We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Table Service, Live Music
Reviews (106)
Filter reviews
103 results
Traveller rating
23
37
15
14
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
23
37
15
14
14
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 24 September 2020 via mobile

This is a great place, with and even better view of thousand hills. The staff was super helpful and the food even better. I was pleasantly surprised by the quality and taste of the food. The atmosphere and cleanliness of the place is brilliant. Worth...visiting when in the area.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?2  
Reviewed 20 September 2020

Very disappointing. I called in mintinues before arriving to ask if they where opened, they me yes till kitchen closes at 3.30. I said great I'm coming on my way, the lady on the call never mentioned had to make reservation. I even looked at...the website and Facebook before planning to come. Made a special trip to sit and see the view at the award reviewed site. I didnt argue but note they was not even busy but was told they are fully booked. Well they dont need customers! support the phezulu restaurant rather great food and view with excellent service and better activities and environments is great.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
heididevitt, Owner at The Pot & Kettle, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2020

Good day I am terribly sorry for your experience. Sundays are extremely busy and we are still working with only half our seating capacity due to government law. Unfortunately it is advisable to book for a Sunday. If you were informed that we were fully...More

Reviewed 2 February 2020 via mobile

Lovely setting. Of our group all but one had a good experience. We discovered the chef does not know how to cook fish, unless you like yours like leather. Taitress apologized and said they were extremely busy hence the possible over cooked fish. Definitely wasn't...worth the moneyMore

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
Heidi D, Owner at The Pot & Kettle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2020

Good day Unfortunately this was nothing to do how the chef cooks it. We contacted the supplier and it definitely was the quality of the product. We are now sticking Sea Harvest from a different supplier. My griller has worked for me for 15 yrs...More

Reviewed 19 December 2019 via mobile

Situated over looking the majestic valley of a 1000 hills friendly waiters quality food and well priced drinks perfect outing to unwind

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed 9 December 2019

Have to admit being somewhat distracted as visited on the day of the World Cup rugby final! It wasn't as busy as usual (probably because of the rugby) but a good venue to meet friends half way between Pmb and Durban. Service was great and...our waitron was very attentive even with water. Nice laid back venue for breakfast with a great view.More

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?
Heidi D, Owner at The Pot & Kettle, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2019

Thanks for your feedback. We were actually closed on rugby final day, so not sure if u were aware We had a private function on that day. Regards Heidi

Reviewed 9 October 2019

Wonderful views, superb meal, great staff. We sat comfortably looking over the Valley of 1000 Hills, in the sun and enjoyed a wonderful meal with good coffee. A definite place to go and eat.

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?
Heidi D, Owner at The Pot & Kettle, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2019

Thank you so much for the lovely positive review. Please claim your complimentary cappuccino on your next visit Regards Heidi

Reviewed 28 September 2019 via mobile

After visiting the Zulu show up the road, stopped here for an included lunch. The red wine was very nice, no idea what make it was as it was by the glass. Husband had the beef pie, which had an enormous, oval shaped, flat pastry...lid, whilst the pie underneath was in a smaller, round dish. Husband said it was like a peppery stew. I had the vegetarian burger which came missing the mushroom sauce stated in the menu, but I asked for a salad dressing instead. The burger was tiny, the bun was huge. Tasted OK, nothing special. The potato wedges we both had were very nice and crispy. The service was slow, but there were 17 of us and the waiter was very pleasant. The view was nice, but I wouldn't say it was amazing, as the natural beauty has been spoilt by buildings littering the hillsides.More

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?
Heidi D, Front Office Manager at The Pot & Kettle, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2019

Good day Thank you for your constructive input. I will endevour to tackle the few issues you pointed out. The house red wine, Nederberg Baronne is very popular. Apologies for the service. Will deal with the waiter on that as well. Sadly litter in South...More

Reviewed 11 August 2019

Sunday lunch today was disappointing for a few reasons. Not all items on the a la carte menu were available. Waitress although friendly overshared somewhat her single parental status which may have been a ploy to get a bigger tip. Our pot pies were served...in what looked a dessert bowl instead of a pie dish which was very different from the last time we visited. No management presence to check on us during our 2 hour visit. The view was great as always and we appreciated the live music.More

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?2  
Heidi D, Owner at The Pot & Kettle, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2019

Good day. Thank you for your constructive critism. Unfortunately the said waitress has received numerous warnings regarding this, and will be dealt with. We had unfortunately run out of peppersteak pie, due to the how demand. There were 2 management on the floor. We serve...More

Reviewed 22 July 2019

Great views, ample parking, area for kids to run around, nice building. Lovely local craft beer. Food the least good part but still fine.

Date of visit: July 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 July 2019

I was visiting my elderly dad in Hillcrest for 2 weeks from Canada and we decided to drive out to the Pot and Kettle for Friday lunch. Wonderful views, seated on the covered veranda. For a Friday, they were quite busy. The meals for the...4 of us were: spicy chicken livers, fish and chips, pepper steak pot pie and chicken pot pie. Everything was delicious, so mouthwatering. Super service, friendly staff. Super relaxing atmosphere, no rush whatsoever. Great service and to be able to see the wildlife (monkeys) darting in and out of the trees and under tables out on the patio was fantastic. Will definitely recommend and will go again before I leave SA back to Canada.More

Date of visit: May 2019
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Makaranga Lodge
164 reviews
9.56 km away
Premier Splendid Inn Pinetown
313 reviews
14.81 km away
Glenmore Guest House
1 review
27.11 km away
Coastlands Musgrave Hotel
388 reviews
27.46 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Treat Cafe
63 reviews
4.52 km away
The Classroom Cafe
30 reviews
.20 km away
Cafe 66
17 reviews
2.21 km away
Stretta
213 reviews
4.53 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
The Puzzle Place
16 reviews
.07 km away
Aqua Wild Africa
25 reviews
7.36 km away
Watercrest Mall
22 reviews
7.88 km away
Springside Nature Reserve
10 reviews
5.64 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Pot & Kettle staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Pot & Kettle

  • The Pot & Kettle is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
    • Food: 3.5
    • Service: 3
    • Value: 3.5
    • Atmosphere: 3.5