We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$4 - US$18
CUISINES
Wine Bar
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
View all details
features, about
Reviews (23)
Filter reviews
19 results
Traveller rating
16
1
0
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
16
1
0
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lunch wine tasting attention to detail the owner artists richard waiters ambience
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 21 March 2020

Had planned to have a lunch elsewhere but found ourselves too early. So we found ourselves by Bluvines at lunchtime and in we went. What a revelation. Stlylish decor and a great outside terrace full of a great mix of people from local families having...big family gatherings, bikers dropping in for coffee, couples like us - all sorts. We just had a couple of light dishes and a great Mimosa wine and were served by wonderful local staff beautifully trained in European service. Imagine our surprise when several of them burst into song. Apparantly 10% of each bill goes to local youth centre and part of that goes to a training centre for young people wishing to learn instruments and how to sing. These young people were the ones serving us. A great experience, not the cheapest in the area but totally unforgettable.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
JonineErasmus, General Manager at BluVines Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2020

Dear Ray & Jenny Thank you kindly for your wonderful comments and recommendation. We appreciate it very much. The team looks forward to welcome you back when next you are in the area! Best regards

Reviewed 10 March 2020

Tourist trap at its prime!! place with prices that are ridiculous. One Double espresso is R48, The quality also is horrible. My husband had a flat white and it was awful burned milk with bitter taste he couldn’t finish it,They serve the cheapest tea you...can find at the supermarket for R30 Stay away !!More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
JonineErasmus, General Manager at BluVines Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2020

Dear Janne The BluVines Team is truly disappointed to hear about your experience. It is our endeavour to always make sure our patrons have a most enjoyable experience. In our strive for excellence we have arranged additional training for our 2 barristas with Truth Coffee...More

Reviewed 3 March 2020

Although I personally visited and made my reservation day before, we were asked to sit at the worst table right next to door on the corner of all traffic. They put so many tables in small area . I was even told to pick wherever...I want while making reservation. I think they treat you according to your look or clothing. When I, with my family, decided not to take the table, noone cared about it. And I was told that there’s no supervisor,A real domestic live music place... Maybe the food is okay, I dont know about that.More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?1  
JonineErasmus, General Manager at BluVines Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2020

Dear Ricco, The BluVines Team is truly disappointed to hear about your experience and we apologize most sincerely. We strive to make every one of our diners feel welcome and to ensure that their experience is an excellent one, on every level. We sincerely wish...More

Reviewed 3 March 2020

Walking into Blu Vines I thought I was back in one of Cape Town’s sophisticated eateries. Set in a stunning location the restaurant and wine tasting room ooze style. This is matched with excellent food prepared by chefs who take a personal interest in the...customer’s enjoyment. Excellent service by friendly staff and good value for money. We enjoyed our evening meal so much that we planned on returning for breakfast but circumstances meant we couldn’t. Highly recommend Blu Vines and will definitely return when we’re next in the area.More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
JonineErasmus, General Manager at BluVines Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2020

Thank you Julie for your lovely words & wonderful recommendation - a pity we missed you for breakfast, but all the more reason to return ;) See you soon!!

Reviewed 25 February 2020 via mobile

Most of the Montagu restaurants offer a similar menu. BluVines is different not only in its very chic decor but the fact that it serves Tapas between 5 and 7 in the evenings. Unfortunately they do not yet have a licence for full evening meals....Tapas was excellent as were the staff who served us - and meeting the owner Richard who was keen to meet us and check everything OK. A great out of the ordinary venue on Route 62.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?1  
JonineErasmus, General Manager at BluVines Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2020

Thank you for your kind words and great recommendation, Peter - the BluVines Team greatly looks forward to welcome you back!

Reviewed 15 February 2020 via mobile

Fantastic Valentines A little Gem in the Klein Karoo, the Owner Richard has put his heart into this beautiful destination. Great food, beautiful venue and fantastic Staff. Will definitely be back soon!

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
JonineErasmus, General Manager at BluVines Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2020

Thank you Liezel for your great recommendation - we look forward to your next visit!! :)

Reviewed 29 January 2020

Wow, wow, wow....if I lived in Montagu I would have my name on a chair...Absolutely first class. We had an awesome experience, went for wine tasting and ended up spending the day ... didnt want to leave... I WANT TO GO BACK!!! Thank you to...Richard and Staff for making our holiday in Montagu so awesome, wishing you much success with your Restaurant...a most definite visit for everyone!!!More

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?
JonineErasmus, Manager at BluVines Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2020

Thank you Lynn, for your wonderful review and recommendation! Much appreciated ✌ We look forward to welcoming you back at Mimosa Wines & BluVines in the not too distant future!

Reviewed 11 January 2020 via mobile

Ambience amazing. Food fine dining. Attention to detail brilliant. Owner’s attention. Waiters are all singing dancing artists while being brilliantly attentive waiters. Wish it was closer to home! Well done! Accolades well deserved.

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
JonineErasmus, Manager at BluVines Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2020

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and recommendation! Our BluVines ambassadors love what they do and always appreciate positive comments 😉 We look forward to welcoming you back at BluVines in the not too distant future!

Reviewed 8 January 2020

We went there for coffee after hearing about this place. What a lovely surprise we got! It is a delight for the eyes as well as the palette. The decor is stunning and the coffee and Apple tart to die for! Service was good and...the owner comes to greet everyone personally. I would love to go back there for a proper meal, -soon!More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
JonineErasmus, Manager at BluVines Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2020

Thank you Nita, for your wonderful review and recommendation! Much appreciated ✌ We do agree on the coffee and have an absolute gem in our local baker who supplies the best apple tart in Montagu... We look forward to welcoming you back soon at BluVines...More

Reviewed 1 January 2020 via mobile

Best New Year’s Day lunch, food was delicious, music and vibe was amazing, wine was delicious and the hosts could not do enough.. Best way to start a new year ..

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
JonineErasmus, Manager at BluVines Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2020

Thank you Kathryn for your lovely review and recommendation! It was a great pleasure to start the New Year off with you! We look forward to welcoming you back soon at BluVines!

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Montagu Country Hotel
806 reviews
1.07 km away
Montagu Springs Resort
123 reviews
3.01 km away
theLAB Robertson
98 reviews
11.40 km away
De Kloof Luxury Estate
325 reviews
39.64 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Rambling Rose
853 reviews
.74 km away
22 Church Street
156 reviews
.87 km away
Ye Olde Tavern
682 reviews
1.33 km away
The Mystic Tin
430 reviews
.95 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Joubert House
40 reviews
.65 km away
Leidam Bird Sanctuary
63 reviews
.68 km away
Montagu Museum
55 reviews
.92 km away
Montagu NGK Dutch Reformed Church
13 reviews
.84 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from BluVines Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about BluVines Restaurant

BluVines Restaurant is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4.5