We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Miko Restaurant

79
All photos (79)
Certificate of Excellence

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2017 - 2018 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Location and contact

About
Miko is the main restaurant at Mont Rochelle. The food served is a blend of international dishes with a healthy nod to the varied nature of South Africa cuisine, paired naturally with some superb local vintages. Miko is open for non-resident guests, but we do recommend you call in advance to book a table.
PRICE RANGE
US$13-US$63
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
CUISINES
International, European
FEATURES
Parking Available, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Validated Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Free Wifi
Reviews (168)
Filter reviews
133 results
Traveller rating
62
35
26
8
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
62
35
26
8
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beef fillet carrot cake sea bass panna cotta salad penne trout prawns fries bread mont rochelle sir richard branson country kitchen amazing views franschhoek valley wine list star restaurant
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 133 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago

Dinning room with wonderful views of the mountains Excellent service Smoked Kudo Pork lion Chocolate fondant Apart from the pork being a little over cooked this has to be one of the best restaurants in Franchhoek. Reasonable price

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank F7638VCnickg
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely location, modern decor and good food. My wife’s smoked Kudu was tasty, my prawns were very very good. We both had the Oak Valley pork which was tasty but had been over cooked and was rather dry. The desserts were typical Franschhoek creations, looking...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Alan W
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Miko Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Alan W, The whole team really enjoyed welcoming you to Miko and reading your review, so we wanted to take this opportunity to say thank you for sharing it! Our Head Chef was delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your starters and desserts,...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had dinner here on our last night in Franschhoek, and were not disappointed. Both food and service were excellent, and staff were prepared to go an extra mile to satisfy our needs. Not cheap by South African standards, but definitely good value.More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Norman B
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Miko Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Norman B, Thank you for taking the time to share this excellent review. It was our pleasure to welcome you to Miko, and the team were so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meal and the views. We hope we might have the...More

Reviewed 27 October 2018

We had an amazing meal at Miko whilst staying at Mont Rochelle. The food was some of the best we had whilst in South Africa.More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Newmie01
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Miko Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2018

Dear Newmie01, Following your lovely review for Mont Rochelle, we also wanted to say thank you for sharing this amazing feedback for Miko! We were delighted to hear that you thought the food was some of the best you had in South Africa and we...More

Reviewed 26 September 2018

Before leaving UK I reserved a table at Miko as we enjoy fine dining and I had read some excellent reviews. From the moment that we stepped inside the door until we left - hours later - we had an evening to remember. It was...More

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank akay07
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Miko Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2018

Dear akay07, It was such a treat to read your wonderful review so please let us start by saying a big thank you for sharing it with us. It really made our day to hear that you had ‘an evening to remember’ in Miko and...More

Reviewed 23 August 2018

We had dinner at Miko after their renovations. The restaurant is beautiful, a nice fireplace is creating a cozy atmosphere and the views from the restaurant are spectacular. The service was very attentive and friendly, leaving us with the impression that they enjoyed what they...More

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank AshbourneFranschhoek
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Miko Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2018

Dear AshbourneFranschhoek, It was our pleasure to welcome you to Miko, and I don’t think we could ask for a nicer review following your experience! We think there’s nothing better than cosying up in front of the fire on a winter’s evening, so it was...More

Reviewed 19 August 2018

The menu, while not extensive, has something for everyone. The food is very well presented and is delicious! The restaurant views are amazing, the service is excellent and the overall ambiance is very welcoming, especially with the fires burning.More

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Joanna H
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Miko Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

Dear Joanna H, It was a real pleasure to read your kind comments about your experience in Miko, thank you for treating us to this fabulous review! We have to agree that the fires make for a lovely warm ambience, and we hope you’ll join...More

Reviewed 5 August 2018

A beautiful setting overlooking the Franschhoek Valley. We went for lunch and were practically the only people in the restaurant so had the pick of all the tables. Outside in the shade with the view was perfect. The food overall was excellent - and this...More

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Ashsaw
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Miko Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Dear Ashsaw, It truly was a pleasure to read your lovely review, so we wanted to take this opportunity to thank you for sharing it with us. Whilst I was concerned to hear that your meat was a little tough, I was delighted that the...More

Reviewed 21 May 2018

From the warmly welcoming service to the thoughtfully compiled menu, this was a 5-star restaurant experience. The food was fresh, seasonal and beautifully prepared (the sea bass was outstanding); the service was attentive but not overwhelming. A special mention of the fact that an empty...More

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank debelrud
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Miko Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

Dear O1475MIdeborahr, I don’t think we could ask for a nicer review, so please let us start by extending a huge thank you for sharing it with us! The whole team shared a smile when we heard your kind comments about the service and the...More

Reviewed 17 May 2018

A few meals in franschhoek inspired me to review some, this was a great experience lovely seating and good food. The only downside was the manager seemed somewhat irritated and the staff aloofMore

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank DaveM5402
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Miko Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

Dear Dave M, Thank you for sharing your review, we were so pleased to hear that you had a great experience in Miko. That being said, I was sorry to hear your comments about the team and would really appreciate the opportunity to chat with...More

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
lawrie_almari
5 September 2017|
Answer
Response from lilmissplanet | Reviewed this property |
Yes they have delicious brunch
0
Votes
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing