We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dunes Beach Restaurant & Bar

RR - RRR
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
1 Beach Crescent, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa (Formerly Dunes Restaurant)
+27 21 790 1876
Website
Today
09:00 - 23:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 09:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

673 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 496: English reviews
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Sitting upstairs eating whilst enjoying the fabulous view across Hout Baai is a great experience. Mussells are a particular favourite as too is their calamari with chunky home made chips! Children are well catered for with sandy areas and climbing frames.

Helpful?
Thank Martin D
Level Contributor
68 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

It's a while since I eat here, and if anything has changed, the quality has got better, tho the service was a little slow - but then the outside and inside seating was full. I started with oysters - not as plump or meaty as those at 'On The Rocks' (see my review of On The Rocks here). Then a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Julian H
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We arrived having boked for breakfast with friends. The waiter seemed confused when we tried to order the English Breakfast from the menu ..... its the breakfast buffet he indicated and we could order the English breakfast from the buffet or collect it ourselves. Maybe we should have realised there was a problem at this stage but we insisted on... More 

Helpful?
Thank CraigHouseham
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very average with prices way above the quality of the food. Also misrepresent the dish - eg when the menu says Durban Curry, one expects authentic Durban Curry - not a bad substitute - doubt if the Chef has ever been to Durban or sampled a Durban Curry. So it was a let down - not even decent sambals, or... More 

Helpful?
Thank lens994
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Arrived there after a long flight with 3 children from the UK.. on the beach so great views and good food. Also had a little play area for the kids which was walled in so safe. Good service and very reasonably priced..

Helpful?
Thank boobly2
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I've been inside and outside. The service outside is not as great. I asked for my order and the bill and I had to physically fetch it myself.... No man you guys...

Helpful?
Thank OfficialByronUK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very good food (especially sea food), very good location (I recommend to go there to see the sunset!) good staff. Good value for money! The only bad is smoking allowed inside.

Helpful?
Thank MartinadallaCH
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We walked down from mariners wharf just in time for sunset. An ideal spot for cocktails and reasonable too

Helpful?
Thank Vicky J
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Breakfast with a smoker is never nice .... but when they are in a restaurant it is awful. The willingness of the restaurant to let other patrons smoke (even though the area is not blocked off as required in law and the bas was not open) totally spoils what should be a great upstairs venue with a sea view. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank Susan P
Rob G, Owner at Dunes Beach Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review

Dear Susan, I understand your concern regarding smoking in the restaurant. However, the current legislation in South Africa still allows for certain areas to be designated smoking areas. My manager informed me about your concerns. I understand that you were offered seating in the non-smoking area but you declined. I am happy to discuss your concerns. Please email me on... More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

One of the top reasons to visit Dunes is because of the incredible view of Hout Bay nestled between mountains...amazing sunset spot. The food is good, too. The tuna tartare was wonderful (comes with 4 "pieces" served on a slice of cucumber). The rainbow roll was good- made of salmon and avocado only (no tuna). The garlic prawns "pot" (read:... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kayla G

Travellers who viewed Dunes Beach Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 
Hout Bay, Cape Town
 

Been to Dunes Beach Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3,5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3,5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3,5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$5 - US$20
Cuisine
Bar, Seafood, Contemporary, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, View, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 23:00
Monday
09:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 23:00
Thursday
09:00 - 23:00
Friday
09:00 - 23:00
Saturday
09:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1 Beach Crescent, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa (Formerly Dunes Restaurant)
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Hout Bay
  • Phone Number: +27 21 790 1876
Description
Situated on the beach, between the picturesque fishing harbour and the majestic, world famous Chapman’s Peak Drive.Soak up the most breathtaking views on the Cape peninsula from our terraces or balconies.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Dunes Beach Restaurant & Bar staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?