We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

There aren't enough food, service, value or atmosphere ratings for By The Sea Takeaway, Australia yet. Be one of the first to write a review!

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$4 - US$18
CUISINES
Seafood, Fast food, Australian
Reviews (12)
Filter reviews
12 results
Traveller rating
4
1
2
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
4
1
2
4
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 13 June 2021 via mobile

Undercooked fish cocktails and underperforming service. I asked the gentleman cooking if the batter was meant to be doughy. He was very disinterested and “what do you want?” I repeated my question and that’s when he snatched the fish from me, turned his back on...me while telling me that he’ll cook them more. “Hold on,” I said, “I’m talking to you.” “There are a lot of customers,” he responded. “I wanted to let you know that the fish isn’t even hot,” That knew information should have made it obvious that the items were undercooked. I didn’t see any point in stating the obvious; “Wasn’t I also a customer?” Any way, even cooked further, the fish cocktail’s batter was too thick and all in all not particularly appetising. Probably way to much attitude.More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 13 April 2021

Went to kiama for the weekend and went here twice all the meals we had were great and staff was friendly best place to eat when in kiama

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 29 December 2020

Caught the train down to Kiama from Wollongong for lunch and read a book. Grabbed the Portuguese burger and can of drink for $10. Tasted Fine.

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?3  
Reviewed 6 November 2020 via mobile

I have never written a review in my life but I felt that it was necessary I write one after eating here tonight. I was served by friendly staff and given excellent and prompt service (especially considering how busy they were) The food .... simply...outstanding and delicious !! .... and I am very fussy. Congratulations to the lovely team at By the Sea!! You should be very proud. Sincerely, a very happy customer.More

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 28 May 2020

We stopped here for some coffees and Hot Chocolates. Thecwhere very good and the staff friendly to deal with.

Date of visit: May 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 25 January 2020 via mobile

Very ordinary - deep fried food was very oily and had a super thick batter. Chips were under cooked. Such a shame as the service was good, the food lets the place down. I wouldn’t dine here again.

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 24 January 2020 via mobile

Visited with the family for a quick lunch, ordered a mixture of seafood, bacon and egg roll and a schnitzel burger. Seafood was overly oily and heavy with batter chips under cooked however, bacon and egg roll was ok

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 2 January 2020

Went to this takeaway and had an outstanding experience so I decided to do my first review The place is very clean and very busy and they handle themselves very well even though they are always extremely busy I did feel sorry for them as...for they have to deal with some tools that expect too much although they are treated like kings As for the lady that reviewed about the hygiene I was there when you were doing your outrageous demands and your review is just a bitter review because you did not get your food fast enough you should be ashamed of yourself it’s people like you that make bitter reviews only to try and cause damageMore

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 28 December 2019

We ordered our food, sat and waited in the booths. While waiting we witnessed the young girl constantly wiping her fingers across the bench collecting the salt and then licking her fingers. She would then go and handle food without washing her hands. Another lady...who was also working had a pale blue dish behind the counter and would walk past and pick something up and eat it. (Each time she put the food into her mouth the tips of her fingers were covered with her lips) another older lady was also behind the counter, I witnessed her put rubbish into the bin, push it down with her hands and then straight away pick up the burger buns and continue to make burgers. I only saw one lady turn the tap on once wet her hands then wipe them on her clothes. On our way out I decided to have a little chat with the owner and advised him about the standards 3.2.2, his reply to my face was “I will have a meeting with the staff tonight”. As we walked out I heard him mutter something that wasn’t too nice. Obviously he doesn’t think hygiene is important and cross contaminating food doesn’t bother him. Sad really as the food looked fabulous—— location was also good. What do you value more??? If someone has diarrhoea goes to the toilet, doesn’t wash their hands and handles your food, you may too end up with the runs. Food Authority would have a field day in there.More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 December 2019 via mobile

Fast, friendly and efficient service. Had some breaky there. Wasn't overrun and full of yuppy locals and tourists wanting to be seen at other expensive cafes in town.

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Sebel Harbourside Kiama
1 320 reviews
.25 km away
Kiama Cove Motel
172 reviews
.46 km away
Motel 617
74 reviews
1.04 km away
Mercure Gerringong Resort
952 reviews
7.62 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
@Milkandhoney Cafe
379 reviews
.03 km away
Thai @ Kiama
378 reviews
.18 km away
Centrepoint Pizza Kiama
209 reviews
.14 km away
Amaki Cottage Cafe
173 reviews
.20 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Kiama Harbour
258 reviews
.26 km away
Kiama Blowhole
1 469 reviews
.83 km away
Kiama Visitor Information Centre
114 reviews
.68 km away
Kiama Farmers' Market
34 reviews
.59 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from By The Sea Takeaway staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing