We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
R 235 - R 1 175
CUISINES
International, European
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (233)
Filter reviews
189 results
Traveller rating
89
46
34
15
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
89
46
34
15
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beef fillet course tasting menu mont rochelle country kitchen franschhoek valley excellent wine list moved inside complimentary bread south africa beautiful restaurant a great evening by the glass small portions quality of food views springbok setting
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Fine dining is correct, beautiful food, fantastic taste, amazing presentation! Plenty of choice with food and drinks. Worth eating here! The staff also are lovely.

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 March 2024

We eaten at Miko several times, always amazing service and excellent food. And of course the stunning view - but sadly the live music is so loud spoils the meals, this last view the horn player was so loud even our server could not hear...us and we could not talk to each other over dinner - it got so bad we had to escape to the patio. The piped in music is just fine - please stop the live musicMore

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 February 2024 via mobile

We had such a lovely evening at Miko Restaurant, from start to finish we were looked after and spoilt by the kind, attention of their skilled team. We were picked up from our rented house in Franschhoek by the Mont Rochelle car and taken up...the hill to the hotel. This is a very useful service the hotel provides which ment we didn’t have to worry about the car and driving and parking. We could relax! After two icy cold, refreshing gin and tonics on the stunning terrace overlooking Franschhoek we went into the restaurant Miko and sat at a lovely table with a spectacular view. The sun was going down behind us and the mountains opposite were glowing in the evening light, quite a sight. We chose the chef’s menu of 5 courses, you can have wine pairing with this but we chose not to. The menu was delicious, beautifully and imaginatively presented on very special plates. All very yummy, especially the slow cooked neck of lamb which was succulent and the Sea Bass with mussels…so good! We chose a Mont Rochelle Cabernet Sauvignon ‘20 which was rich and delicious and a La Motte Sauvignon Blanc which was refreshing and went very well with the fish elements of the menu. Service was excellent, skilled and friendly. The restaurant was full and buzzy with a lovely atmosphere. The hotel’s cat wondered in….I love it when the place has a homely touch! We thoroughly enjoyed our evening and can not recommend this place more highly. It is number one on our list of favourite places to eat in Franschhoek, dont miss it!More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 January 2024 via mobile

My wife and I went for an evening meal at Mike recently and have to say, we’re not overly impressed. The service, which started brightly with a warm welcome on arrival when it was quiet, deteriorated through out the meal as the restaurant became busier....We waited at least 15 minutes for the bill for example. The choice of food we thought was fairly limited, but reasonably tasty. Don’t think either of us would hurry back.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 December 2023 via mobile

The restaurant is in a beautiful hotel in a lovely setting. However, it did feel very much like a restaurant in a hotel rather than a standalone restaurant. The food was exceptional, however the portions were very small, which could be the result of us...taking the tasting menu, but we certainly weren’t full when we left.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 November 2023

It’s a delight to eat at this modern, stylish restaurant, which is in a separate building to the hotel and offer wonderful views across the plain. The is high quality, served attractively by attentive and knowledgeable staff. We enjoyed the catch of the day (Seabass)....The portions are spot on, and the ambience is great, although a little empty at lunch times. Well done.More

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 November 2023

First time at Miko restaurant, And a very enjoyable experience for our last night in Franschoek. Very professional and courteous staff at every touch point, and we were very well looked after by Effort our waiter. Food and wine were both excellent. Lovely ambience

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 November 2023

The terrace is a delightful place for lunch, we enjoyed the stunning views while eating. My chickpea and avo bowl was generously portioned and the grilled chicken with lime was really tangy. I didn't really have room for dessert but chose one anyway, the almond...tart was delicious. We look forward to returningMore

Date of visit: December 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 October 2023 via mobile

Being a Branson resort our expectations were high, and on arrival the building and location were exactly what we were expecting. Sadly the good news stops there. The menu on paper looked great and between the three of us, we sampled most of the options....Sadly dish after dish failed to come close to the promise of its description, or its ingredients. A procession of bland, lukewarm dishes were served by staff who didn’t care enough to even ask if we had enjoyed the food. Overall a hugely disappointing soulless experience. I would think twice before booking here, Franschhoek has some amazing restaurants, but this isn’t one of them.More

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 October 2023

Lovely meal in this beautiful space. Had a tasting first in other part of Mont Rochelle which was excellent. Very good service, food was casual but delicious and great value. Enjoyed our lunch on a rainy day in Franschoek, and even the walk back into...town!More

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Miko Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2023

Dear @vandorsalfin, We're delighted to hear that even on a rainy day, you had a lovely meal and wine tasting experience with us. Your kind words about the food and the service, mean a great deal to us. Thank you for choosing Mont Rochelle, and...More

Reviewed 27 September 2023 via mobile

The restaurant has lovely views during the daytime and is a convenient option when staying at the hotel. Steak was very good but chicken was tough. Service was friendly.More

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Miko Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2023

Dear Wombling_Free_7548 I am so glad to read that you were pleased with the friendly service you received from our team at MIKO during your recent stay with us, and that you enjoyed the restaurant’s 180-degree views. Thank you so much for bringing the cooking...More

Reviewed 22 September 2023 via mobile

Saved coming to this restaurant to our very last day in Franschhoek as a special treat. Could not of been more disappointed. The dining room was stunning, but that’s where the pleasure stopped. I ordered the Miko platter. The ribs were cold. The calamari was...soggy.the chicken tasted like it had been reheated several times and the new potatoes were just roasted with a few cubes of feta thrown over the top. Very poor food for such a beautiful restaurant - I basically ate the potatoes and nothing else. Go for the view but not the food !!! Oh and no napkins on any tables 🤷‍♀️ guttedMore

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Miko Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2023

Dear Relax23329789091, Please let me begin by thanking you for your kind comments around our beautiful MIKO dining room and its 180-degree views. However, I was extremely disappointed to learn about your recent experience with regards to the food served during your visit. MIKO is...More

Reviewed 20 April 2023

Lovely interior. Would be a super view during the day. Nighttime less so. We did a fixed menu thing. Portions a bit nouvelle cuisine; food quality was great but portions a little small. Not that many great choices. We preferred the Country Kitchen on the...same estate.More

Date of visit: April 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 February 2023 via mobile

Beautiful restaurant, decent food, good service but a bit naughty with the water - ordered a bottle of sparkling noticed two were immediately put in the ice bucket, throughout the meal the second bottle was opened and poured without asking, then a third appeared and...was in the process of being opened again without asking, we declined the third bottle! Needless to say we are not in the habit of drinking 3 liters of water with lunch (plus wine and cocktails) and would expect to be asked before being poured (and charged) for bottle upon bottle - seems a little naughty and left a bad feeling on what had been a lovely lunch and serviceMore

Date of visit: February 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Miko Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2023

Dear 661 Debs, I firstly wanted to thank you for taking the time to write us a review, we’re really pleased to hear you thought our restaurant was beautiful, and that you received good service from our team. Thank you for your feedback on the...More

Reviewed 5 February 2023 via mobile

The service was so so and the meal ( springbok) not what you are. Expecting from a house like this. Overall it is definitely not worth de detour .More

Date of visit: February 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Miko Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2023

Dear MrsBaikux, We’re sorry that your experience at Miko did not live up to expectations. Our team work incredibly hard to provide the best experience possible for guests, so it’s really disappointing for us to hear that the service you received was ‘so-so’. Unfortunately, during...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Mont Rochelle
1 154 reviews
.06 km away
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
269 reviews
1.22 km away
Le Quartier Francais
682 reviews
1.27 km away
Hotel du Vin Franschhoek
15 reviews
1.37 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Protege Restaurant
346 reviews
1.27 km away
Le coin Francais
475 reviews
1.31 km away
Oku Asian Eatery
124 reviews
1.32 km away
Epice
128 reviews
1.31 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Anpa Jewellers
16 reviews
1.29 km away
Franschhoek Pass
1 082 reviews
1.32 km away
La Bourgogne Farm
169 reviews
1.24 km away
Senechal-Senekal Art Gallery
52 reviews
1.24 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
lawalmari
5 September 2017|
Answer
Response from lilmissplanet | Reviewed this property |
Yes they have delicious brunch
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

Miko Restaurant, Franschhoek - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Miko Restaurant

Miko Restaurant is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 3.5