review. We are so glad you both had such a great time and we very much appreciate your positive feedback.

Reviewed 13 June 2018 via mobile

During our cycling holiday in the United kingdom we visited the Wissett Plough. We had a very tasteful and nice looking meal. The owner and her staff where very helpful and friendly. The pub is nicely decorated. We sure try to visit the Wissett Plough...More

Thank Rudolf H
TheWissettPlough, Owner at The Wissett Plough, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your review and positive feedback. If you return to the UK it will be our pleasure to see you again.

Reviewed 12 June 2018 via mobile

We regularly eat out on a Sunday as a small group and have experienced some great and shocking lunches over the years. This was our this first visit to the Plough and the Sunday lunch was up there with the best we’ve had. Piping hot...More

Thank lee p
TheWissettPlough, Owner at The Wissett Plough, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review and positive feedback. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 5 June 2018 via mobile

We went for Sunday lunch and were not disappointed. The food was first class as was the service. The Landlady Caron was very welcoming. The pub is very clean and the decor very modern and up to date. We were so impressed that we booked...More

1  Thank JPEH27
TheWissettPlough, Owner at The Wissett Plough, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Jane Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It’s great to get such positive feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed your visits. We look forward to seeing you and your family again soon. Caron

Reviewed 31 May 2018

Decided to come for a meal here. Service was all very friendly. Portions are very big and value for money is great. Hope it does well :)

Thank Roseanna B
TheWissettPlough, Owner at The Wissett Plough, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Thank you for your review and kind words. We are glad you enjoyed your visit.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Halesworth Hotels
The Angel Hotel
146 reviews
2.60 km away
Satis House Hotel
769 reviews
10.90 km away
The Castle Inn
149 reviews
11.09 km away
The Kings Head Hotel
570 reviews
12.37 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Edwards
273 reviews
2.50 km away
The Rumburgh Buck
85 reviews
3.13 km away
The Huntsman and Hounds
75 reviews
3.49 km away
The Nelson
55 reviews
3.81 km away
Nearby Attractions
Oasis Camel Park
277 reviews
.29 km away
Valley Farm Vineyards
10 reviews
2.13 km away
Saint Mary the Virgin Church
12 reviews
5.90 km away
Queen's Head at Bramfield
43 reviews
5.98 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Wissett Plough staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
Average prices
US$7 - US$24
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Seating, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Street | Wissett, Halesworth IP19 0JE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Suffolk  >  Halesworth
  • Phone Number: +44 1986 873047
  • E-mail
Description
The Plough in Wissett is the heart of the village and rural country life. Providing great friendly customer service, a pub that is Free of Tie and servers premium drinks and traditional cask ales along with quality food freshly cooked by our award winning chef. There is a lovely outside garden area with picturesque views and plenty of customer parking. The Wissett Plough is located two miles from vibrant Halesworth and only seven miles from the stunning coastal resort of Southwold.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing