We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Coachman Restaurant

89 Naledi Drive, Dullstroom 1110, South Africa
+27 13 254 0019
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent45%
  • Very good28%
  • Average18%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (20 reviews)
“trout” (12 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Pizza, Grill, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
PRICE
RR - RRR
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
89 Naledi Drive, Dullstroom 1110, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (232)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 219 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2018 via mobile

Another jewel of a restaurant where you can relax indoors or outdoors. Food of good quality and service tops.

Thank GuidoB1631
Joyce O, Owner at The Coachman Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Thank you so much for your review - cannot wait for your return!

Reviewed 19 August 2018 via mobile

We had dinner at the Coachmen for my wife's birthday. We made a reservation that morning to be sure we are guaranteed a table that evening. Upon arriving I didnt get a good vibe. But that's just me being a but difficult. After ordering our...More

Thank Janus K
Joyce O, Owner at The Coachman Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Dear Janus, Such a pity you did not get a good vibe on arrival, but then you admitted to being a but difficult. We are accustomed with the odd difficult customer so we accept your feedback in a positive light. Thank you so much for...More

Reviewed 29 July 2018 via mobile

Had lunch there on a Sunday with a friend. It was warm and welcoming and the food was excellent. Their signature trout was delicious and so were the accompaniments. My friend had the calamari that looked less inviting, but tasted quite good. I also saw...More

Thank hannetjiee
Joyce O, Owner at The Coachman Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

We truly appreciate review - thank you! Visit soon again.

Reviewed 18 July 2018

This restaurant came highly recommended by friends, We were a little disappointed in the ambiance of the restaurant, just felt sad, there is no love put into this business. Food was average. Service was about the only great thing about this restaurant. from the service...More

Thank Rogan S
Joyce O, Owner at The Coachman Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Our heart and soul is in our business - you are truly not correct in stating that we are not putting love into our establishment, what a shame that you nestled this perception.... However, thanks or the compliment on our service and host. Blessings!

Reviewed 12 July 2018 via mobile

Great service! Staff is a real asset to this restaurant. Good wine selection for lunch vibe, attentive waiters... Foods tasty, but considering the location, expected more attention to detail...delicious trout. Nice decor, good restrooms

Thank Sanz17
Joyce O, Owner at The Coachman Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Thank you for your review - much appreciated! Come visit soon.

Reviewed 10 July 2018

The food was good, we had fish and calamari and one of the girls had a steak and everyone finished their food. The restaurant would have been far more cosy if they had a few heaters as we sat inside in our jackets and we...More

Thank Lynda C
Joyce O, Owner at The Coachman Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Thanks Lynda! Yes Dullstroom is chilly full stop. Just happy you were close to the fire! Come visit soon.

Reviewed 9 July 2018

Dullstroom hosted the Winter Festival on the weekend and besides the concert at the dam restaurants hosted various artists to entertain the crowds. Coachman restaurant hosted P.J. Powers, a rock and roll star that is remembered by most South Africans. Meal cost R720 including tip,...More

Thank Margi B
Joyce O, Owner at The Coachman Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Thank you for your review Margi!

Reviewed 9 July 2018 via mobile

Food waS great! service could be better but you guys were under a lot of pressure all and all an excellent night and vibe never to be forgotten!!!! thanks for the great show you guys!!! Thanks PJ!!!!!!!!

Thank usernamenottaken1967
Joyce O, Owner at The Coachman Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Thanks so much and especially your understanding that whilst a rock star performs the service could be a bit slow... We appreciate your positive review and please visit us soon again!

Reviewed 6 July 2018 via mobile

Very cozy and relaxing. Very moderately priced food. Chicken mayo sandwich was amazing: R45. Enjoyed it a lot.

Thank Jonathan S
Joyce O, Owner at The Coachman Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Wow - thank you Jonathan!

Reviewed 30 June 2018

Food was disappointing. Service was okay but nothing spectacular. Cozy spot for a winter night. We tried 3 different dishes to share the experience. Oxtail which was highly recommended disappointed. T-bone steak was also not very good piece of meat. Fish was Devine.

Thank Phelisa N
Joyce O, Owner at The Coachman Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

So happy to hear the Fish was divine... Apologies for the other disappointments? Maybe another visit for us to improve on our product /service delivery?

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 2 hotels
Critchley Hackle Lodge
243 reviews
.22 km away
Walkersons Hotel & Spa
622 reviews
9.61 km away
Fortis Hotel Malaga
117 reviews
39.49 km away
Falcon Glen
6 reviews
41.17 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Art of Food
628 reviews
.28 km away
Mrs Simpson's Restaurant
557 reviews
.21 km away
Udderlicious Milkshake Bar
69 reviews
.11 km away
The Mayfly Restaurant and Cocktail Bar
428 reviews
.41 km away
Nearby Attractions
Wild about Whisky
194 reviews
.73 km away
Anvil Ale Brewery
148 reviews
.27 km away
Beans About Coffee
32 reviews
.11 km away
Calson Massage Clinic
15 reviews
.27 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Coachman Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Waitstaff, Full Bar, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 89 Naledi Drive, Dullstroom 1110, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Mpumalanga  >  Dullstroom
  • Phone Number: +27 13 254 0019
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing