We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Food and ambience

Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, View, Groups, Business meetings
About
The Camphors at Vergelegen signature restaurant takes its name from the ancient giant camphor trees, planted in 1700, situated in front of the historic Homestead. The restaurant overlooks expansive lawns and beautiful trees complementing the overall dining experience and creating an ambiance never to be forgotten. After only a year of operation, Camphors was awarded place in the Top Ten restaurants in South Africa, in The Eat Out DStv Restaurant Awards 2014, as well as being the Regional Winner - Wine Tourism Restaurant - in the 2014 Great Wine Capitals. Vergelegen produces classical wine varietals and the ever changing menu reflects a modern take on classical international and local food dishes,
PRICE RANGE
US$25 - US$40
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
CUISINES
European, Contemporary
FEATURES
Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Validated Parking, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (429)
Filter reviews
328 results
Traveller rating
254
43
20
8
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
254
43
20
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tasting menu lamb amuse bouche oysters fine dining sauvignon blanc food and wine three courses restaurant manager attention to detail beautiful surroundings south africa estate dish setting chef venue
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 27 November 2020

We had dinner on a chilly&rainy evening and the fireplace was burning... Super cozy If you're not very hungry or aren't a big eater do not choose the pairing menu. A vegetarian option of the pairing menu was created without prior notice

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?
Sharon0088, General Manager at Camphors at Vergelegen, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2020

Thanks for the great review, it is hugely appreciated. Kind regards Sharon

Reviewed 6 November 2020 via mobile

A rainy day, and then a superb lunch and all smile staff. It's a pity that walking in the rain isn't my favorite as the estate seems wonderful. Bottom line: have to come back!

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?
Sharon0088, General Manager at Camphors at Vergelegen, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2020

You are absolutely correct, you do need to return and enjoy the natural environment, you cannot visit and not soak in the tranquility and splendor of our gardens and heritage areas. We look forward to you next visit. Kind regards Sharon Hosking

Reviewed 4 November 2020

An amazing lunch at the new upgraded Champhors. The new a la Carte menu was for us an absolutely treat. Fine dining brought to a new level. Oysters was divine, a real treat. Mains was superb, amazing wine and the view even better. The relaxing...ambiance was perfect for a Saturday afternoon. This gem will for sure be a nice treat. Staff was super friendly. Always a pleasure visiting Vergelegen.More

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?
Sharon0088, General Manager at Camphors at Vergelegen, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2020

Just checking if you managed a go with the new swing? Thanks for the superb feedback and look forward to your next pleasurable visit. Take care Sharon Hosking

Reviewed 1 November 2020 via mobile

Spent a relaxed afternoon with friends at the newly decorated, (hues of greens and blues) outside area of Camphors at Vergelegen Wine Farm in Somerset West. With your ever attentive waiter/waitress attending to your every need, I started with thinly sliced seared sesame encrusted tuna(my...first time eating and I was not disappointed)., every slice melting in my mouth. My main, was the juicy grass fed ribeye steak sitting on a bed of spinach and jus, surrounded with dollops of creamy potato mash, topped with citrus butter which I my mouth adored. To end, a dessert that refreshed ... strawberries, white chocolate ganache, shortbread crumble and a sesame wafer. Well done Vergelegen team for a tantalizing food experience. I will definitely be back.More

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?
Sharon0088, General Manager at Camphors at Vergelegen, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2020

We appreciate that amazing feedback! Our newly 'tweaked' outside and inside dining areas are creating a genuinely relaxed dining experience. Glad you enjoyed the visit. Take care Sharon Hosking

Reviewed 1 November 2020 via mobile

I totally love the new a la carte menu... I am a bit of a foodie and had to try a second starter because they all sounded so good.. I wasn’t wrong! The seared tuna -fresh and tender and incredibly flavorful with the avocado and...ginger mousse and the prawns were perfect... For mains I had the beef .. tender and perfect pink We had the new 2020 Sauvignon blanc which was surprising and full bodied. A relaxed and beautiful place with great staff and on the ball service.. I highly recommend Camphors...I will be spending many afternoons here with friends for lunch.. ❤️More

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?
Sharon0088, General Manager at Camphors at Vergelegen, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2020

Our new Camphors a la carte menu and relaxed dining area are proving to be a hit! Thank you for the amazing feedback! By the way you still have some courses to try so we trust you will visit us again soon! Take care Sharon

Reviewed 1 November 2020

First time @Camphors at Vergelegen .... and I’m now a fan of this restaurant! Had the most wonderful afternoon yesterday - The ambiance was delightful, to start off oysters - well strawberries for me 😉 at the champagne tree, followed by the most heavenly and...superbly presented vegetarian meal 🧡 As a vegetarian I battle to find tasty elegant meals (I believe the menu is new) and it certainly didn’t disappoint. The live guitarist provided some delightful background music. PS and before you go don’t forget to relive your youth and have a swing from the new swing!More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
Sharon0088, General Manager at Camphors at Vergelegen, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2020

The Camphors swing is a hit, glad you gave it a go! Thank you for sharing your experience and the awesome feedback. Take care Sharon Hosking

Reviewed 1 November 2020 via mobile

I met up with 4 of my friends yesterday to try the newly launched al carte menu at Camphors @Vergelegen. The patio of Camphors is set against a rolling green lawn and beautiful trees. There is a relaxed vibe and eager to please staff. I...started with a exquisite seared tuna that melted in my mouth. My main was a rib eye steak that had a blanket of citrus butter over it and was delicious!The duck fat fried chips were crispy on the outside and fluffy on the inside. To finish I tried the chocolate dessert and shared the mulberry and apple compote! Amazing and picture perfect presentation! The service staff was excellent and attentive to our needs! I highly recommend it -especially for families with kids that want to stretch their legs on the beatiful lawn while their parents drink their wine and fill their belly’s with a delightful meal! I found the meal well priced for the portions and surroundings and a nice selection of dishes to choose from. Well done Camphors team!More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
Sharon0088, General Manager at Camphors at Vergelegen, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2020

We appreciate the feedback and the fact that you have perfectly described everything that the newly launched Camphors experience set out to offer our guests. Thank You! Take care Sharon Hosking

Reviewed 1 November 2020 via mobile

What a beautiful setting! We went for my birthday lunch and a better venue we could not have chosen! We we greeted with friendly staff and a lovely glass of wine and oysters. We were seated on the lawn, under shade, with a wonderful view...over the garden. What followed for us was three courses of fabulous food. You can just have mains too!Everything from the prawn and tuna fish(amazing) starters to the most devine lamb chops and hubby's choice of springbok main meal, was incredible! We both topped it off with a dark chocolate dessert which was mouthwatering! You can spend the day here, feasting on delicious food and the best Vergelegen wines. We will be back, this time with a group of friends! Well done to all the staff that made it a fab afternoon!More

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?
Sharon0088, General Manager at Camphors at Vergelegen, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2020

We are super pleased that you enjoyed the new Camphors relaxed dining a la carte experience. Now is the time for family and friends to spend real and memorable time together so we look forward to your next visit with good friends. Take care Sharon...More

Reviewed 31 October 2020 via mobile

Lot massively impressed , kitchen was soooo slow - an hour for starters but then another for the main course - the place didn’t seem so busy so was struggling for an excuse. The lamb was so rare I felt sorry for it , and...the lentil curry was a real non event. The tartare was not recognisable as such. Nice looking restaurant , pricing was fair I thought. Wines were also in line. They won’t allow corkage under any circumstance - which I thought a shame for the special bottle at the special event.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
Sharon0088, General Manager at Camphors at Vergelegen, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2020

We appreciate the heartfelt and honest feedback. Our kitchen brigade had some teething problems settling into an a la carte menu however have ironed out the wrinkles that you have mentioned. It is now safe to return! Take care Sharon Hosking

Reviewed 27 August 2020 via mobile

Went with business partners and we were all so impressed. The ambiance, the friendliness of the staff, the quick service and the delicious food. Bring people here to impress them.

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Sharon0088, General Manager at Camphors at Vergelegen, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2020

Thanks for taking the time and for the great review, your support is appreciated. Kind regards Sharon

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Erinvale Estate Hotel and Spa
461 reviews
.33 km away
Willowbrook Country House
250 reviews
1.09 km away
Somerset Lodge
32 reviews
4.21 km away
Ocean Breeze Hotel
187 reviews
7.52 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Stables Restaurant at Vergelegen
655 reviews
.26 km away
The Millhouse Kitchen
645 reviews
.59 km away
95 at Morgenster
186 reviews
.92 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Vergelegen Estate
881 reviews
.04 km away
Helderberg Nature Reserve
335 reviews
1.52 km away
Lourensford Wine Estate
323 reviews
.47 km away
Lourensford Market
96 reviews
.96 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Wendielizmax
30 January 2019|
Answer
Response from Stephanie M | Reviewed this property |
Did you look on the website I am sure they have pics of the interior there as well as the cuisine. It is an upmarket setting. Very elegant and sophisticated.
0
Votes
Marlene B
19 September 2016|
Answer
Response from Domenique7 | Reviewed this property |
Vergelegen Estate is closed on Christmas Day, as are both dining venues.
0
Votes
marypbarnard
25 November 2015|
Answer
Response from Sharon0088 | Property representative |
Thank you for your enquiry regarding a New Years Eve function on Thursday 31 December 2015. The Camphors Restaurant is only open for dinner on a Friday and Saturday evening and lunches from Wed to Fri. So for this year... More
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing