We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
2
Thu, 09/23
20:00

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Food and ambience

Special Occasion Dining, View, Groups, Bar Scene, Business meetings
About
The Dock on Wallenpaupack features a combination of water-inspired foods and culinary twists on vintage classic dishes that would have been prominent when Baby Boomers were kids - comfort foods such as soups, snacks, salads, sandwiches, and light entrees.
PRICE RANGE
US$8 - US$40
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
CUISINES
American
FEATURES
Gift Cards Available, Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Waterfront
Reviews (291)
Filter reviews
291 results
Traveller rating
107
83
53
23
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
107
83
53
23
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chicken quesadilla lobster chowder french fries pizza view of the lake lake wallenpaupack birches resort outside seating great place to eat silver deck cubes lakeside spinach draft cocoon
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had to wait half an hour for our table even with a reservation. Server got drink order wrong. Pretzel board appetizer not impressive. Entrees were ok. Key lime tart seemed like a dessert you could buy in bulk from a warehouse store. Filthy ladies room....Very disappointing experience.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
SettlersHospitality, Marketing at The Dock on Wallenpaupack, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Jocelyn, We’re sorry to hear you were disappointed in your meal at The Dock on Wallenpaupack. Staffing during the busy summer season continues to be a challenge but we apologize if it affected your experience. Guest satisfaction is always a top priority and we...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We spent a long weekend at Silver Birches Resort. We decided to end our stay with a family dinner at The Dock. I made reservations well in advance for our dinner. Upon arrival, we were informed by the two extremely rude host/hostess that if we...wanted a lake view we would have to wait 40-45 minutes or have immediate seating in the bar area. The name of the restaurant is The Dock of course we wanted a lake view but it was already late in the evening and we have two children with us. Waiting was not an option. I asked the host/hostess why reservations are required if seating with a lake view couldn't be accommodated. They gave a snarky comment. These two shouldn't be working in customer service. So I ate a mediocre meal overlooking a busy road and parking lot. The only positive was that waiter. He was very friendly and respectful.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
SettlersHospitality, Marketing at The Dock on Wallenpaupack, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Jenn, We’re sorry to hear you were disappointed in your experience at The Dock. Seating on the outdoor deck is limited therefore we’re not able to guarantee specific dining locations, especially during the busy summer season. We apologize that it affected your experience and...More

Reviewed 7 August 2021 via mobile

Dined with another couple. Requested in my reservation (with a follow up phone call) to eat “outside” on deck. Upon arrival we’re told nothing available. We said we’d wait for this and was told again nothing available. As we showed our displeasure, suddenly a table...was found. As we were brought to our table, I noticed that there were 4 empty tables. What? These tables remained empty for the best part of an hour and when we had finished our dinner, one table was still unoccupied. Again, WHAT? Waitress was lovely, meal was fine, nothing exceptional. My drink was messed up, was given vodka & soda, instead of my ordered vodka & tonic. Drink was exchanged easily enough. The view was nice if you walked outside of the screened-in deck in the odd shaped dining area.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
SettlersHospitality, Marketing at The Dock on Wallenpaupack, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2021

Dear rncarol13, Thank you for sharing a review. Seating on The Deck is limited; therefore, we are unable to accommodate reservations for specific locations. Although there may be unoccupied tables on The Deck, there may not be sufficient staff at that time to provide service...More

Reviewed 5 August 2021 via mobile

We have been to Docks 4x over the years and we’ve always had a nice time. So this time we booked reservations for 12 for my parents 70th birthday- they told us we could have the conference room. So it would be private- we few...days later we decided to see if we could eat outside. We called back and they said “Sure no problem!”. When we arrived at the restaurant the hostess said “ we have you set up inside.” We then told her how we requested outside or a private room. She was so rude and just said “It’s too much for us to put you outside so we have you inside. That’s your only option.” She wasn’t courteous or anything! By the way— there was plenty of room outside for us- But with no other option we sat inside. Then we walked by the private conference room and it was empty. The whole time we dined- there were still all Empty tables outside and no one used the conference room. We had a party of 12 and 3 of us worked in the service business or over 10 years- so we know how your supposed to treat customers. The girl was either a hostess or manager but - she has long blonde hair and glasses and is very rude. They also charged my credit card for $50 over what it was supposed to be. The only good thing was that our waitress was very sweet. In the mornings we had breakfast too/ it’s a shame the breakfast is the same everyday - a suggestion would be to switch it up every couple days. Food wasn’t as good as before either.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
SettlersHospitality, Marketing at The Dock on Wallenpaupack, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Morgan, We’re sorry to hear you were disappointed in your meal at The Dock. We’re honored that you chose to celebrate your parents’ birthday with us and regret that the experience did not match your expectations. Staffing is an ongoing issue, especially during the...More

Reviewed 4 August 2021

The location is fabulous. The atmosphere is great. The place is very clean. However its very pricey. We went in for a drink I had a glass of wine and my husband had a martini $30 There was an ounce and a half of vodka...in the glass, I questioned it and the bar tender said “Its small because you asked for no vermouth!” $15 for an ounce and a half … needless to say we won’t be going back.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
SettlersHospitality, Marketing at The Dock on Wallenpaupack, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2021

Dear Lkmetyk, We’re thrilled you enjoyed the lakeside location and atmosphere of The Dock at Wallenpaupack. We’re sorry to hear you were unhappy with the prices. Unfortunately, as market prices rise we do sometimes need to increase our prices, but all are noted on the...More

Reviewed 3 August 2021

My husband and I have enjoyed dining at the various restaurants by Lake Wallenpaupack for years. We have a vacation home here and love boating on the lake. On Monday we decided to have lunch at the Dock and were surprisingly disappointed. We shared lobster...bisque as an appetizer and it was wonderful. By far the best part of the lunch. My husband ordered the fish basket entree and I ordered the coconut shrimp entree. My husband was unhappy with the size of the fish and the amount of french fries given in the entree portion. I thought the coconut shrimp was very tasty along with dipping sauce. I am fairly sure the entree was supposed to come with coleslaw and french fries and mine only came with coleslaw. Not sure what happened there. The biggest disappointment came with the price of the wine when the bill arrived. Wine enthusiasts beware! When we arrived, the bartender took our drink requests. I ordered the house Cabernet. I was offered the option of six or eight ounces. I chose the eight ounce glass. It was so expensive! I've paid less for an eight ounce glass of wine in downtown Jersey City. My husband and I were shocked. I suggest asking the price of the wine before ordering. I am especially sad because we've enjoyed other dining experiences at the Dock. I don't expect to return to dine anytime soon, perhaps we will try it again next summer.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
SettlersHospitality, Marketing at The Dock on Wallenpaupack, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2021

Dear TRHW10, We’re sorry to hear you were disappointed in your meal at The Dock on Wallenpaupack. We apologize for not including fries with your entrée. The server can always bring what’s needed if notified at the time. Unfortunately, as market prices rise, we do...More

Reviewed 30 July 2021

On Sunday, 25 July we ordered the Pan Seared Salmon, Lobster Roll, Fish Fry Sandwich and Lobster Bisque. All were fine. Pickup was a bit confusing in that instead of picking up the food in the restaurant, one must go to the small white building...next to the parking lot for carry out.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
SettlersHospitality, Marketing at The Dock on Wallenpaupack, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2021

DearJohnAnn, Thank you for sharing a review. We're glad you enjoyed your meal from The Dock on Wallenpaupack. Dock on the Fly is our newly launched take-out service. The aim is to make the process quicker and easier for customers since there is no need...More

Reviewed 22 July 2021 via mobile

My husband and I went for dinner on a Friday night. We had made a reservation on open table but they didn’t see it so we sat at the bar. The three people behind the bar were very crowded and the one girl was super...cranky about it. They were out of the sea bass special but substituted barracuda and it was very good.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?1  
SettlersHospitality, Marketing at The Dock on Wallenpaupack, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2021

Dear Jennifer, We apologize for the confusion with your reservation and regret any inconvenience it caused. Your feedback is important to us and we’ll be sure to relay your comments to our staff. We’re glad you enjoyed your meal. Please come again. We look forward...More

Reviewed 19 July 2021

My wife and I were staying at the “Ledges” hotel in Hawley at the north point of the lake. As our room was not yet ready, we drove back to the dock (10 minutes away) went inside and sat at the bar. We had a...few beers and ordered the calamari and crab dip which were both great. Really nice bartender and several rude customers. Overall, a great experience. We are grabbing some friends and returning for the day for dinner. By the way, I saw some reviews and am astounded by the remarks about “no dock”? I was standing on the damn thing!More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
SettlersHospitality, Marketing at The Dock on Wallenpaupack, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2021

Dear Navy40, We're thrilled you enjoyed your meal at The Dock at Wallenpaupack. Thank you for your kind compliments. We'll be sure to share them with our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Reviewed 17 July 2021

I'm rating a 2 instead of a 1 star because the outside dining, although a short distance from the lake, had a view and a pleasant atmosphere. The food was bad. Calamari was very dry. Margarita pizza had no flavor to speak of. Black bean...burger was so dry it was inedible. The french fries, however, were good. Normally I would give a resturant a second chance but for the money we paid.....that was our last trip to The Dock.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
SettlersHospitality, Marketing at The Dock on Wallenpaupack, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2021

Dear Cindy, We’re sorry you were disappointed in your meal at The Dock on Wallenpaupack. Your feedback is important to us and we’ll be sure to relay your comments to our staff. Please know your experience is not typical and we regret that we did...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Silver Birches Resort
230 reviews
.07 km away
East Shore Lodging
114 reviews
1.64 km away
Greshams Lake View Motel
73 reviews
1.82 km away
Ledges Hotel
471 reviews
4.53 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Fairview Cafe
156 reviews
2.86 km away
507 Country Store
42 reviews
1.35 km away
Capri Restaurant
11 reviews
4.20 km away
The Boat House Restaurant
429 reviews
.82 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Antler Ridge Winery
32 reviews
2.85 km away
Hawley Antique Exchange
20 reviews
4.78 km away
PineCrest Marina
8 reviews
8.03 km away
The Craft Room
8 reviews
7.79 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
G1075LWharrys
23 July 2019|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from SettlersHospitality | Property representative |
Yes as the other reviewer noted, we have handicap spots out front and a ramp into the main dining room!
0
Votes
John M
2 May 2018|
Answer
Response from Emmi L | Reviewed this property |
Yes, it changed about 2 years ago. Same owners new venue.
0
Votes
John M
2 May 2018|
Answer
Response from SettlersHospitality | Property representative |
Yes, we were formally Ehrhardt's. The property was bought in 2015.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Dock on Wallenpaupack

Yes, The Dock on Wallenpaupack offers takeaway services.

The Dock on Wallenpaupack is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 3.5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3.5