We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mariner's Wharf

Hout Bay Road | Hout Bay Harbour, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
+27 21 790 1100
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent37%
  • Very good42%
  • Average13%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“fish and chips” (126 reviews)
“calamari” (112 reviews)
“chowder” (12 reviews)
Open Now
9:00 AM - 9:30 PMAll hours
CUISINES
Seafood
PRICE
RR - RRR
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Hout Bay Road | Hout Bay Harbour, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (1 215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 971 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Went looking for fresh oysters today and found the mariners warf shop. It was really fresh and the staff were helpful. You can purchase and take away or have it right there. Tabasco sauce and lemons provided.

Thank Laaiqah G
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My wife and I are on holidays travelling in a rented car and headed to Hout Bay for scenery. We came across this restaurant by chance. This restaurant is located on the 1st floor in a large and aging wooden building .On the ground floor,...More

Thank CKY281
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited here once again, as most visitors to Hout Bay do, it's just as busy if not more so. It's fast food, concentrating on Sea Food. In the scheme of things it's not expensive, there are plenty of staff, and you can watch your food...More

Thank Guernseylink
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My husband hasn’t stopped talking about his meal at our lunch time stop in Hout bay. The meal was amazing, I don’t eat fish or seafood so didn’t have high expectations but my streak was tender and tasty with a lovely monkey gland sauce. Thank...More

Thank Fynalee
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This has to be visited when in the area.Went with a big group of friends last night and revisited tonight for a quieter event.Both nights excellent food,service and value.The Kingclip with lemon butter sauce is to die for.Staff fantastic ably led by Andrew(Say hello from...More

Thank Bluey1592
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Average seafood quality in a fast food style restaurant. Very noisy, dirty tableware. No place for wine.More

Thank Bernd G
590shaunb, Director at Mariner's Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear "Bernd G" I am not sure if you dined in our fast-food seafood Bistro or our upstairs Wharfside Grill Restaurant? I assure you we only use A-grade seafood product from reputable suppliers to the industry and we make sure our prices are competitive to...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This restaurant is an institution. I last came 21 years ago and pleased I made the trip. We had an array of seafood meals and all were great. Our waiter was very attentive and the restaurant was child friendly. Well worth it.

Thank A L
590shaunb, Director at Mariner's Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear "A L" Welcome back! We just celebrated our 33rd birthday last week and glad we could be of service. Regards Shaun Bloch Director

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We heard different opinions about this Restaurant. Some Good, some mit so Good. However our dinner here was fabulous. We had the catch of the day (cod fish) and game fish(tuna) - both dishes were great and the fish was high quality!

Thank menschki
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Two years ago had a great lunch here. Tried breakfast today - haddock of poor quality and over cooked.More

Thank Johan J
Shaun B, Director at Mariner's Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Johan J Sorry to read about your breakfast experience and thank you for bringing it to our attention. Our Haddock is poached in milk, cream and butter and if overcooked, it would be watery. We get the fish from our Fishmarket below and I...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Casual Dining is probably the term so Haut cuisine it isn’t but the food is Home produced, ample & tasty. Candle lit makes it romantic or dark - depending on your view point. Staying Hout Bay ? There will be better but manage your expectation...More

Thank Simon h
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Cheyne's
348 reviews
1.11 km away
The Lookout Deck Hout Bay Restaurant, Bar & Sushi
675 reviews
.60 km away
Dunes Beach Restaurant & Bar
743 reviews
.93 km away
Nearby Attractions
Bay Harbour Market
399 reviews
.89 km away
Bay Harbour - The Market
221 reviews
.88 km away
Urban Brewing Co.
23 reviews
.86 km away
Hout Bay
2 545 reviews
.23 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Jackie O
25 November 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from mrabotha | Reviewed this property |
Reply from the restaurant. Dear Andre Thank you for your enquiry. Please take note of the following: We take latest reservations on 25-12-2017 @ 12pm.[Nothing later]. We serve our normal alacarte menu. We require a... More
2
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$10 - US$25
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Television, Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, View, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 AM - 9:30 PM
Monday
9:00 AM - 9:30 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 9:30 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 9:30 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 9:30 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 9:30 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 9:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Hout Bay Road | Hout Bay Harbour, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Hout Bay
  • Phone Number: +27 21 790 1100
  • E-mail
Description
Mariner's Wharf is the first harbourfront emporium in Africa and consists of the upstairs 360 seater Wharfside Grill restaurant, the downstairs fast- food Seafood Bistro, nautical gift shops, Bakery and Fishmarket.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing