We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Bar, Seafood
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (299)
Filter reviews
239 results
Traveller rating
105
90
32
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
105
90
32
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews prawns calamari rings chicken seafood burger fries laid back during our stay kasbah beach vibe rob margaritas sun barman matapa
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 4 days ago

The perfect beach holiday restaurant. Great service , excellent prawn curry, magnificent views, cold beer, hot sun and warm sand! Spent hours watching kite surfers having fun out at sea. Don’t miss this when you go to Vilanculos!

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
manjelito, Owner at Casbah, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thanks so much for your review.

Reviewed 4 days ago

Had a stupendous seafood meal - crayfish, prawns & calamari. Superbly prepared, plenty to eat. A wonderful evening with friendly host Rob. Great to meet you at last.

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
manjelito, Owner at Casbah, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thanks for the review. Greatly appreciated.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great restaurant straight on the beach. The food was outstanding, especially the crayfish. Service was very attentive. Great relaxing place.

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
manjelito, Owner at Casbah, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thanks for your review.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Rob is an angel running this wonderful property on the beach for past 21 years. I had some good burgers and local food. Prawn Matapa was just so delicious. They also accept Bitcoin. Spent 2 days just eating here. Wonderful view.

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
manjelito, Owner at Casbah, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you!!!

Reviewed 11 April 2022

I was there with my family 4 adults and 2 kids, the BARMAN took our orders the moment we sat down at precisely 5.15 pm after 45 minutes only did my drink come and it wasn't even what I requested in the first place. I...asked for the drink that came in the coconut shell which he said he could do...it came in a glass. the excuse is it's not coconut season. If that wasn't bad enough after waiting for 1hr30 for the food I ask the BARMAN where my food was and he says "did you order ?" this man forgot to place my order and totally ignored the fact we were there? he didn't even apologize, he said to give the kitchen another 45 minutes to get our food but in the meantime, he would get us the plats for the kids who were growing extremely restless. The plates never came btw. only to take it up with the manager whose excuse was "we didn't confirm the order" as if that made any sense to anyone. The barman must have forgotten our order a second time cause the manager said to give them 45 MORE minutes and all we ordered was chips and the seafood platter, which when the food eventually came at 8 pm tasted bland. I felt belittled considering we were the only Black people in that restaurant. We watched many people get served, finish their food and walk away. The manager even quarrelled with us before we could even get a sorry out of him, and am convinced the barman was drunk if not even both of them.i can't believe this place ranks so high.More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
manjelito, Owner at Casbah, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2022

I was shocked to read your report on the bad service you received at the Casbah.I am the owner and for medical reasons I could not be there over the busy Easter period. Suffice to say that if had been there this sort of thing...More

Reviewed 9 January 2022 via mobile

Did not have a good experience. Arrived at the restaurant around 2.30pm and the wait already received us with an attitude but because it was a reference from a friend that said the food was amazing we decided to stay. We were 4 adults and...1 kid. They said that the starters would take 30min but it ended up coming after an hour. The main dishes which were changed more than once because they were always coming back to the table to say that it was finished and we needed to pick something else. So we ended up all choosing prawns which they said it would take only 10min and for the kid just just chicken and fries.5.30pm and the food did not come yet we had to go to the counter to say that we no longer want any food, they only managed to give us the chicken for the kid we paid the bill and we left. Very disappointed. Going back home to see if we can manage to cook somethingMore

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?
robert p, Owner at Casbah, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2022

I humbly apologise- I arrived just after you walked out.. My son- who is not qualified took your initial order and I understand you were joined by some friends later on who also ordered prawns. 7 plates in all. Unfortunately the first order never reached...More

Reviewed 9 January 2022 via mobile

They took 5 min to come to our table. We order food at 2pm and get that on the table at 3.50pm. The food was normal .. nothing special .. and came cold ..most of the food was cold. The waiters didn't show up on...our table to ask if everything was ok or if we want more drinks .. Terrible service..More

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?1  
robert p, Owner at Casbah, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2022

Sorry to hear about your no experience. I know we can't be making excuses as a professional establishments but sometimes the waiters are working on auto pilot towards the end of a very busy season. Please accept my apologies.

Reviewed 9 January 2022 via mobile

We went to Casbah for dinner during our stay in Vilankulo. Only to get the drinks we had ordered it took 40 minutes and on top of it we were told - after 40 minutes.there was no possibility to prepare Margaritas...When they came the Mojito...tasted mostly of oregano and the capirinha as if they had left out the sugar. We waited all in all for over an hour for the food which at least was served at the same time. However, the seafood pasta was very oily, the spareribs did not taste like spareribs and the cannelloni were very soft.More

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?1  
robert p, Owner at Casbah, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2022

SORRY!!!. End of busy season lethargy amongst the staff. Our pork ribs are done the Balinese way and are usually delicious by all accounts.

Reviewed 8 January 2022

i will start by writing this my family and i are white, and they treated us with discrimination. This is a horrible place dont listen to the tourists, horrible attendence, horrible food, we stayed hours waiting for a meal, for the meal to be rotten,...my kids were starving and when i complained the servant shrug his shoulder and said oh well, so first impression bad, second impression horrible, if you want to enjoy a wonderful afternoon with your family dont come here, instead go to baia mar, you will enjoy african cusine at its best!More

Helpful?
Vacation41962104696, Owner at Casbah, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2022

Hi Polomar- Sorry to learn that you had a disapointing experience at the Casbah. I am addressing this with the 'servants'. Regards Rob.

Reviewed 22 September 2021

After 4 years absence it was great to finally come back to the warm welcome and hospitality. Rob and his team hit it out the park! The service and food were amazing! The crab curry and prawns were the best we’ve ever had! Certainly THE...spot in Vilanculos for sun downers and food! Can’t wait to come back! Shaun & InksMore

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
robert p, Owner at Casbah, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2021

Thanks guys. Always welcome.

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Casa Cabana Beach
158 reviews
.07 km away
Bahia Mar Boutique Hotel
396 reviews
.52 km away
Hotel Dona Ana
94 reviews
1.20 km away
Pescador
36 reviews
1.63 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Restaurant @ Casa Rex
260 reviews
.53 km away
Samara Restaurant
113 reviews
.09 km away
Kilimanjaro Cafe
76 reviews
1.05 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Kitesurfing Centre Mozambique
68 reviews
.04 km away
Loka Adventure
22 reviews
.34 km away
Big Blue
11 reviews
.51 km away
Vilanculos Canoe Safaris
77 reviews
.82 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Holidayandfun
9 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from V5630GZrobertp | Property representative |
Yes we do.
0
Votes
guestgA5470IH
28 September 2016|
Answer
Response from AlwaysSafari | Reviewed this property |
I'd say about 150-200 rand
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Casbah

Yes, Casbah offers takeaway services.

Casbah is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5