We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Potluck Boskombuis Restaurant

Erasmushoop Farm, Graskop 1270, South Africa
+27 71 539 6773
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent65%
  • Very good23%
  • Average8%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“boerewors” (10 reviews)
“steak” (14 reviews)
“polenta” (3 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
African, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
RR - RRR
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Erasmushoop Farm, Graskop 1270, South Africa
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (326)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Situated on the river banks its a unique experience. Serviing real african food. Excellent location and food. Also good for only a coffee. A must see.

Thank Andrea S
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This was reccomended by our hosts Adam@ Cuckoo Ridge guest lodge. A truly must see, simple, quality service, warm and friendly staff and Manager/Owner with the most delicious ribs ever...

Thank OfentseMatlala
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Recommanded by our hosts at Hazyview, we visited after the beautiful Panorama Route. It was full of tourists looking for authentic african food. Location was nice, belong river side, but extremely windy ! Waiting time was long. Food was nice but not waw .....

Thank camelia100
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Loved this place! There was five of us who ate at Potluck Boskombuis. We all had a great meal and it is very traditional food. It was exactly what we wanted. I had curry and it had a deep/rich flavor and was perfect. My husband...More

Thank Joyce S
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a fantastic lunch here after seeing an advert in a free map we got from the tourist information centre in Sabie. What a find!!!!!! the setting, scenery, food, staff and manager were all exceptional. We both had kudowors and pap, it was fantastic!!...More

Thank hannahtourle
Reviewed 18 August 2017

We visited the restaurant this week and was amazed how popular it is, we counted at least 40 people during lunch. Why is this important? Simply because even with this work load the beers were cold and the food was served within minutes, yes minutes...More

1  Thank Wynand d
BoskombuisChef, Owner at Potluck Boskombuis, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Wynand Thank you for the compliment! We greatly appreciate your review. Hope to see you soon. Regards, The Boskombuis Team

Reviewed 13 August 2017

Has a quick lunch on our way back from the Bourkes Luck potholes. Wonderful setting next to a river. the restaurant closes as 16:00 and we got there at 15:00 with the result that some of the dishes were not available as they had run...More

Thank GvanWyngaardt
Reviewed 7 August 2017

I have visited this wonderful spot a number of times and still love it. The children played in the river, whilst the adults enjoyed a honest meal. Thank you for helping to make memories.

Thank Patricia E
Reviewed 2 August 2017 via mobile

We had lunch here today and loved every part of it. The setting is very idyllic and out of the ordinary, food was great, as was the staff. Do not miss this, it's a true treat!

Thank Jurrien P
Reviewed 21 July 2017

We found the turn off right from the main road. Drove over the little river/stream, parked and found a path to the small restaurant by the riverside. They bring in the food each day, no electricity. Cash only. When they run out of food, they...More

Thank Lisa M
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Austrian Coffee Estate
7 reviews
26.05 km away
The Hat & Creek - Hoedspruit
427 reviews
41.82 km away
THE VINE RESTAURANT
60 reviews
22.03 km away
Nearby Attractions
Bourkes' Luck Potholes
572 reviews
6.03 km away
Blyderivierspoort Hiking Trail
30 reviews
15.46 km away
Panorama Route
782 reviews
18.03 km away
Moholoholo Wildlife Rehab Centre
819 reviews
23.67 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Kirsteen B
14 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from BoskombuisChef | Property representative |
Hi Kirsten, we open at 10h00 and close at 16h00. Due to all food prepared fresh daily, some dishes will only be available from 11h00. There are no mobile coverage at the restaurant, hence it is not possible to do bookings... More
2
Votes
IRL_Louisa
26 October 2015|
Answer
Response from Stalisfield28 |
GPS: South 24.93186, East 30.84293
-1
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$6 - US$12
Meals
Lunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Cash Only
Good for
Local cuisine, Kids, View, Child-friendly, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 16:00
Monday
10:00 - 16:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 16:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 16:00
Thursday
10:00 - 16:00
Friday
10:00 - 16:00
Saturday
10:00 - 16:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Erasmushoop Farm, Graskop 1270, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Mpumalanga  >  Graskop
  • Phone Number: +27 71 539 6773
  • E-mail
Description
The word is out on the town and this little "Boskombuis" is creating wonders and just doing something completely different. Welcomed at the humble boma entrance you are escorted into an unforgettable traditional South African dining experience combined with the most splendid views and lazy, no-rush ambiance. Tucked right up against a gigantic round boulder, is a log fire where most of the food is prepared. To the front, pulling the children with an unseen magnetism, is the Treur river, with its crystal clear water, gently flowing a mere stone's throw away from the dining area. The menu itself is short and to the point, with open flame grilled steaks taking the centre stage. Apparently local "potjie" specialities are prepared over weekends. You need to plan a little in advance, the weather can change easily in this part of the world...do take some warm clothes or a blanket. Potluck Boskombuis has no credit card facilities or mobile phone coverage, take enough cash to cater for a blissful outdoor experience that will leave everlasting memories and make one want to visit again and again....
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing