We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Get food delivered

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$15 - US$30
CUISINES
Barbecue, American, Bar
Special Diets
Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about

Location and contact

French Quarter
0.2 km from Joe Riley Waterfront Park
Improve this listing
Reviews (1 181)
Filter reviews
1 158 results
Traveller rating
738
289
80
31
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
738
289
80
31
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pulled pork ribs cornbread hash meat combo meat sweats mac and cheese charred broccoli collard greens fries southern bbq smoked wings sandwich great bbq vinegar based two sides boiled peanuts
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed yesterday

We had 8pm reservations. We waited 20 minutes until our server addressed us. A major hint this was to be a terrible experience = the 4 tables surrounding us that had not yet been bussed/cleaned off. Our server acted rushed in every interaction, although the...restaurant wasn’t full. We ordered a pulled pork plate and half order of ribs. When told they were out of ribs, we ordered two pork plates. After too long of a wait for food, a person from the kitchen appeared at our table asking what meat we ordered in place of the ribs. What??? Unreal. We weren’t feeling great or confident about our meals at all. The pork plates appeared shortly after that and the food was good. The table 3 tables beside us ordered ribs and the order went through and was delivered. The order was placed minutes after ours. When we asked our server about this as we were leaving, she stated it was a matter of timing. Our thought - say that up front! Don’t say you’re out of that item when it’s actually just a longer (just a few minutes more) wait. We have been to many restaurants in Charleston and recommended most. We’ve never taken a moment to write a negative review but we could not let this pass otherwise. The culture of this joint is suffering and can’t maintain this pitiful level is dissatisfaction.More

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed yesterday

Thought because it was a Poogan's (which is closed for remodeling) it would be quality. French fries were cold, skinny and unappetizing but better than the faux barbeque. Stringy, cool and impersonal service - especially the greeter who eventually saw us standing at the counter.

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I made a reservation on Sunday for 2 people at 8.30. which they could not honor, they called and said they were ‘running out of meat’. Decided to give them another go and made an 8 o’clock reservation for 2 on Thursday. They called me...at 5pm to say they were running low on meat AGAIN and said we should come in at 6pm. The woman on the phone was very unaccommodating and not at all apologetic, she even put the phone down on me as I was talking. Restaurants should not take reservations that they cannot honor. To have this happen twice in four days is completely unacceptable. Terrible customer service.More

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?
Poogan’s Hospitality, General Manager at Poogan's Smokehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi there, we are really sorry that this was the experience that you had - it is truly out of the norm for our service that we typically provide. We try to accommodate customers to the best of our abilities, but once we're low on...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Arrived for our 2.30pm late lunch booking and the first thing to hit me was the awful smell in the place. Couldn't work out what it was and the waiting staff didn't mention it or seem fazed by it. The place was not busy at...all and there were loads of tables and booths available but we were seated in a booth with a large rip in the seat and the plastic from the fake leather rubbed off. The seats next to us had no rips so no idea why they didn't seat us there. Weird! Obviously not something one wants with one's dining experience but there's nothing we could do about it and we were hungry. Which is a good thing as the portions are MASSIVE. We had the ribs - full and half racks, respectively. Also ordered corn bread which was a waste as we barely touched it but, being corn bread virgins, we felt we needed to try it. Food was great. Potato salad different to the standard fare which is a good thing. Mixed feelings about this place due to smell and decor but the food is great so it's a shame the other stuff lets the whole experience down. Our server was great too - forget her name but she had fab, multi-coloured hair and was very attentive and friendly. I would recommend the place and can even overlook the ripped seating but please sort out the smell! And maybe also think about offering espresso coffee instead of the huge American Coffee in mugs which is too much after a large meal.More

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?
Poogan’s Hospitality, General Manager at Poogan's Smokehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi there. Thank you for taking time to leave us a detailed review and rating. We do apologize for the smell that you encountered while dining with us. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We do hope that you will give us another...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

When: Weekend, lunch Waiting time: No waiting time, make reservation Ambience: Floors slippery, tables a little greasy, but the worst was the sewer smell in the air, I don’t know if it was because of sun outside, but a lot of people complaining Food: Ordered...the 3-meat combo, tasteless, no smoky flavor at all, and a Salad, just OK For dessert: Nothing. Drink: The beer glass was dirty with soap, I drunk directly from the can instead. Service: Medium speed, good for the type of restaurant Parking: Public parking half a block from restaurant Average expense: around $60 (with tip) for a couple.More

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?
Poogan’s Hospitality, General Manager at Poogan's Smokehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your visit. Thank you for your review, as every little bit of feedback helps us improve. We hope you decide to give us another try in the future, for an experience much more indicative of our true...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Phenomenal. Easy reservations. We walked right in and got seated at a comfy table. The food was amazing! Great flavors and huge portions. We had one of the best servers we have ever had anywhere. Kristopher was top notch. He knew what we wanted before...we even knew we needed it. Our glasses were never empty and we never had to look for him. He was super busy but extremely friendly and efficient. You’d never know how large and airy it is inside. Very nicely laid out. Comfortable. Some of the cushions need some TLC but otherwise it was all clean and nicely tended.More

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?
Poogan’s Hospitality, General Manager at Poogan's Smokehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hey Daynasu! We really appreciate you taking the time to provide us with feedback! We're happy that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again soon. Don't stay gone too long!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The pulled pork and the brisket were both flavorless. The brisket was chewy instead of tender and soft like it should be when it’s smoked properly. Not worth it when there’s so many other exceptional bbq places in Charleston! Don’t waste your time here!More

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?
Poogan’s Hospitality, General Manager at Poogan's Smokehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi Ajmhudson. We're sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the preparation of the meal you had with us. We encourage our guests to bring any unhappiness with their dish to the attention of one of our staff members so that the matter can...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Two couples visited for dinner on the last night of our Charleston long weekend. After three nights of exceptional meals we wanted to go a bit more casual. Not casual in quality but in dress and atmosphere. Seemed like BBQ after three nights of seafood...would be a welcome bit of variety. We booked at Poogans Smokehouse and visited on Monday, December 13. We ordered drinks then our meals. My wife had pulled pork, I had a combo of ribs and smoked sausage. Our friends ordered brisket and ribs. After ordering this and an appetizer of cornbread the waiter returned in a few minutes to say there was no brisket so a substitute order of smoked chicken was chosen by our friends wife. Too bad the waiter wasn’t informed of the days shortages! Our food arrived a short while later. Followed by our cornbread appetizer. We were able to start eating after bringing to the waiters attention we lacked table ware and napkins. The food arrived basically room temperature. Not hot and certainly not within the definition of warm. So, one must presume the food was waiting somewhere in the kitchen, portioned onto plates and brought out with no attempt to warm the it to a pleasing level. One must presume the food was not held in a warmer of any kind and I wonder how long had it been since it was prepared? When the cornbread appetizer appeared it was warm so maybe it was freshly made. Our side dishes were just ok. The charred broccoli sounded interesting but arrived with minimal evidence of any “charring” and was not warm. My potato salad was ok and a good portion. My collards were fine also. Overall, the meal was a disappointment and I certainly cannot recommend visiting. Spend your money elsewhere.More

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?
Poogan’s Hospitality, General Manager at Poogan's Smokehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Trent, I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the menu items that were served to you. All our dishes are prepared with nothing but fresh and high-quality ingredients, as we want to only serve plates that we are proud of and...More

Reviewed 29 November 2021

We came here on Thanksgiving night but unfortunately they were about to close and we could not get in. A few days later we passed by this place again and we were determined to go in. We ordered a two meat platter (chicken and pulled...pork) and it was full of flavor. We also ordered a salad and we all liked it. We are a party of three male that are height-weight proportional and we eat sensibly. We could not finish the food and had to take it home. My Manhattan drink was wonderful. Deeply aromatic (later on I found out the aroma came from the three little coffee beans they added in the drink -- great idea!!!!)More

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?
Poogan’s Hospitality, General Manager at Poogan's Smokehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2021

Hi Bhuang69, thank you for the feedback. We take a lot of pride in our food and service, so it is reassuring to know that it was worthy of a five-star review in your eyes! We hope we have the opportunity to serve you again...More

Reviewed 19 November 2021

Had dinner on our last night in Charleston and were so disappointed. The cornbread appetizer was so dry and cold. We ordered pulled pork dinner and sandwich and all the food including sides were cold and tasteless. It was the worst BBQ that we have...ever eaten - struggle to give it a one star.More

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?
Poogan’s Hospitality, General Manager at Poogan's Smokehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2021

We are sorry to hear about your recent dining experience with us. All of our dishes are prepared with nothing but fresh and high quality ingredients, as we want to only serve plates that we are proud of, and would like to further apologize that...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Lodge Alley Inn
530 reviews
.07 km away
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
3 014 reviews
.10 km away
HarbourView Inn
2 689 reviews
.12 km away
Market Pavilion Hotel
1 809 reviews
.15 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Revival
774 reviews
.11 km away
Slightly North of Broad
4 308 reviews
.04 km away
Grill 225
2 425 reviews
.14 km away
Magnolias
7 622 reviews
.02 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Robert Lange Studios
121 reviews
.12 km away
Joe Riley Waterfront Park
5 573 reviews
.17 km away
Philadelphia Alley
69 reviews
.17 km away
U.S. Custom House
13 reviews
.13 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
geojohn21
1 October 2020|
Answer
Response from Scott S | Reviewed this property |
The Smokehouse is very casual.
0
Votes
luckylyn5
2 August 2018|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from melissajv | Reviewed this property |
I believe it was a full bar as we entered the restaurant. Sorry, I don't indulge, so I don't always pay attention to the bar items. However, I'm pretty confident there was a full bar at this location.
1
Vote
Vwaldrop
23 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Dianna K | Reviewed this property |
They have some tables and chairs out front that would be dog friendly.
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Poogan's Smokehouse

Yes, Poogan's Smokehouse offers takeaway services.

Poogan's Smokehouse is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4