We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About
Over the winter months The Summer Isles Bar is open occasionally. Please check for regular updates on opening times on our website.
PRICE RANGE
US$17 - US$57
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
CUISINES
Seafood, European, British, Scottish, Bar, International, Contemporary
FEATURES
Television, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Table Service, Reservations
Reviews (234)
Filter reviews
214 results
Traveller rating
88
60
29
26
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
88
60
29
26
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews off the beaten track hotel views lochinver isles sea road
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 13 September 2020 via mobile

Eating at this hotel has been on my bucket list for a number of years and I wasn’t disappointed. A very warm welcome and extremely pleasant staff greeted us. An extensive wine list and a wonderful menu on a wet Sunday evening. The sauces accompanying...the langoustine starter and the hake main meal were delicious. The Brownie dessert with melon sorbet was unctuous and refreshing. I hope to visit again.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Woolly17, Owner at The Summer Isles Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2020

Dear Simon R, Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. Being on a bucket list is big pressure! Very pleased to read that we did not disappoint. It is so sad that the bar remains closed in the current climate but nice...More

Reviewed 20 November 2019

popped in while at the hotel, good choice, fish was excellent, fair prices as well. Friendly staff, great views of the isles.

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?
Simon C, Owner at The Summer Isles Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2019

Dear Rob S Many thanks for this review. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your meal. Please pop in again in the future! Regards Simon Cotton

Reviewed 12 November 2019

We were on a magazine write up for the NC500 and we called in on a lovely day to find the place virtually empty. It is off the beaten track and was surprised its a long way from the sea, certainly not anywhere near the...shore. Plus the car park is in front, which rather spoils the view of the sea. Fish soup was very good, however. Hotel prices very very dear.More

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?
Simon C, Owner at The Summer Isles Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2019

Dear Norfolkexpat Thanks for taking the time to write a review. It's great to read that you enjoyed your fish soup. One of the key reasons to visit The Summer Isles Hotel is to enjoy the ruggedly beautiful, wild and untouched landscape of the Western...More

Reviewed 7 November 2019

After driving the "Mad Road" (as we were told locals call it) from Lochinver on a driech day, to eat here it didn't disappoint. Great service, delicious food and an unmissable view.More

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?
Simon C, Owner at The Summer Isles Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2019

Dear Susie K I am very pleased to read that your journey was worthwhile! Actually, the drive is fantastic in almost any weather as long as there is no rush! Thanks for a great review and we hope that you return in the not too...More

Reviewed 23 August 2019 via mobile

Old fashioned hotel with a lounge and restaurant room. In the first we had a drink while they were preparing our table. Our dinner was excellent with an amazing view. We appreciate so much the fine cooking level and for this reason prices are higher...than average. Dogs are welcome only in the lounge room. Staff was extremely kind.More

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?
Simon C, Owner at The Summer Isles Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2019

Dear Fredrico Mainardi I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your dinner at The Summer Isles Bar. This is the second season when dogs have been welcomed into the bar. It has been a popular decision and most of our canine visitors are...More

Reviewed 21 July 2019

Having stopped here for a drink on two previous occasions we decided to eat here on our last evening in the area. The staff (and locals!) are all very welcoming. Staff are helpful and polite. The food is very good - taste, fresh and well...presented. The location is wonderful with great views over the sea to the Summer Isles.More

Date of visit: July 2019
Helpful?
Simon C, Owner at The Summer Isles Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2019

Dear KingDad007 Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your dinner in the Summer Isles Bar. We have recently introduced a single menu across the hotel and bar which is proving popular and...More

Reviewed 8 July 2019 via mobile

Dropped into my old place of work after years away. Glad to see new owners taking real pride in the hotel. Food selection was fantastic, service and food were 1st class. The locals at the bar still a good laugh!!More

Date of visit: July 2019
Helpful?
Simon C, Owner at The Summer Isles Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2019

Dear StuartD316 It's great to read that you "returned". I wish we had met as it would have been fun to to hear stories from your time in Achiltibuie. The locals are indeed a "good laugh" and long may that continue! I am very pleased...More

Reviewed 3 July 2019 via mobile

Stayed nearby for a couple of nights. Had been here several years ago and still remember the smoked salmon. Food still very good with views out to the Summer Isles changing every minute on a day of rain and sunshine. A must visit if you...are nearby.More

Date of visit: June 2019
Helpful?
Simon C, Owner at The Summer Isles Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2019

Dear Findlayr2015 Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. It's very good to read that you enjoyed your visit to the Summer Isles Bar. The weather can certainly switch between Arctic and Aegean at great speed! Regards Simon Cotton

Reviewed 21 June 2019 via mobile

We ate here on our first evening during our stay at the hotel next door, due to an administrative error. We took the table offered to us, by the door to the patio, with a lovely view of the isles. This was a mistake, as...every time someone came in or out we were blasted by the icy wind. Both of us ordered fish pie. I don’t know if they’d come out of the freezer, but mine couldn’t even have been at body temperature. It was a very unpleasant surprise to take a mouthful of almost cold fish pie, which one usually expects to be piping hot. The pies were sent back to be reheated, and after a substantial wait they reappeared, this time scaldingly hot. We then got an irritating Spanish Inquisition about how they tasted. Well, I’ve had better and I’ve had worse fish pies, but none as cold as this, was what I was tempted to say, but I just responded with ‘better’. We were unimpressed by the serving staff, though the male waiter was slightly better than the waitress, who seemed totally clueless. She only knew the name of one of the two beers offered and had to go & ask about the other. Where *does* the hotel get them from.More

Date of visit: May 2019
Helpful?4  
Simon C, Owner at The Summer Isles Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2019

Hello again Nyonya, Seven days after your review on the hotel page, you now post on the bar page. By my reading, the wind was icy, the pie was too cold and then too hot and the waitress had to check the name of one...More

Reviewed 17 June 2019 via mobile

Stopped here on an impulse due to bad weather. It is a bright, airy pub with lovely views to the isles. Enjoyed ales from the Orkney brewery. A relaxed vibe with good music and WiFi. A very pleasant stop

Date of visit: June 2019
Helpful?
Simon C, Owner at The Summer Isles Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2019

Dear Lukeandleigh Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. It is good that the bad weather steered you in the direction of The Summer Isles Bar! I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit. Regards Simon Cotton

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant
630 reviews
.59 km away
Culag Hotel
135 reviews
15.24 km away
Inver Lodge Hotel
508 reviews
15.69 km away
Morefield Motel
321 reviews
17.21 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
SALT Seafood Kitchen
202 reviews
2.07 km away
Peet's
809 reviews
15.22 km away
Pancake Barn Tearoom
8 reviews
15.95 km away
The Seafood Shack
878 reviews
17.90 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Hamlet Mountaineering
20 reviews
.55 km away
Stac Pollaidh Mountain
111 reviews
8.69 km away
Falls of Kirkaig
34 reviews
12.75 km away
RhueArt
25 reviews
13.99 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
cezzia
27 August 2019|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from StuartD316 | Reviewed this property |
Fantastic selection of G/F, veggie, vegan available. Also advised that dishes can be adapted for allergies. Price is fantastic for the quality
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Summer Isles Bar

The Summer Isles Bar is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3.5
  • Atmosphere: 3.5