We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
African, Contemporary
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
Meals
Brunch, Drinks, Lunch, Dinner
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (236)
Filter reviews
208 results
Traveller rating
131
43
16
5
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
131
43
16
5
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pork belly cheesecake fillet steak hidden gem susanna john setting plating hospitality
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 7 February 2022

Amazing atmosphere, amazing menu of fresh country food, and very passionate people behind the scene. We need to support local business like this one... Definitely a must do...

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 28 August 2021 via mobile

The setting is fine but the staff is rude and unhelpful. We asked the waiter for things which she just never bring just to be told by the manager after the third time that it is not available. I think it is overpriced as well...and will definitely not return.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
chefsusaana, Owner at Oude Wellington Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2021

Good day Kobus van Niekerk Thank you for taking the time to write this review. At least we can tell our side of your story. I am going to be very straightforward about that nightmare of a day for our guests, our staff and myself....More

Reviewed 18 June 2021

We ate as a family in December. It was hot so we dined outside. The host was pleasant and professional. Young kids must beware that there are snakes around so we were with our young kids all the time. The food was very good especially...the fillet steak. The setting is very old school and rustic but the food prices we felt were very expensive. We have eaten at many five star restaurant and the pricing here matched those without the nice setting. So if you don't mind old and rustic and high prices, the food does redeem it as it was really good. But for our taste we may not be back because of the price and setting.More

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 13 May 2021

We recently had the opportunity to dine at Oude Wellington Restaurant, and were blown away by the both the food and hospitality. John and Susanna went out of their way to accommodate us, and made us feel like absolute royalty. We had the snoek fishcake...as a starter, the pork belly for main, and cheesecake with passionfruit coulis for dessert - all excellent. The portions are extremely generous, plating is thoughtful, and the flavours were outstanding. The venue is stunning with a warm ambiance. There is cosy inside section for the colder winter days/evenings, and a spacious outdoor area for the warmer days/evenings. I can only imagine how stunning a wedding here would be. We will definately be returning and can highly recommend!More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 14 March 2021

One of the Cape's best kept secrets. A real hidden gem of a restaurant with an interesting menu and exceptional food. The pork belly was the best ever! We had lunch here three times on a recent trip to South Africa and will definitely be...back.More

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 15 February 2021 via mobile

Excellent value for money Possible the best pork belly around Great service and freshness of food Lovely venue

Date of visit: February 2021
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 9 November 2020 via mobile

Once again the experience didn’t disappoint, been going back for over 6 years. Amazing food, great atmosphere & outstanding service from staff & hosts. Great job guys & see you again soon.

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 16 March 2020

We had lunch here on a VERY hot day (it was approaching 40 deg) and we were surprised that everyone was seated outdoors on uncomfortable chairs (no fans) when it would have been much more comfortable sitting inside (where it was empty) out of the...heat. Also my husband and me were seated at a table on the dirt, which was also uncomfortable when there were other two seater tables available on the bricks. So this spoilt the experience for us. Apart from this, the food was greatMore

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 9 March 2020 via mobile

The staff were friendly and even went out of their way to make a special meal for my grandson that was not on their standard menu.

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 15 January 2020

The best place to have a tranquil dinner under the trees, but there is also the option to eat inside the restaurant.

Date of visit: February 2019
Helpful?1  
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Cascade Country Manor
338 reviews
7.38 km away
De Leeuwenhof Estate
716 reviews
9.74 km away
Paarl Boutique Hotel
40 reviews
11.85 km away
Perle-du-Cap Private Suite Estate
112 reviews
12.27 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Villamar Roastery Cafe
63 reviews
6.53 km away
Perfect Place
119 reviews
2.91 km away
The Grillroom
244 reviews
2.48 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
James Sedgwick Distillery
22 reviews
5.14 km away
Upland Organic Wine
17 reviews
2.38 km away
Imbuko Wine Cellar
38 reviews
3.71 km away
Bosman Family Vineyards
8 reviews
2.61 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Oude Wellington Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Oude Wellington Restaurant

Oude Wellington Restaurant is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4