We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Table Service, Live Music
Reviews (109)
Filter reviews
106 results
Traveller rating
24
37
16
14
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
24
37
16
14
15
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Really enjoyable experience. Love the rustic feel and homely food. Only the roast was available, but we were fine with that. Roast was very good and reasonable, considering dessert was included. Our waiter, Seth, was very pleasant and kept us updated regarding the food times....It was very busy, so the food was slightly delayed but we enjoyed the atmosphere so much that we didn't mind waiting an extra few minutes. Well done Heidi and team, a very enjoyable lunch!More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 8 February 2022 via mobile

My hubby and I visited the area and decided to eat here. Very poor service. Waited 10 minuites for waite. r . The hostess were more interested in gossiping in front. I went to the bar person and asked for a waiter, my husband then...went to call again, eventually when waitress came, she went to another table appologised fir taking long saying short staff, them came to us and took everyone's order which took forever before she eventually put the order through, we were ready to leave. Also very noisy where kids were screaming. View not that fantasting...so after 20 minute'sthe hostess asked if she can take our order, still waiting for the drinks we ordered..... Food took forever to come. I suggest don't go on a Sunday as you will get poor service.More

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 12 December 2021 via mobile

Sunday - stopped for a light lunch - service was good, view was good - despite the creeping urbanization, food was good. But then the singer!! Tone deaf - droning - most of the songs attempted were totally unrecognizable. If you enjoy music then this...is where it comes to be murdered!More

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?1  
Heidi D, Owner at The Pot & Kettle, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2021

Good day Thank you for your review. Really appreciate constructive criticism.

Reviewed 24 September 2020 via mobile

This is a great place, with and even better view of thousand hills. The staff was super helpful and the food even better. I was pleasantly surprised by the quality and taste of the food. The atmosphere and cleanliness of the place is brilliant. Worth...visiting when in the area.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?2  
Reviewed 20 September 2020

Very disappointing. I called in mintinues before arriving to ask if they where opened, they me yes till kitchen closes at 3.30. I said great I'm coming on my way, the lady on the call never mentioned had to make reservation. I even looked at...the website and Facebook before planning to come. Made a special trip to sit and see the view at the award reviewed site. I didnt argue but note they was not even busy but was told they are fully booked. Well they dont need customers! support the phezulu restaurant rather great food and view with excellent service and better activities and environments is great.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
heididevitt, Owner at The Pot & Kettle, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2020

Good day I am terribly sorry for your experience. Sundays are extremely busy and we are still working with only half our seating capacity due to government law. Unfortunately it is advisable to book for a Sunday. If you were informed that we were fully...More

Reviewed 2 February 2020 via mobile

Lovely setting. Of our group all but one had a good experience. We discovered the chef does not know how to cook fish, unless you like yours like leather. Taitress apologized and said they were extremely busy hence the possible over cooked fish. Definitely wasn't...worth the moneyMore

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
Heidi D, Owner at The Pot & Kettle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2020

Good day Unfortunately this was nothing to do how the chef cooks it. We contacted the supplier and it definitely was the quality of the product. We are now sticking Sea Harvest from a different supplier. My griller has worked for me for 15 yrs...More

Reviewed 19 December 2019 via mobile

Situated over looking the majestic valley of a 1000 hills friendly waiters quality food and well priced drinks perfect outing to unwind

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed 9 December 2019

Have to admit being somewhat distracted as visited on the day of the World Cup rugby final! It wasn't as busy as usual (probably because of the rugby) but a good venue to meet friends half way between Pmb and Durban. Service was great and...our waitron was very attentive even with water. Nice laid back venue for breakfast with a great view.More

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?
Heidi D, Owner at The Pot & Kettle, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2019

Thanks for your feedback. We were actually closed on rugby final day, so not sure if u were aware We had a private function on that day. Regards Heidi

Reviewed 9 October 2019

Wonderful views, superb meal, great staff. We sat comfortably looking over the Valley of 1000 Hills, in the sun and enjoyed a wonderful meal with good coffee. A definite place to go and eat.

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?
Heidi D, Owner at The Pot & Kettle, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2019

Thank you so much for the lovely positive review. Please claim your complimentary cappuccino on your next visit Regards Heidi

Reviewed 28 September 2019 via mobile

After visiting the Zulu show up the road, stopped here for an included lunch. The red wine was very nice, no idea what make it was as it was by the glass. Husband had the beef pie, which had an enormous, oval shaped, flat pastry...lid, whilst the pie underneath was in a smaller, round dish. Husband said it was like a peppery stew. I had the vegetarian burger which came missing the mushroom sauce stated in the menu, but I asked for a salad dressing instead. The burger was tiny, the bun was huge. Tasted OK, nothing special. The potato wedges we both had were very nice and crispy. The service was slow, but there were 17 of us and the waiter was very pleasant. The view was nice, but I wouldn't say it was amazing, as the natural beauty has been spoilt by buildings littering the hillsides.More

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?
Heidi D, Front Office Manager at The Pot & Kettle, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2019

Good day Thank you for your constructive input. I will endevour to tackle the few issues you pointed out. The house red wine, Nederberg Baronne is very popular. Apologies for the service. Will deal with the waiter on that as well. Sadly litter in South...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Makaranga Lodge
164 reviews
9.56 km away
Premier Splendid Inn Pinetown
313 reviews
14.81 km away
Glenmore Guest House
1 review
27.11 km away
Coastlands Musgrave Hotel
394 reviews
27.46 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Classroom Cafe
30 reviews
.20 km away
Shunyata Sanctuary
7 reviews
.46 km away
1000 Hills Chef School Restaurant
13 reviews
.46 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
The Puzzle Place
16 reviews
.07 km away
Aqua Wild Africa
25 reviews
7.36 km away
Springside Nature Reserve
10 reviews
5.66 km away
1000 Hills Brewing Company
10 reviews
.25 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Pot & Kettle staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Pot & Kettle

The Pot & Kettle is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 3.5
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 3.5
  • Atmosphere: 3.5