We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Allee Bleue

310 Intersection R 45 and R | Intersection R 45 and R310, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
+27 21 874 1021
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent36%
  • Very good28%
  • Average21%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“pita bread” (2 reviews)
“salad” (11 reviews)
“fish cakes” (2 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Gluten Free Options
PRICE
RR - RRR
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
310 Intersection R 45 and R | Intersection R 45 and R310, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

This was the last wine farm we visited on the Wine Tram. We really wished we had more time as it was lovely. The service was great! Unfortunately for us it was rather late in the day, so the kitchen was closed. So we cannot...More

Thank Kimmysa
Ruan O, Manager at Allee Bleue, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear Kimmysa Thank you for your great review and comments about our server Colin. Hopefully next time you can enjoy a leisurely Chicnic under our oak trees! Hope to see you soon again.

Reviewed 1 week ago

We opted for wine tasting and cheese board. This was a lovely experience although the service could have been more attentive. There were many a time that we were waiting for the next tasting glass to be poured, even though we were the only ones...More

Thank Lovetravel090
Ruan O, Manager at Allee Bleue, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Dear Lovetravel090 Thank you for your recent review, and thank you for the lovely comments and feedback that are all taken to heart. Hope to see you soon again ! Kind regards

Reviewed 1 week ago

We have been to Franshoek many times and have visited many vineyards over the years for wine tasting. We visited Allene Bleue as part of the purple wine tour yesterday 7th Jan, and were extremely disappointed. This was by far our worst experience of wine...More

Thank 22jess31
Ruan O, Manager at Allee Bleue, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Good Day 22jess31 I am so sorry to hear about your recent experience at Allee Bleue Estate. Colin has always had great reviews, so this came as a great surprise to me as the Allee Bleue tasting room manager . We strive to deliver only...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Worst lunch I have ever had in the area!! Would not recommend it at all. The service was slow as they were short staffed during season. All the food was salty and nothing was freshly made. Food was on our table within 10 minutes of...More

Thank Jettty81
Ruan O, Manager at Allee Bleue, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Jetty81 Thank you for taking time to visit us and for your comments on your experience. Your comments will be used to develop our customer experience. Kind regards Ruan O

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at the Mill House arriving mid afternoon. Warmly greeted and perfect check in and all ready for us. Arriving at our 2 bedroomed unit alongside the vines in a nice quiet private area, there was a great meat and cheese platter and chilled...More

Thank fcharleswhite
Ruan O, Manager at Allee Bleue, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear fcharleswhite Many thanks for your kind review. Very pleased to hear you enjoyed your time on the farm and hope to see you back soon. Kind regards Ruan O

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Limited menu but good quality, Very big deserts. Attentive personnel... until the time when the place is full and they cannot keep up. But that happens in many places.

Thank homedelsac
Ruan O, Manager at Allee Bleue, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear homedelsac Thank you for taking time to visit us and for your positive comments on your experience. Your comments will be used to develop our customer experience . Festive greetings. Ruan O

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We went there for wine tasting. Only thinly sliced dried bread provided, no cheese. The wines also did not impress our group of foreign friends. NO

Thank kdgarlipp
Ruan O, Manager at Allee Bleue, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear kdgarlipp Thank you for taking time to visit us and for your comments which we will use to develop our customer experience . Kind regards Ruan O

Reviewed 2 December 2017 via mobile

Wine tasting is a given but what I love about allee bleue is it's white and Santorini blue colour scheme, alluring fireplace in cold seasons and most of all, every combination of cheese, bread and soup the chef ever put out ( and I've tried...More

Thank Kashi P
Ruan O, Manager at Allee Bleue, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Dear Kashi P Thank you kindly for your great review. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoy our food offering along with our friendly staff :-) Hope to see you soon again!

Reviewed 21 November 2017

The very best curry ever tasted so says my husband 👏 Had to ask for the recipe, chicken curry with pineapple salsa so good. The slow cooked lamb pittas were delicious. We arrived late afternoon & only two other tables but the waitress was so...More

Thank Howler4
Ruan O, Manager at Allee Bleue, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2017

Dear Howler4 Thank you kindly for your praise of our curry and service at Allee Bleue Bistro. Glad after 10 years that we can still meet your expectations. Hopefully it wont be another 10 years before we see you back again ;-)

Reviewed 20 November 2017

We went for the wine tasting and Allee Bleue Picnic. A basket for two can EASILY feed four. In our basket were two roast beef wraps with herbs, fresh tomato and spicy mayo, two salads, two meat pies, a cheese platter, two loaves of bread,...More

Thank Carolyn B
Ruan O, Manager at Allee Bleue, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2017

Dear Carolyn B Glad you enjoyed your recent picnic with us at Allee Bleue, please come visit us soon again!

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 11 hotels in Franschhoek
Sante Hotel & Spa
189 reviews
7.67 km away
The Hydro at Stellenbosch
88 reviews
8.66 km away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
636 reviews
11.36 km away
Goedemoed Country Inn
48 reviews
11.90 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Werf Restaurant
110 reviews
2.55 km away
La Paris Bistro
14 reviews
4.23 km away
Babel Restaurant
687 reviews
6.57 km away
Ou Meul Farmstall Simondium
7 reviews
1.76 km away
Nearby Attractions
Boschendal Manor & Winery
1 059 reviews
.38 km away
The Franschhoek Motor Museum
1 303 reviews
2.87 km away
Vrede en Lust Winery
364 reviews
3.74 km away
Lynx Wines
295 reviews
5.42 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Anna G
17 December 2016|
Answer
Response from AlleeBleue | Property representative |
Hi , thank you for your enquiry. We are not open on Christmas day for picnics . We do have a set Christmas lunch Menu at R485 per person / R110 per child under 12 . Seats are limited so if you need to make a booking please... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Child-friendly, View
Open Hours
Sunday
8:30 AM - 4:00 PM
Monday
8:30 AM - 4:00 PM
Tuesday
8:30 AM - 4:00 PM
Wednesday
8:30 AM - 4:00 PM
Thursday
8:30 AM - 4:00 PM
Friday
8:30 AM - 4:00 PM
Saturday
8:30 AM - 4:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 310 Intersection R 45 and R | Intersection R 45 and R310, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Franschhoek
  • Phone Number: +27 21 874 1021
  • E-mail
Description
The historical estate of Allée Bleue is nestled at the foot of the majestic Drakenstein Mountains in the Franschhoek Valley. Allée Bleue is known to be one of the oldest yet most characteristic farms in the Cape, producing internationally award winning wines. Our offering on the estate includes boutique accommodation and a Bistro that offers an appetising menu with old classics and newly created herb inspired dishes. Seasonal picnics are very popular under our great oak tree. Allée Bleue is the ideal location to host stylish weddings, trendsetting events and family celebrations.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing