We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Steakhouse, Grill
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
View all details
meals, features, about
Sponsored by: The Hussar Grill Somerset West

Top 3 Reasons to Eat Here

1. Premium Quality!
1. Premium Quality!
"We all agreed we'd never had tastier steak."
RachaelAC
See reviews that mention steak
2. No Corkage!
2. No Corkage!
"I was very impressed to see that there was no corkage charge."
Eileen M
See reviews that mention no corkage
3. 50 Years of Excellence!
3. 50 Years of Excellence!
"Superb restaurant, food, service and ambience, top class! "
Amanzi888
See reviews that mention cooked to perfection
Reviews (435)
Filter reviews
378 results
Traveller rating
206
113
31
17
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
206
113
31
17
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steak chocolate vodka chateaubriand calamari no corkage complimentary olives own wine our waiter cooked to perfection booked a table cape town hussars meat medium branch somerset mouth
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Went to Hussar's for dinner with the family. Our waiter was the best, their staff is friendly. Unfortunately, there wasn't a kids' menu- so my husband and I worked out our options to ensure we could share with the kids. This worked well for us....The food was good, except for the burger. We couldn't bite into the patty which was extremely overcooked. We will definitely go back, without the kids :)More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
HussarGrill, Owner at The Hussar Grill Somerset West, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Rue10D, Thank you for your review of The Hussar Grill Somerset West steakhouse. We are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with the service. We are, however, disappointed to see that your dining experience was not consistent with the high standard we pride...More

Restaurant's Favourite
Reviewed 16 May 2021 via mobile

Food was so good and the service (by Rayden) was so friendly and professional that my wife insisted we return the following evening. Miss Molly, Chateaubriand, Carpetbagger etc. etc. all brilliant. Excellent.More

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
HussarGrill, Owner at The Hussar Grill Somerset West, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2021

Good day, 97Stefanv, Thank you for taking the time to visit and review our The Hussar Grill Somerset West grill room. We are delighted to hear that you had a lovely time at our restaurant with superb food and service. We look forward to welcoming...More

Reviewed 12 April 2022

Excellent food and service from my Waitron Leon. Will definitely come back again . I do recommend this lovely establishment.More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
HussarGrill, Owner at The Hussar Grill Somerset West, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2022

Dear Mathato54, Thank you for your review of The Hussar Grill Somerset West grill room; your recommendation of us is very much appreciated. We are delighted to hear that you had a lovely time at our restaurant with superb food and service from Leon. We...More

Reviewed 9 April 2022 via mobile

Food is always amazing quality, super fresh and very well prepared and presented. Service is also very friendly and helpful.More

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
HussarGrill, Owner at The Hussar Grill Somerset West, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2022

Dear Eternalwulf, Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of our The Hussar Grill Somerset West grill room. We are delighted to hear that we have consistently provided you with the finest quality food and service. We look forward to...More

Reviewed 6 April 2022

Service was a bit slow but food was good, overall not a bad experience. Our waiter Leon really did go the extra mile to ensure we were taken care of. Their Tuesday date night special is also very good value for moneyMore

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
HussarGrill, Owner at The Hussar Grill Somerset West, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2022

Good day, I4105ZDnadinel, Thank you for your review of our The Hussar Grill Somerset West steakhouse. We are very happy to hear that you received great service from Leon and enjoyed our food and Tuesday Date Night Special. Hopefully, we can turn this around for...More

Reviewed 29 August 2021 via mobile

0 out 10 !!!! Absolutely terrible arrival - sanitation and staff at entrance has serious lack of knowledge or know how regarding standard protocols. Old ‘snacks’ on table and overall messy table. Management blunt and unfriendly.. 25 min waiting time after wine order before anyone...came to the table… and zero apologies…. Ps. face masks are mandatory????More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?2  
HussarGrill, Agency / Consultant at The Hussar Grill Somerset West, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2021

Dear Catharina1946, Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. We're so sorry to hear about your unpleasant experience with us. We would like an opportunity to contact you and address your concerns with management. Could you kindly follow the link https://hus16.goreview.co.za/goreview-crm?revid=HGWgIc,...More

Reviewed 5 May 2021 via mobile

We used to eat here around 10 to 12 times a month - 2 to 3 times a week. Then, twice in a row, we were served (very) tough steaks and decided to give it a break and drive to Stellenbosch for our lunches and...dinners. Yesterday we decided to give them another chance. There were 6 other tables for lunch. A friendly gentleman served us. He took our order and that was the last we saw of him for a long time. There is complimentary olives and crisps on the tables. Unfortunately nowhere to place the olive pips. We desperately tried to get our waiter’s attention and eventually another staff member came to our rescue and brought us something to put it in. The food arrived and my wife’s main dish, the calamari, was immediately sent back as it was swimming in brown oil and tasting of oil. We canceled the calamari and she only ate her tomato salad. My steak was overcooked (I ordered medium rare and it was well done). The waiter was nowhere to be found so we finished our meal. We waited for him to bring us the bill but eventually went to reception where he quickly appeared. It is sad that this restaurant went down so quickly in their standards. There is clearly a lack of management as the staff isn’t trained. We haven’t seen her the last 2 times, but what they need is moreShamara’s as she is the one person who was on top of every detail at your table - the perfect hostess. I post a picture of my chair. That sums up our recent experiences.More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
HussarGrill, Owner at The Hussar Grill Somerset West, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2021

Dear Altenh, Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We are very disappointed to read about your experience at The Hussar Grill Somerset West. We would greatly appreciate the opportunity to address the issues you experienced during your visit with you directly. Kindly provide...More

Reviewed 15 April 2021

The last time I went to this branch of Hussars I had to send my rump steak back as it was inedible. The manager admitted that it was totally unacceptable. I decided to give them a second chance. Again I had to return my rump...steak. It had a thick band of fat with sinews attached. I battled to separate the meat from the sinew. The steak was replaced but was cooked medium, not medium rate and was a bit "chewy". On leaving I asked to speak to the manager. He said that he had looked at the steak and that I must realise that it came with fat attached (as does all rump). He did not even have the courtesy to come to my table to apologise. He didn't seem to care. I will not go to Hussars Somerset West again. As a "upmarket steak house" that is what you expect. In future I will go to the franchise's "downmarket" alternative, Spur, which is round the corner. The service was good. Pity the poor waiters.More

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
HussarGrill, Owner at The Hussar Grill Somerset West, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2021

Dear Farrarmere, Thank you for your review of our The Hussar Grill Somerset West grill room. We are extremely disappointed to hear about the quality of food you received. We would like an opportunity to contact you. Could you kindly take a moment to follow...More

Reviewed 20 March 2021 via mobile

Fist time to the Hussar Grill Group and wow...... the steak was amazing.... A must do and will return soon....More

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?1  
HussarGrill, Owner at The Hussar Grill Somerset West, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2021

Dear Richardw5702, Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of our The Hussar Grill Somerset West grill room. It gives us great encouragement to know that you enjoyed our finest quality steaks. We look forward to your return visit. Kind...More

Reviewed 1 March 2021

Went to Hussar Grill during a business trip. Steak cooked perfectly. Service was quick and efficient. Will go again.

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Lord Charles Hotel
7 reviews
1.23 km away
@Abelia Guest House
7 reviews
1.25 km away
Somerset Guest Lodge
33 reviews
1.99 km away
Willowbrook Country House
256 reviews
5.23 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Giovanni's
1 287 reviews
.03 km away
La Vigna Restaurant
115 reviews
.51 km away
RocoMamas Somerset
57 reviews
1.24 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Cheetah Outreach - Somerset West
876 reviews
2.26 km away
Cavalli Art Gallery
52 reviews
1.58 km away
Flagstone Winery
19 reviews
1.98 km away
Art Curator Gallery
8 reviews
2.52 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
64henkh
3 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 10 answers
Response from peterkleu | Reviewed this property |
Yes you can bring your own wine. They pride themselves on never charging corkage.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Hussar Grill Somerset West

The Hussar Grill Somerset West is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4