We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice2023
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
R 20 - R 200
CUISINES
Italian
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (701)
Filter reviews
619 results
Traveller rating
260
216
79
25
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
260
216
79
25
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pizza salad col cacchio green genie italian food the main road lovely evening fine dining pizzeria benoit trees milkshakes
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visited here because it has a kids park attached to it. This allowed us to enjoy our meal whilst the kids played. The food came quickly and was very tasty. Service was good, the only reason for it not been 5 stars was that...it was pricey for the food we got.More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stephanie de Villiers, Agency / Consultant at Col'Cacchio Franschhoek, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Ronans12, Thank you so much for your support. We're glad you had a positive experience at our restaurant and the kids enjoyed the park! Pop in again soon. Kind regards, Team Col’Cacchio

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Just ate at this restaurant. Service ( waiter) was abysmally poor! We asked about size of pizzas and dishes and he was rude, reluctant to tell us clearly. In the end we ordered tow pasta dishes and a salad- it was too much. To add...insult to injury the pasta dish I ordered was not supposed to contain any chicken or meat. I ate about half my dish and found chicken pieces. The waiter said he was sorry! Luckily I am not a strict vegetarian so I was pissed but not offended. I spoke to the manager who was apologetic ! They still charged me for the dish. I told the manager that I was not going to leave a tip. Sad experience. BTW food was OK not very tasty. I have had better Italian food in dives!More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stephanie de Villiers, Agency / Consultant at Col'Cacchio Franschhoek, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello 194Krishr, That is very disappointing to hear, our apologies for your negative experience with us. We would like to look into this ASAP. Kindly follow the provided link to send us your contact details https://www.colcacchio.co.za/ so that your feedback can be addressed directly with...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great food and nice play area for kids. The pizzas were tasty. We ordered a kids pizza for my son and he loved it. The service was good too

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stephanie de Villiers, Agency / Consultant at Col'Cacchio Franschhoek, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello Prashan3253, Thanks for the awesome review of Col'Cacchio Franschhoek. Our aim is great quality food and service - glad you experienced that.  Pop in again soon. Kind regards, Team Col’Cacchio

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Ordered a starter, main and a mojito on tap. The waiter needed to come back to confirm my order after writing it down. Then he pitched up with 2 pizzas and seemed surprised when I said that I wasn’t my order. The drink finally arrived...which was a total rip off. 90% of it was ice. My pasta which was the main arrived. I then asked where my starter was and was told it wasn’t ready. Only when I asked if I’m supposed to eat my main before the starter did he magically bring out the starter. A bizarre experience and average food.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stephanie de Villiers, Agency / Consultant at Col'Cacchio Franschhoek, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello 541Rayanr, Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you had a negative experience at Col'Cacchio Franschhoek. Please follow the link https://www.colcacchio.co.za/contact to send us your feedback and contact details so that it can be...More

Reviewed 11 March 2024

I have a great love for pizzas, so when my friends recommended this place I was eager to try it. And it didn’t disappoint! Great service and great pizza, I’d recommend the Forresta pizza!

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 March 2024 via mobile

Had to go into the kitchen to find someone to ask to be seated. Had to ask to be served. They don’t bother to peel their artichokes, so avoid or choke on them. Fished them out of the pizza and returned them to the cook,...who supposedly accepted them without a comment . Pitch dark in the bathrooms, bring your own hand towel. Astounding.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stephanie de Villiers, Agency / Consultant at Col'Cacchio Franschhoek, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2024

Hello Steyn216, Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. We are sorry you had a negative experience at Col'Cacchio Franschhoek. Please follow the provided link to send us your contact details: https://www.colcacchio.co.za/contact, so we can get in touch to investigate this...More

Reviewed 3 March 2024 via mobile

I like Col Cach but for 3 visits in a row I have ordered the fratellino wrap NO CHICKEN…. I’m a vegetarian I emphasise…. Guess what….. keeps coming with chicken. It really isn’t difficult NO CHICKEN IN THE WRAP THANK YOU.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stephanie de Villiers, Agency / Consultant at Col'Cacchio Franschhoek, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2024

Hello Gillytony59, Thank you for your review. Our sincerest apologies for the disappointing meal! Please follow the provided link to send us your contact details https://www.colcacchio.co.za/contact so that your feedback can be addressed directly with our management team. We hope to hear from you, soon....More

Reviewed 26 February 2024

Big, enjoyable space to enjoy a meal. While most of the other restaurants further along this street require reservations we were able to be seated on our first night in Franschhoek. The staff is welcoming and friendly. The food is delicious. We enjoyed salads, pizza...and pasta. The neighboring shop serves amazing ice cream to top off your meal.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stephanie de Villiers, Agency / Consultant at Col'Cacchio Franschhoek, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2024

Hi Randee A, Thanks for leaving us such a wonderful review. Great ambience, food and service are what we strive for - glad you experienced just that. We hope to see you again soon! Regards, Col'Cacchio

Reviewed 14 February 2024 via mobile

Unfortunate management , ok food. Food was fine but made to feel uncomfortable by the management. Servers weirdly argued should bring us the bill in front of us, when we asked if there was a problem with management , she just said I don’t know...rand walked off .More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stephanie de Villiers, Agency / Consultant at Col'Cacchio Franschhoek, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2024

Hello Alexander N, Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you had a negative experience at Col'Cacchio Franschhoek. Please follow the provided link to send us your contact details https://www.colcacchio.co.za/contact so that we can get...More

Reviewed 10 February 2024 via mobile

We visited for a light supper after a busy day on the wine tram and this was perfect for our needs. We shared a garlic pizza bread and large caprese salad with avocado. Both were very tasty and very fresh. Nice choice of wines by...the glass. Service was efficient and friendly. Umbrellas said something about Franschhoek beer company so i was hoping for a good selection of beers but unfortunately just lagers are served on draught.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stephanie de Villiers, Agency / Consultant at Col'Cacchio Franschhoek, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2024

Hello Boondoggler, Thanks for leaving us such a wonderful review. The team at Col'Cacchio Franschhoek are thrilled to know that you were happy with your meal and the efficient service you experienced. We can’t wait to have you back for loads and loads of pizza....More

Reviewed 7 February 2024 via mobile

A trip back to Franschhoek would not be complete without a dinner here. Food as always was great as was the service. Live music by Dan was also great. Only question is why would you put chicken in my spaghetti bolognese?More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stephanie de Villiers, Agency / Consultant at Col'Cacchio Franschhoek, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2024

Hello Bovington-Smythe, Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. Great ambience, food and service are what we strive for - glad you experienced just that. We'll be sure to pass on your kind words to Dan. Should you wish to discuss anything...More

Reviewed 17 January 2024

We had an excellent meal at Col Cacchio Franschhoek. The setting was lovely, food was tasty and our waiter Mesuli was fantastic!More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stephanie de Villiers, Agency / Consultant at Col'Cacchio Franschhoek, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2024

Hi Natasha D, Wow! Thank you so much for this brilliant review. Great ambience, food and service are what we strive for - glad you experienced just that. We'll be sure to pass on your kind words to Mesuli. We look forward to welcoming you...More

Reviewed 5 January 2024

Great waiter who was very friendly who works in the Stellenbosch restaurant but we waited an hour and a half for our food. Then got our food and it was cold, we got two pasta dishes nearly inedible and the pizza wasn’t great either. Got...offered a meat pizza on house but unfortunately we are vegetarians. Nothing offered to be taken off bill or anything after that. Very disappointed as it was our final dinner in Franschhock, but staff still lovely with all the kitchen problems and very apologetic.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stephanie de Villiers, Agency / Consultant at Col'Cacchio Franschhoek, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2024

Hi Haly E, Thank you for your review. Our sincerest apologies for the disappointing meal! Please follow the link https://www.colcacchio.co.za/contact to send us your feedback and contact details so that it can be addressed directly with our management team. Hopefully, we can turn this around...More

Reviewed 3 January 2024 via mobile

Pleasant dinner on Christmas night in a convivial atmosphere with live music. Pretty good pizza and a decent glass of wine with friendly service. Great that itopennon Christmas night for a hungry bite even after a giant lunch!!

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stephanie de Villiers, Agency / Consultant at Col'Cacchio Franschhoek, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2024

Hello Misty G, Thanks for leaving us such a wonderful review. We're so happy to hear you enjoyed our pizza, service and live music. Pop in again soon. Kind regards, Team Col’Cacchio

Reviewed 3 January 2024

Great salad and pasta. Mesuli was our vaiter and provided us with excellent service. We will be back.

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stephanie de Villiers, Agency / Consultant at Col'Cacchio Franschhoek, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2024

Hello Birgitte B, We’re grateful for your feedback. So happy to know that you enjoyed your meal and that Mesuli provided you with great service. We are looking forward to your next visit. Kind regards, Team Col’Cacchio

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Last Word Franschhoek
684 reviews
.03 km away
Protea Hotel Franschhoek
279 reviews
.14 km away
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
269 reviews
.40 km away
Hotel du Vin Franschhoek
15 reviews
.50 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Hussar Grill Franschhoek
589 reviews
.14 km away
Le Bon Vivant Restaurant
1 950 reviews
.34 km away
Reuben's Restaurant and Bar
823 reviews
.40 km away
Allora
1 338 reviews
.42 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Anpa Jewellers
16 reviews
.29 km away
Franschhoek Pass
1 083 reviews
.26 km away
Franschhoek Cellar
160 reviews
.30 km away
Franschhoek Art House
50 reviews
.20 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Pioneer44356024629
18 September 2021|
Answer
Response from Happiness13122992236 |
Yes
0
Votes
RTtravelreview
28 December 2018|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from guidol386 | Reviewed this property |
Yes, they deliver with a nice Mini Cooper within a 5 km radius from the restaurant. And all the food kept hot nicely!
0
Votes
Google Translation
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

Col'Cacchio Franschhoek - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Col'Cacchio Franschhoek

Yes, Col'Cacchio Franschhoek offers delivery services.

Col'Cacchio Franschhoek is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4