We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Butterfly Blu Restaurant

198 CR Swart Drive, Brenton-on-Sea, Knysna 6570, South Africa
+27 44 381 0027
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent49%
  • Very good27%
  • Average11%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“pizza” (63 reviews)
“pork belly” (10 reviews)
“calamari” (18 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Seafood, International, Pizza, European, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
RR - RRR
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
198 CR Swart Drive, Brenton-on-Sea, Knysna 6570, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (354)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 307 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

We ate here last Saturday lunchtime after a long walk along the beach. It really is a beautiful setting. I had a vegetarian pizza, which was the best I had ever tasted. Service was very good. Would recommend and will be going back next week.

Thank Lynda H
Reviewed yesterday

We have been coming here regularly when visiting Knysna and found the food much improved this year. All down to a new chef and new menu. We went for Sunday lunch and enjoyed our meal. However when the bill came they had turned the glass...More

Thank Jez07
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stunning location, starters cheese souffle and chicken livers outstanding. Service very poor and mains a disaster. Could not get the orders correct then complained it would take another 20/30 minutes to rectify.More

Thank Stuarthilary
LE1985, Public Relations Manager at Butterfly Blu Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Good afternoon Stuart, Thank you very much for your review, we appreciate your feedback! We are glad that you had great starters at Butterfly Blu but would like to apologise for the rest of your experience. We are aware that this particular day had some...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

It was a sweltering day so we headed to the beach after work, developed an appetite and decided to have impromptu dinner at Butterfly Blu. We were there around 6 and it was already busy. They found the 3 of us a table. Service was...More

Thank Jonathan L
LE1985, Public Relations Manager at Butterfly Blu Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Good afternoon Jonathan, Thank you very much for your great review! We are glad that you had a wonderful experience at Butterfly Blu after a sunny day on the beach. It is always great to hear that we cooked dishes to your liking and that...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This restaurant is only in its 3 rd year of business and is doing very well from what we could see. The food was delicious, the timing was perfect and the sunsets speak for themselves. Our Server, Christie was delightful and charming. Ya gotta eat...More

Thank Dean T
LE1985, Public Relations Manager at Butterfly Blu Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Good afternoon Dean, Thank you very much for your review, much appreciated! It sounds like you had a brilliant time at Butterfly Blu and that you enjoyed a wonderful sunset. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Best wishes BB Team

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A great place for lunch. We had a pickled pear & blue cheese salad & the soup & sandwich combo which was delicious.More

Thank Petrina K
LE1985, Public Relations Manager at Butterfly Blu Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Good afternoon Petrina, Thank you for your review, we really appreciate you recommending us to your fellow TripAdvisor followers! We are glad that you had a wonderful lunch at Butterfly Blu - the soup and sandwich combo is is becoming a firm favourite. We hope...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a lovely lunch here yesterday overlooking the lovely beach area. We had seen good reviews so we booked a table, the menu has lots of choice and the staff were friendly and helpful. This restaurant is a great find if staying in the...More

Thank Jon D
LE1985, Public Relations Manager at Butterfly Blu Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Good afternoon Jon, Thank you very much for your great review! We are glad that you enjoyed your meal at Butterfly Blu. It is always fantastic to hear that customers enjoyed the menu, service, food and views! We hope to welcome you back again soon....More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

During our holidays we booked a table for dinner because of a recommendation. The view is very nice. The food was „only“ OK compared to other restaurants in Knysna but it took too long time to get the meals. Water and wine was served 15...More

Thank Klnmd
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a wonderful lunch at Butterfly Blu after a morning on the beach. The restaurant area is just perfect for summer and the food and service was excellent. Highly recommended!

Thank Michelle_RQ
LE1985, Public Relations Manager at Butterfly Blu Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Good afternoon Michelle, Thank you very much for your great review! We are glad that you had a wonderful lunch at Butterfly Blu and really appreciate you recommending us to your fellow TripAdvisor followers. Looking forward to welcoming you again! Best wishes BB Team

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked a table next to the windows. Arrived to find none available! Ordered meal which came with a side dish forgotten. Side dish appeared 10 mind later which we rejected. Then offered to move us to a widow table while we were eating our main...More

Thank Nichobob
LE1985, Public Relations Manager at Butterfly Blu Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Good afternoon Nichobob, Thank you very much for your review. Butterfly Blu has a variety of different seating options with different furniture in order to create a relaxed beachfront atmosphere. We do take bookings but never for specific tables. We trust that customers understand this...More

PreviousNext
12345631
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Brenton-on-Sea Hotels
Belvidere Manor
320 reviews
3.57 km away
The Lofts Boutique Hotel
380 reviews
3.75 km away
The St. James of Knysna
456 reviews
3.76 km away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
654 reviews
3.81 km away
Nearby Restaurants
East Head Cafe
1 953 reviews
3.72 km away
Ile de Pain
792 reviews
3.77 km away
Cafe Mario
1 072 reviews
4.22 km away
Nearby Attractions
Dune Adventures
8 reviews
1.11 km away
Knysna Heads
2 071 reviews
4.07 km away
Brenton on Sea
452 reviews
.01 km away
Featherbed Nature Reserve
945 reviews
4.26 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
717garth
5 March 2015|
Answer
Response from charte2015 | Property representative |
Dear Garth we only allow them on the grass in front of the deck. Hope to see you soon. kind regards The Brenton Haven Team
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Buffet, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, View, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 - 21:00
Monday
11:30 - 21:00
Tuesday
11:30 - 21:00
Wednesday
11:30 - 21:00
Thursday
11:30 - 21:00
Friday
11:30 - 21:00
Saturday
11:30 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 198 CR Swart Drive, Brenton-on-Sea, Knysna 6570, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Knysna  >  Brenton-on-Sea
  • Phone Number: +27 44 381 0027
  • E-mail
Description
We offer a stylish, relaxed setting with an exquisite view over Brenton Beach and Buffalo Bay. Our modern restaurant is beautifully furnished in an eclectic style,which springs from Ibiza, Greece and an alternative South African influence. The elegant and beautifully appointed dining and lounge spaces compliments the delicious creations from the Kitchen. Bring your family and friends for an ideal dining experience with the best views in the Garden Route. 1 Hour Free Wifi is available to all visitors of Butterfly Blu.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing