We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Sheringham Trawler

50 High Street, Sheringham NR26 8DT, England
+44 1263 821148
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent65%
  • Very good22%
  • Average5%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“fish and chips” (174 reviews)
“tartare” (7 reviews)
“onion rings” (7 reviews)
Closed Now
Seafood, British, Fast food, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
50 High Street, Sheringham NR26 8DT, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (654)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 653 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

I have never found an excellent restaurant in Sheringham. I had served the manager at Mc Donalds and agreed to visit. My review is of two visits. My heart sank when I arrived. Food cooked in beef dripping, I like mine in vegetable oil. So...More

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank lovellweb
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Really nice food, onion rings great, lad serving generally interested in asking us if we enjoyed our meal- he asked us individually if we had enjoyed our meals when collecting the empty plates.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank leong928
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have often passed the Sheringham Trawler Fish Restaurant , But this was the first visit. We were welcomed and shown to our table by a very pleasant young lady, who took our order, which was cooked to order. So when it arrived it was...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Brenda C
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had a meal here today on a cold wet November day COD chips peas and a cuppa really good price and service top notch. Chips to die for. Nice witch and fresh fish batter lovely and crispy. Nice clean restaurant. I regularly use this place...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Sherpa35726255591
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

I wasnt very impressed with this place very poor service and cold food altho its very clean and very good toilets it would be a good place if looked after properley and better staffMore

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank Richard W
D5115MXandrewm, Owner at The Sheringham Trawler, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Had a look at your reports of quite a few places to eat and drink in sheringham, a lot of the 1 stars are very similar to our report you have written about us, maybe you don’t like sheringham, be interesting if you elaborated more...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

A last minute change of plans with my Girl Guide unit led me to need some chips last night. Spoke with a friend who highly recommended the Trawler. Checked Google which stated they would be open until 8 pm. Perfect for us as our meeting...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Nell1988
D5115MXandrewm, Owner at The Sheringham Trawler, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

... It was 7.50 on Wednesday evening, you were politely told what we had left and your reply startled us all to say the very least, we have read all of your report, found it very entertaining indeed, we all wish there was a customer...More

Reviewed 6 November 2018

The restaurant may not look the most exciting from the outside but the food was fresh and delicious. The only thing I would improve is the toilets - they were very snug!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Leah M
Reviewed 29 October 2018 via mobile

Clean and spacious restaurant, and very good fish and chips, the curry sauce is to die for!! Nice big mugs of tea too, highly recommend a visit.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank U7831AOkarens
Reviewed 27 October 2018 via mobile

The Sheringham Trawler came highly recommended on Tripadvisor & our visit didn’t disappoint. The service is divided into fine in or take away. We chose take away & the service was friendly & efficient. The fish was cooked to order, but we didn’t wait long...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank sm1143
Reviewed 26 October 2018

Very quick with the orders, just have to make sure you get the right fish as perhaps it can be too quick getting orders out. The fish is very good though.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank kittychris94
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
The Dales Country House Hotel
611 reviews
2.22 km away
The Links Country Park Hotel & Golf Club
557 reviews
2.60 km away
Maltings Hotel
63 reviews
4.89 km away
Sandcliff Guest House
448 reviews
5.62 km away
Nearby Restaurants
158 reviews
.09 km away
The Sitting Room
256 reviews
.07 km away
Marmalade's Bistro
506 reviews
.03 km away
Camellia Cottage
166 reviews
.02 km away
Nearby Attractions
North Norfolk Railway
1 561 reviews
.27 km away
Sheringham Park
691 reviews
.58 km away
Sheringham Museum at the Mo
206 reviews
.21 km away
Sheringham Beach
551 reviews
.35 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Desmond T
19 June 2016|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from Mark K | Reviewed this property |
Although not licensed, they are happy let you bring your own and will even provide you with glasses, the lovely people ! There is a Sainsburys and a Tesco near by (other suppliers are available)
David B
29 June 2015|
Response from tyrtns | Reviewed this property |
I am sorry i did not use public transport in the area
29 May 2015|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from mindymoo44 | Reviewed this property |
We had our dog with us and we didn't think they would, so we had a takeaway.
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
12:00 - 16:00
12:00 - 19:00
12:00 - 19:00
12:00 - 19:00
12:00 - 19:00
12:00 - 20:00
12:00 - 20:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 50 High Street, Sheringham NR26 8DT, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Norfolk  >  Sheringham
  • Phone Number: +44 1263 821148
  • E-mail
If we are busy why not book a table and order you meal so that is ready for you to enjoy when you return,
We normally have tables available every 20/30mins approx...So there is time for you to take a stroll to the sea front or a quick look at the shops.....
Please ask a member of staff for approx waiting times on the day .....

We can also cook gluten free and wheat free and maybe able to cater for special diets ......
Please ask a member of staff for details
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing