We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Black Swan

RR - RRR, British,
25 Norwich Road, Horsham St Faith NR10 3HJ, England
+44 1603 897787
Website
Share
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent58%
  • Very good22%
  • Average8%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“roast beef” (10 reviews)
“yorkshire pud” (3 reviews)
“prawns” (6 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Contemporary, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
RR - RRR
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
25 Norwich Road, Horsham St Faith NR10 3HJ, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 295 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited with friends for a lunch time get-together. It’s clear major improvements & Investment has been made since our last visit, with the Restaurant side having a complete makeover, it’s very comfortable With new furniture and flooring, the staff were very pleasant and attentive,...More

1  Thank 600Jacko
Andrew N, Owner at The Black Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi, Thank you for your kind and fair review. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your visit and that the improvements (of which there are more to come) met with your approval. We are currently revamping the menu and the revised pie offering, i...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This was the second time visiting the Black Swan as the first visit wasn’t that good BUT we thought at the time we need to come back. First visit was a Sunday lunchtime and it was heaving, etc, etc. Second time was a Saturday evening...More

1  Thank RobertT220
Andrew N, Owner at The Black Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your complimentary review and I am very pleased that you chose to revisit us. I am also gratified that you found the food, drinks and service so satisfactory-we look forward to welcoming you again soon. Andy Neale, owner.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

After a second bad experience I think it’s important to share.. Not a bad place to sit inside and really quite nice to sit outside, unfortunately the food really doesn’t quite justify the price. To clarify, a chicken burger costing £11.95 is perfectly reasonable if...More

1  Thank Cheeseanwine
Andrew N, Owner at The Black Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

I regret that you found it necessary to submit such a review. I feel entitled to state that it is not factually accurate; we don't charge £3.85 for a half of lager and lime, even Birra Moretti, which is the premium brand for which you...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

A great value for money Sunday roast. The cider roast Gammon was my choice which was in abundance alongside a proper home made yorkie and roast potatoes. Accompanied by 5 veggies and lashings of rich gravy was just delicious. Staff very accommodating. Have eaten here...More

1  Thank Karen M
Andrew N, Owner at The Black Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

I am always pleased to receive complimentary reviews such as your own, yesterday, regarding your Sunday lunch. I am pleased you enjoyed your visit and thank you for taking the trouble to write. We look forward to greeting you again soon. Andy Neale, owner

Reviewed 1 October 2018

Great Food, great modern well equipped rooms even if the fire alarm went off early at around 7-30 am on the Sunday when we stay over in August to celebrate my wife's birthday. Didnt worry us a bit. Great food and service throughout as regular...More

1  Thank n0rmanch
Andrew N, Owner at The Black Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2018

Thank you very much for your gracious review. I am very pleased that you had a pleasant stay with us. We much look forward to welcoming you back. Andy Neale, owner

Reviewed 23 September 2018

The room was nice and clean. You could order your breakfast a la carte, with eggs done the way you like it, which was nice. The morning service was attentive; I requested olive oil instead of butter for my toast and I got it within...More

1  Thank zajacam
Andrew N, Owner at The Black Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2018

It is always satisfying to read a review such as yours. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay and I hope you will come and see us again. thank you. Andy Neale, owner.

Reviewed 23 September 2018 via mobile

We were staying up the road at the Elm Country House. (Review up) Wish we had stayed here. Lovely welcoming staff, fabulous atmosphere. They even brought my dog some water. We visited twice for food and drinks, would definitely visit again. A member of our...More

1  Thank Sandra H
Andrew N, Owner at The Black Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2018

Thanks so much for troubling to submit your kind review. I am pleased we looked after you well and that you enjoyed your stay. Thanks again, Andy Neale, owner.

Reviewed 23 September 2018 via mobile

We had heard and read many good things about the Black Swan, so I am sorry to say that it’s not that special. Yes it is good but there are better in the area, I.e. the Plough, the Crown at Banningham etc. The food here...More

1  Thank RobertT220
Andrew N, Owner at The Black Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2018

Thank you for your comments which I read with interest. I agree with you that both The Banningham Crown and The Plough at Hevingham are well run establishments with quality food offerings. You don't mention why you believe they are 'better' other than to say...More

Reviewed 16 September 2018 via mobile

We ate here as with a party of about 40 people I had rump steak which was great and chips cooked to sheer perfection. I didn't have a dessert however those in our party that did were all impressedMore

Thank Rhea d
Andrew N, Owner at The Black Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2018

Thank you for submitting your complimentary comments surrounding your recent group booking in our new function room which is becoming increasingly popular. i'm very pleased your party had a good time and enjoyed the food and service. We hope to see you again soon. Andy...More

Reviewed 16 September 2018 via mobile

The pub is reasonably characterful with bar and dining areas for food. Lunch has a light menu and pizzas are available. We had freshly prepared sandwiches. Small selection of local beers. They advertise a good gin selection which we didn’t have chance to try. Service...More

Thank ADean19
Andrew N, Owner at The Black Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2018

I am gratified that your stay with us met with your approbation, and that you enjoyed the food, service and ambience at The Black Swan. Thank you for taking the time to write your positive review. Andy Neale, owner

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel
520 reviews
2.60 km away
Premier Inn Norwich Airport Hotel
564 reviews
2.73 km away
The Old Rectory Hotel
266 reviews
3.69 km away
The Larches Guest House Norwich
14 reviews
4.01 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Spice of India
189 reviews
2.43 km away
The Thai Way
5 reviews
3.06 km away
Hong Kong
9 reviews
2.53 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Base (Baseline Activity Sports Extreme)
65 reviews
2.79 km away
Hillside Animal Sanctuary
124 reviews
3.79 km away
Manx Transport Heritage Museum
27 reviews
2.34 km away
City of Norwich Aviation Museum
182 reviews
1.32 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Black Swan staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$6 - US$31
Cuisine
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Business meetings, Kids, Groups, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 20:00
08:00 - 10:00
Monday
07:00 - 09:00
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
07:00 - 09:00
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
07:00 - 09:00
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 21:00
Thursday
07:00 - 21:00
Friday
07:00 - 09:00
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 21:15
Saturday
08:00 - 10:00
12:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 25 Norwich Road, Horsham St Faith NR10 3HJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Norfolk  >  Horsham St Faith
  • Phone Number: +44 1603 897787
  • E-mail
Description
Restaurant hours stated are food service times, the pub will remain open until last orders are called in the bar, around 23:00 hours, Mon - Sun.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing