We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cafe Kiama & Scoops Ice Creamery

COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Socially distanced dining tables
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Tables disinfected between guests
  • Floors marked for social distancing
Updated 20/09/11 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Cafe Kiama & Scoops Ice Creamery
Updated 20/09/11 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

Ratings and reviews



US$1 - US$10
Australian, Cafe
Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
View all details
features, about
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Traveller rating
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Updating list...
Reviewed 9 June 2021

We went here for coffee and ice creams, the coffee’s where good and they have a good variety of ice cream flavours to choose from.

Date of visit: June 2021
Mel, Owner at Cafe Kiama & Scoops Ice Creamery, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2021

Thank you - we appreciate you taking the time to write this review 🍨☕️

Reviewed 11 February 2021

great place, yummy ice-cream. Always seemed to be a line of people waiting to buy a treat. Fairly reasonable prices for kids ice-creams, which is great as I have 3! Trying to do the right thing re: Covid, however, some tourists were making it difficult...for the owner and not socially distancing when resquested.More

Date of visit: January 2021
Mel, Owner at Cafe Kiama & Scoops Ice Creamery, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2021

Wow - thanks so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review, we really appreciate it! It has been difficult during Covid but thankfully most customers have been wonderful about it. Take care and see you next time!

Reviewed 8 February 2021

After visiting the blowhole we went looking for ice-cream. The first place we came to was Scoops Ice Cream. There was a clear line at the entrance for customers to stand with one place marked. 2 lady customers were standing here so the 6 of...us stood ~2m behind them toward the road curb as no other places seemed to be marked. I noticed a hand sanitizer at the entrance so I politely passed the 2 lady customers to access it. A tiny 0.1ml of sanitizer came out. I tried again but the same amount was dispensed barely enough to cover one finger. I figured it was broken. The ladies seemed put out that I passed them to access the dispenser. As I returned to near the curb the manger came out and asked us to stand on the line markings which we had not seen as they passed in front of the neighboring shop. We happily did so as the ladies piped up and said something about social distancing having a dig at me passing by them. The manager then engaged in some sanctimonious self-righteous talk about mask wearing. Given his broken hand sanitizer I thought this highly hypocritical so I mentioned it was not working. He assured me it was. So I tried again (passing by the ladies who din't seem to mind now) and again got 0.1ml. I said it wasn’t. He tried and got the same amount and arrogantly assured me it was. I work in health care. We are required to regularly do tutorials on hand sanitizing. I can confidently assure you this hand sanitizer was not in the amount required to sanitize any hands. It appeared for cost saving he was skimping on volume not allowing people to properly sanitize their hands. I wasn’t going to argue with him as his arrogance was astounding. As he continued in the self righteous judgement talk with his two ladies our party of 6 quietly left the queue and found another ice-cream place. During these difficult covid times we are all in this together so I am disgusted by people who use it to piously feel self righteous and disgrace others by their perceived superior behaviour. While a shop cannot help the behaviour of the 2 lady customers the sanctimonious attitude by this owner/manager was completely uncalled for and unnecessary particular given it appears he has no clue how to even provide essential hand sanitizing. BTW Kiama Ice-creamery was just a few doors up. Delicious ice-cream, great value servings, very friendly Covid safe staff with ample hand sanitizing dispenses all along the counter! See we can be kind and Covid safe at the same time.More

Date of visit: January 2021
Mel, Owner at Cafe Kiama & Scoops Ice Creamery, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2021

It's very sad that you were not only rude to our HEARING IMPAIRED Covid Marshall in person but that you felt the need to write this review with unfounded claims. Our Covid Marshall was protecting our customers - you did not follow his directions and...More

Reviewed 21 December 2020

Just a local strolling down the street. Believe i speak for the large majority of kiama when I say thank you so much for paying the young boy to stand out the front to keep people from milling around or entering. You weren't as busy...as the other places but you 100% did the right thing in the light of the recent news in Sydney, protecting everyone > Christmas trade greed. Thank you once again. And for the tourists wondering. Yes their icecream is decent, coffees local. Good honest place.More

Date of visit: December 2020
Mel, Owner at Cafe Kiama & Scoops Ice Creamery, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2021

Thanks for taking the time to write this review, whilst we have lost customers by asking them to follow our COVID Safety plan, we are pleased our efforts are generally appreciated and we have played our part in keeping Kiama, our staff and loved ones,...More

Reviewed 11 November 2020

Great spot, friendly staff, kids loved the variety of the ice creams, so did the adults, coffee was also right up there. We will be back.

Date of visit: October 2020
Reviewed 11 September 2020

I have visited scoops since the new owners have taken over and I can confirm there is a completely new vibe and service experience. I’m impressed and will be back again.

Date of visit: August 2020
Cafekiama, Owner at Cafe Kiama & Scoops Ice Creamery, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2020

Thank you so much for giving us a try and for taking the time and going to the effort of writing this new review - we are so appreciative you have made our year :)

Reviewed 13 July 2020 via mobile

Delicious ice cream. Girls serving are friendly and accommodating. Owner or manager barking orders to teens, who were doing their jobs well, infront of a crowded shop doesnt say much for his customer service. Was disappointing. Despite him, ice cream great, servers friendly, accommodating, patient...as we had toddlers in tow. We enjoy our treats.More

Date of visit: July 2020
MrandMrsOrr, Owner at Cafe Kiama & Scoops Ice Creamery, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2020

We are glad you had a great experience with our staff and products. We are sorry to hear the negative portion of this review and have discussed it with the owner who has in fact since discovered that he is partially deaf and had required...More

Reviewed 11 July 2020 via mobile

Great ice cream - generous servings and delicious ice cream 🙌 Very friendly staff and great at cleaning tables after we left

Date of visit: July 2020
MrandMrsOrr, Owner at Cafe Kiama & Scoops Ice Creamery, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2020

Thank you for the lovely review - we do hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 12 May 2020

New owners Melanie & Anthony welcome everyone to Cafe Kiama & Scoops Ice-cream. 36 of the best flavoured Ice-Cream & Sorbet, with a variety of Dairy Free. If coffee is your thing, why not try our barista made "Hyper Hyper" coffee or Hot chocolate. Perhaps...a Meat Pie, Sausage Roll or Hot Dog is more your thing. Located opposite the Old Fire Station which is the home of the coloured Cow right in the main street of Kiama at the pedestrian crossing. Now offering EFPOS with no minimum spend.More

Date of visit: May 2020
Reviewed 23 April 2019

Bad for the waistline - but too many flavours for just a single visit. A must include indulgence when in Kiama

Date of visit: April 2019
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Sebel Harbourside Kiama
1 320 reviews
.23 km away
Kiama Cove Motel
172 reviews
.44 km away
Motel 617
74 reviews
1.06 km away
Mercure Gerringong Resort
952 reviews
7.64 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
@Milkandhoney Cafe
379 reviews
.06 km away
Thai @ Kiama
378 reviews
.21 km away
Centrepoint Pizza Kiama
209 reviews
.18 km away
Amaki Cottage Cafe
173 reviews
.21 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Kiama Harbour
258 reviews
.30 km away
Kiama Blowhole
1 469 reviews
.78 km away
Kiama Visitor Information Centre
114 reviews
.63 km away
Kiama Farmers' Market
34 reviews
.59 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
9 January 2019|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from anthonyv472 | Reviewed this property |
Sure does
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Cafe Kiama & Scoops Ice Creamery

Yes, Cafe Kiama & Scoops Ice Creamery offers takeaway services.

Yes, Cafe Kiama & Scoops Ice Creamery is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Cafe Kiama & Scoops Ice Creamery is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 3.5
  • Service: 3.5
  • Value: 4