We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Old Oyster Factory

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Get food delivered
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
About
The Old Oyster Factory is Hilton Head's premier waterfront dining destination. Enjoy local seafood, hand-cut steaks and amazing water views from every table.
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Dinner
CUISINES
American, Seafood
FEATURES
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Live Music, Waterfront, Gift Cards Available
Reviews (3 997)
Filter reviews
3 972 results
Traveller rating
2 312
1 002
437
148
73
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
2 312
1 002
437
148
73
Show reviews that mention
All reviews oysters seafood medley hush puppies salmon rice steak potatoes salad fries broad creek our waiter happy hour great seafood hilton head island an appetizer marsh sunset
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed yesterday

The food was excellent: we sat on the deck with views of the water with breezes. It was beautiful. The service was outstanding. Due to portion sizes had to take dessert to go!! Would highly recommend.

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 3 days ago

We like to order and split several appetizers for a light diner. We had the ceviche, the ahi poke, and the clams & mussels in curry sauce. The curry sauce overwhelmed the flavor of the clams & mussels - perhaps they should offer that on...the side. The ceviche was a little heavy on the tomato, but otherwise excellent. The ahi poke was outstanding - but it was our first time having it, so hard to compare. Overall, our experience was great. Service was equally terrific. The place was booked, but first-come seating at the bar, and it was just fine.More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

We read about OOF in a restaurant publication. We knew immediately that we had to make a reservation and try the variety of oysters on the half shell. We were seated immediately and ordered oysters as an app and then dinner. It was all delicious!...We overheard another patron saying happy hour was still on in the bar and oysters were half price. We asked our server to see if we would get a price adjustment but it is only available in the bar. So we happily paid for the delicious meal and then high tailed it over to the bar area for more delicious oysters. Happy hour is 4-6. You're welcome😃More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Our favorite restaurant on Hilton Head Island. Instant seating at the bar, my 4 year old loved watching the guys shucking Oysters. I had the Ribeye and it was cooked perfectly. Everything was great!!

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Kori, Marketing at Old Oyster Factory, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you so much! We are very glad you enjoyed your dining experience with us! We cannot wait to have you back to dine with us again soon!

Reviewed 1 week ago

We have been going to OOF for 21 years and it had always been our favorite restaurant on the island. This was our first post-covid visit and they have really changed their menu since our previous visits. It is now much healthier, broiled/baked foods, almost...no fried seafood like we loved in the past. Probably better for us but not what we wanted. Staff was great, limited capacity due to understaffing, reservations a must. We canceled our 2nd night reservation we were so disappointed. :-( The wait person told us they were recently bought by the CRAB company who owns 8-10 competing restaurants.More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?1  
Kori, Marketing at Old Oyster Factory, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

We are very sorry that this happened during your dining experience with us. We assure you that we have addressed these issues and sincerely apologize. We hope you know that this is not typical for our customers to not receive 5 star experience. We hope...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

When we first walked up you had to have reservations. The hostess was rude and said that we had to sit at the bar. The food was okay. We probably won’t come back again. It’s ashamed because it was a family favorite.More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?1  
Kori, Marketing at Old Oyster Factory, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

We are very sorry to hear this. We assure you that we do take walk-ins but reservations are always recommended especially if we are booked for the evening. As we hit the busy summer season it is common for us to get booked up. We...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Did I miss somewhere stating you have to have reservations to eat here? My family of 3 arrived at approximately 5:15 pm to be informed we could not eat there because we had no reservation. How many patrons have you turned away because of your...policy?More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Kori, Marketing at Old Oyster Factory, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

We are very sorry to hear this. We assure you that we do take walk-ins but reservations are always recommended especially if we are booked for the evening. As we hit the busy summer season it is common for us to get booked up. We...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Have eaten at this beautiful location for years and this was the first bad experience. Our food tasted fine, but nowhere near the taste in years past. All of my tables sides were tiny and underwhelming. We are extremely disappointed and will most likely not...return.More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?2  
Kori, Marketing at Old Oyster Factory, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We are very sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your dining experience. We assure you that we have addressed these issues! We do have much bigger tables in our dining room instead of the bar areas. We hope you are able to...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Food is very good. Everything was very flavorful and well prepared. However, portions were crazy small. I ordered the ciopinno which consisted of five shrimp, three clams, and three mussels. One of my clam shells and one of my mussel shells were empty. The portion...in itself was already very small, and to pay that much money for two empty shells is ridiculous. Thoroughly disappointed.More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?1  
Kori, Marketing at Old Oyster Factory, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We are very sorry that you did not fully enjoy your dining experience with us. We hope you are able to dine with us in the future as we have addressed these issues. We assure you that our prices are based off of product weight.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

It at all what it used to be. You can no longer go in without reservations. They are short staffed and can’t accept walk ins. The menu is different than in the past. You used to get complimentary hush puppies and now you have to...pay for them. The fishers were most definitely lacking in side amounts. Two tablespoons at most of mashed potatoes and a few sprigs of asparagus. We have been coming every year for 10 years. We will not be returning!More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?2  
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Hilton Head Resort
173 reviews
1.33 km away
Simple Rewards Inn
782 reviews
1.86 km away
Disney's Hilton Head Island Resort
1 189 reviews
2.05 km away
Marriott's Harbour Point and Sunset Pointe at Shelter Cove
367 reviews
2.39 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Poseidon
5 243 reviews
1.44 km away
Harold's Diner
519 reviews
1.35 km away
Giuseppi's Pizza and Pasta
2 220 reviews
1.41 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Shelter Cove Community Park
150 reviews
1.11 km away
Sea Pines Forest Preserve
1 232 reviews
1.60 km away
Island Explorer
1 968 reviews
.05 km away
Saltmarsh Paddle Tours
37 reviews
.06 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
RomacBluffton_SC
22 January 2020|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from R L | Reviewed this property |
sorry for the delay in response. we went for Happy Hour, around 5pm. And had great service. Even with a packed bar, service time was very acceptable
0
Votes
searay88
2 July 2018|
Answer
Response from Patrick A |
Because it's a minority opinion. Majority wins on review sites.
0
Votes
Poppey2
21 February 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Patricia K | Reviewed this property |
The restaurant opens at 4:45 each day. They have great window accessibility to enjoy the marshlands and the sun set. I am not aware of selecting your meal on line but that does mean it might not be there.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Old Oyster Factory

Yes, Old Oyster Factory offers takeaway services.

Yes, Old Oyster Factory offers delivery services.

Yes, Old Oyster Factory is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Old Oyster Factory is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5