We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Potluck Boskombuis Restaurant

Erasmushoop Farm, Graskop 1270, South Africa
+27 71 539 6773
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent64%
  • Very good24%
  • Average8%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“boerewors” (9 reviews)
“steak” (14 reviews)
“polenta” (3 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
African, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
RR - RRR
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Erasmushoop Farm, Graskop 1270, South Africa
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (301)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago

We found the turn off right from the main road. Drove over the little river/stream, parked and found a path to the small restaurant by the riverside. They bring in the food each day, no electricity. Cash only. When they run out of food, they...More

Thank Lisa M
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

We visited Potluck around 2 o'clock and it was not that busy. The scenery is beautiful and we really loved the T bone steak. If you can, you should really visit it!

Thank Robert-Jan A
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was the best find of our whole trip! Its tucked away in the rocks along the river, the setting is just perfect. The kids can play in the river whilst the adults can watch over them. We didnt eat but there was food available...More

Thank Brett G
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The atmosphere, friendliness and situation of this place is simply out of this world. Prices are very reasonable too! I have to admit and add that the toilet was the highlight of my day. For a true nature lover, this is your place to be....More

Thank Annelievanl
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We have been here many times and had the opportunity to take our friends from Brazil to have this unique experience. The food and service was excellent! A must for people that want to experience something different and have a love for nature...the view is...More

Thank ellefourie
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

WOW!! My family lives in Nelspruit and had always wanted to go so on our visit from the US, we went! The view is stunning, the food was amazing. I am a gluten free, vegetarian so I wasn't sure I could find anything to eat....More

Thank blueskygirl
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A truely South African experience. The menu consists of a selection of South African dishes like boboti, Pap and wors, steak etc. The view is breathtaking. They only make use of cash and don't forget a jacket for the cold breeze. A bit pricy but...More

Thank Björke N
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If you arrive late you will miss out. Really very nice. Cash only. A unique restaurant next to the Trear river.

Thank Melanie B
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited here 7 years ago by chance and always wanted to go back. We did and it is still as awesome as it was then. Food is divine! You sit out in nature and feel so relaxed whilst having a meal. Kids can play...More

Thank hsbartle
Reviewed 3 June 2017 via mobile

I went to Potluck after reading about them on TripAdvisor. Great setting. We got a table at the back and could still see the river. We read that they did have an issue with food availability. We also encountered this problem. Four items on the...More

Thank Christoph V
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Abe' at The Glass House
407 reviews
23.53 km away
Austrian Coffee Estate
6 reviews
26.04 km away
The Hat & Creek - Hoedspruit
400 reviews
41.83 km away
Nearby Attractions
Bourkes' Luck Potholes
547 reviews
6.03 km away
Blyderivierspoort Hiking Trail
28 reviews
15.47 km away
Panorama Route
753 reviews
18.02 km away
Moholoholo Wildlife Rehab Centre
781 reviews
23.67 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Kirsteen B
14 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from BoskombuisChef | Property representative |
Hi Kirsten, we open at 10h00 and close at 16h00. Due to all food prepared fresh daily, some dishes will only be available from 11h00. There are no mobile coverage at the restaurant, hence it is not possible to do bookings... More
1
Vote
IRL_Louisa
26 October 2015|
Answer
Response from Stalisfield28 |
GPS: South 24.93186, East 30.84293
-1
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$6 - US$12
Meals
Lunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Cash Only
Good for
Kids, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, View, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 16:00
Monday
10:00 - 16:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 16:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 16:00
Thursday
10:00 - 16:00
Friday
10:00 - 16:00
Saturday
10:00 - 16:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Erasmushoop Farm, Graskop 1270, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Mpumalanga  >  Graskop
  • Phone Number: +27 71 539 6773
  • E-mail
Description
The word is out on the town and this little "Boskombuis" is creating wonders and just doing something completely different. Welcomed at the humble boma entrance you are escorted into an unforgettable traditional South African dining experience combined with the most splendid views and lazy, no-rush ambiance. Tucked right up against a gigantic round boulder, is a log fire where most of the food is prepared. To the front, pulling the children with an unseen magnetism, is the Treur river, with its crystal clear water, gently flowing a mere stone's throw away from the dining area. The menu itself is short and to the point, with open flame grilled steaks taking the centre stage. Apparently local "potjie" specialities are prepared over weekends. You need to plan a little in advance, the weather can change easily in this part of the world...do take some warm clothes or a blanket. Potluck Boskombuis has no credit card facilities or mobile phone coverage, take enough cash to cater for a blissful outdoor experience that will leave everlasting memories and make one want to visit again and again....
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing