We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ye Olde Tavern

RR - RRR, British,
47 Bath Street, Montagu 6720, South Africa
+27 23 614 2398
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent49%
  • Very good34%
  • Average12%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“lamb shank” (75 reviews)
“bobotie” (39 reviews)
“potato skins” (8 reviews)
Open Now
17:30 - 21:30 Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Grill, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
RR - RRR
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
47 Bath Street, Montagu 6720, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (641)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 536 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lunch was very reasonaby priced and delicious. Traditional sunday lunch. Wine list is sufficient and prices very good - supports local wineries. Need to book ahead for bigger groups. Interiour could be a bit noisy but service is fast and waiters efficient. Worth a try...More

Thank Simmelman
tavernowner, Owner at Ye Olde Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you so much for the positive review. we just recently started the Sunday Lunch Roast so it is becoming very popular with the locals.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What a great find this family restaurant with absolutely great service. A small menu, but it covers a wide spectrum of foods. Decor is minimalistic, but the quality of the food makes up for it. We spent a weekend in Montagu and ended up eating...More

1  Thank Roedig
Reviewed 16 June 2018

Feedback after a superb Dinner. Good food. Reception and Waiter did everything to accommodate and make our evening good.

Thank inaheunis
Reviewed 23 May 2018

The Restaurant was fairly empty for a Saturday night, so there was no excuse not to have good service and a good meal, which I was expecting as I was advised to goo to this restaurant by friends who said they had the best meal...More

Thank lens994
tavernowner, Owner at Ye Olde Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

Dear lens994, many thanks for your review. I'm truly sorry you did not have a good experience despite your friends recommendation. Sadly I cannot comment as you have not given me much details regarding the poor meal or my response and I cannot recall any...More

Reviewed 21 May 2018

This is quite a traditional style restaurant but we were very happy to find it open on a Sunday evening when everything else in town was closed. We left having had a very satisfactory meal.

Thank r0adrunred
tavernowner, Owner at Ye Olde Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

Thank you so much for your review. Glad we were able to accommodate you and that you were satisfied with your meal.

Reviewed 16 May 2018

I was looking forward to the "fall off the bone " lamb shank,and found it rather tough to get off the bone.My husband had pork ribs with a nice unusual basting .A tad over priced , especially the lamb .The staff seems to try ,but...More

Thank mitzigrob
tavernowner, Owner at Ye Olde Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

Thank you for your review. Have spoken to the kitchen staff to ensure the lamb shanks are cooked to our normal standard. Sadly with the soaring price of food these days, we are unable to offer Lamb Shank and Pork Belly Ribs at a lower...More

Reviewed 16 April 2018

Although the service is slow the good food makes up for this. Their meat dishes were excellent. However I had to remind the stewardess and manager as to what was included in the meal according to the menu. This was brought after the meal was...More

1  Thank kdgarlipp
tavernowner, Owner at Ye Olde Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate the feedback and will discuss with the staff both front of house and kitchen to ensure they don't miss any items off the plate.

Reviewed 14 April 2018

We always dine at Ye Olde Tavern when in Montagu. The food is always good and excellent value. Two lovely young ladies on their first night waiting on did very well!

Thank MavisNev
tavernowner, Owner at Ye Olde Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and so happy to hear that we have consistently met your expectations.

Reviewed 2 April 2018

A glorious garden in the back to relax in, lovely interior, depicting artistic murals of gone by days. Not to mention the great food and good service. We were a table of 14 and they had no trouble catering for us. After a seriously bad...More

Thank Jinx L
tavernowner, Owner at Ye Olde Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. Credit to all my new staff for trying so hard and working extra long hours, could not have done it without them.

Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

This was the absolute low point of a weekend visit to Montagu. Everythig was terrible. For starters, we waited 75 minutes for our starters, and did not see our waitress in that time. Then they did not have the steaks they recommended we ordered. The...More

2  Thank DriesCronje
tavernowner, Owner at Ye Olde Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

Thank you for the review. Even the best restaurant are not perfect and sadly this evening we were not at our best. Sometimes, when a restaurant is very busy and pushed to it's limits, the kitchen takes strain and this was definitely one of those...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Montagu Hotels
Montagu Country Hotel
648 reviews
.24 km away
Montagu Springs Resort
102 reviews
2.53 km away
Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat
459 reviews
12.64 km away
De Kloof Luxury Estate
284 reviews
39.05 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Barn On 62
126 reviews
.45 km away
The Rambling Rose
660 reviews
.57 km away
Simply Delicious
275 reviews
.34 km away
Burgundy Gherkin
183 reviews
.28 km away
Nearby Attractions
Marloth Nature Reserve
109 reviews
.73 km away
Montague Tractor Ride
110 reviews
1.52 km away
Montagu Nature Garden
53 reviews
.70 km away
Joubert House
32 reviews
.65 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Ye Olde Tavern staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$13 - US$20
Meals
Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Free Wifi, Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
17:30 - 21:30
Monday
17:30 - 21:30
Tuesday
17:30 - 21:30
Wednesday
17:30 - 21:30
Thursday
17:30 - 21:30
Friday
17:30 - 21:30
Saturday
17:30 - 21:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 47 Bath Street, Montagu 6720, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Montagu
  • Phone Number: +27 23 614 2398
  • E-mail
Description
Casual Family Restaurant set in a beautiful old building showcasing the interesting history of Montagu, with a delightul garden for diners that enjoy the fresh air. Extensive menu caters for all tastes, including vegetarian and gluten free, with a Kiddies Menu as well. Drinks are served in the garden or at the bar from 3.30 PM and dinner is available from 5.30PM with the kitchen taking the last order at 9.30 PM. Reservations are advised as tables are taken rather quickly, so to avoid dissapointment - "phone or email ahead of time! We look forward to having you dine with us!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing