We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice2023
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
R 153 - R 575
CUISINES
Seafood, Mediterranean, Grill
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (684)
Filter reviews
429 results
Traveller rating
271
99
33
12
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
271
99
33
12
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lamb shank seafood prawns line fish bread fries romantic dinner tasty food a great evening moose adam riaan pinotage hosts
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 4 days ago

A really cosy restaurant which felt very homely. The service was fast and friendly and the food lovely, particularly the steak. The menu was varied and the wine list excellent. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 week ago

The waitress was absolutely fantastic. The food was amazing, the atmosphere was peaceful. The garden was stunning and all of the staff was professional and welcoming.

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 February 2024 via mobile

We had a fabulous dinner at Blue Goose last night. Full marks for food, ambience, the pretty garden lights and thank you to Yvonne who looked after us. A beautiful evening at this Gansbaai gem. 👌🏼

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 January 2024 via mobile

My wife and I ate here recently and have to say that after it was recommended to us, we were disappointed! The food was a bit bland but on the bright side the service from Andrea was really good.

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 January 2024 via mobile

Our expectations weren’t met, sadly! This was basic food tarted up. Rock prawns as a starter were fried in batter, coated in honey with a smattering of sesame seeds….hardly imaginative! Hub and I went onto a main of fish curry and seafood potjie….the seafood was...identical. One dish was smothered with a curry sauce and the other dish was a cream & white wine wine sauce. Both dishes the same but different flavours! Not difficult for the Chef. However, the staff and the garden area are lovely. Don’t bother with this place….they’re not trying hard enough!!More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 January 2024 via mobile

The service was very good. Sadly the food did not live up to the ratings. My husband had prawns which were small , stuck in their shells and not fresh tasting. Very disappointing. I had the calamari and hake both of which were average. The...calamari was very thick goujons covered in a bread crumb coating. They were cooked well but too big. Nothing delicate about them. The fish was coated in bread crumbs but soaked in a greasy butter and did not have a fresh taste. The roast potatoes were nice and crispy. We shared a Dom Pedro which was thick with far too much chocolate…More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 January 2024 via mobile

First we had the feeling, that our kids are not really welcome in that place, but that faded away after some minutes seeing the dogs of the owner running around, so kids shouldn‘t be a problem as well of course. The restaurant tries to be...a fine dining experience and the food is really good, for that we were happy with our dinner there.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 January 2024 via mobile

My wife and I visited this restaurant on a recommendation, and boy were we delighted with it. Absolutely superb service by Andrea who was outstanding, the food and ambience were superb and the decor was wonderful. A beautiful garden to sit outside for a night...cap, we can’t recommend this place highly enough. The vegetarian selection was superb as well, top restaurant deserves top review.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 December 2023

I sent the following mail to the manager of Blue Goose last Saturday 25th November. For the sake of future visitors I would like to share our experience. Sadly I have had absolutely no response, not even an apology!! "I am writing with regard to...a reservation that was made with yourselves via WhatsApp on 8th November as we were requested to do when attempting to phone through a booking for Wednesday 22nd November. I used my friend's phone, Mrs Paddy Fordyce, to make the reservation - see attached copy of messages. Not only did we get confirmation via the same channels we were assured all was well. I was with three elderly friends, all from Cape Town and staying in Pearly Beach. It was a special occasion and a long drive at night but we had heard so much about the restaurant I was happy to drive us the distance and was hopefully looking forward to a table at the window due to us booking so early. The reviews I had read before booking were good and so we didn't hesitate in our choice. However I am sure you can imagine our disappointment and embarrassment when on arrival we were bluntly told by the 'hostess' on duty that there in fact was no booking, this despite the fact that we had proof on the phone of the booking and confirmation! When I commented that this situation was really not satisfactory all we got from her was ' it is not my fault, it's management'! There was absolutely no apology or regret for what had transpired and we in fact never even saw her again during the evening so from her part there was no enquiry as to whether we were comfortable or happy or the likes! We were then told we could use a 'shared table' to which I said that is definitely not acceptable. However we were shown to the long wooden table at the back of the restaurant where some cutlery and wine glasses had hastily be laid - no table cloth, no view!! Thankfully the evening was saved, in part, as our waitress Almari was very attentive, friendly and pleasant for the rest of our evening; we did enjoy our meals too which were very tasty but sadly we left with a bitter taste in our mouths due to the disservice we had been shown earlier. I look forward to your comments on the matter."More

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 October 2023

This was probably the best evening meal I had during two weeks in S Africa. The service was outstanding, as was the food and the ambience. Highly recommended but book well in advance !

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 October 2023 via mobile

Recommended by our hotel, this local restaurant did not disappoint. It was cosy with excellent ambiance and friendly service. Hearty food.

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 August 2023 via mobile

Nice restaurant Interesting menu Average prices Starters very good Maincourses we where not impressed Nice fishcurry( very spicy) sole was not sufficient Overbaked Fishpotje nice but also to many spices could not taste fish anymore Positive Staff Negative Cats are walking through the restaurant and...sit on chairsMore

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 August 2023

A little gem in Gansbaai. We went twice during our stay in the area. The food was exceptional on both occasions as was the service. Thank you to our waitress Andrea. Definitely highly recommend.

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 May 2023

Food was excellent especially the Butter Chicken, service was brilliant and atmosphere fabulous. Would recommend to anyone, if we were not going home we would definitely go again.

Date of visit: May 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 April 2023 via mobile

Food substandard, staff/manager were adversarial and rude when concerns about the meal were raised with them. Definitely do not recommend. Unfortunately ruined our evening in Gansbaai.More

Date of visit: April 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Riaan Franken, Owner at Blue Goose, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2023

Just because you didn’t like the way we cook our Butter Chicken. There is no recipe that can satisfy everyone. I have ordered many meals in restaurants, where I didn’t like the recipe, but is was the chefs prerogative how he cooks a dish. I...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Baleens
768 reviews
19.13 km away
The Thatch House Boutique Hotel
183 reviews
19.46 km away
Whale Coast Ocean Villa
70 reviews
19.63 km away
Birkenhead House
540 reviews
19.98 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Rosemary's Country Kitchen & Deli
881 reviews
.34 km away
The Fish Lady
60 reviews
.42 km away
Gansbaai Coffee
11 reviews
.32 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Gansbaai Tourism
9 reviews
1.09 km away
Beachcomber Guide
155 reviews
.33 km away
Shark Cage Diving South Africa
104 reviews
.36 km away
White Shark Projects
1 138 reviews
.39 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Tomness85
10 August 2017|
Answer
Response from Chutzpah78 | Property representative |
Hi. Thank you for your enquiry. Unfortunately we are only open for xmas lunch not dinner.
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

Blue Goose, Gansbaai - Restaurant Reviews, Phone Number & Photos - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Blue Goose

Yes, Blue Goose is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Blue Goose is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 4.5