We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fusionista

14 Rabie Street, Randburg 2194, South Africa
+27 11 793 4796
Website
Share
Save
Certificate of Excellence
All photos (47)
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent71%
  • Very good17%
  • Average5%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Sushi, Asian, Thai, Fusion, Philippine, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
RR - RRR
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
LOCATION
14 Rabie Street, Randburg 2194, South Africa
All Details
Top 3 Reasons to Eat Here
Sponsored by: Fusionista
1. Awesome Asian
" The Asian food they serve is absolutely divine!"
Susan
See reviews that mention Asian
2. Amazing Ambiance
"This was amazing! It felt like I left South Africa behind"
esmarie2017
See reviews that mention tasty food
3. Unforgettable Experience
"My overall experience was really really fantastic."
Roberta C
See reviews that mention Experience
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Based on previous reviews I expected an amazing experience. But in all honesty I’ve had better Asian at Kai Tai and Simply Asia. Saigon is still streets ahead. Fusionista was at best, average and I wouldn’t be in a hurry to return.More

Thank NicciRobertson
Amalia1234, Owner at Fusionista, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We regret that you only found Fusionista to be average, which is of great concern to us. We have had no customer complaints for sometime and you do not say which dishes you ordered.Our number one priority at Fusionista is to be a top rated...More

Restaurant's Favourite
Reviewed 24 November 2017 via mobile

From the moment attentative staff came running with a huge umbrella to help us inside as we drove in- in the pouring rain, to the beautiful tranquil setting as we entered the restaurant , it became on unforgettable experience! Exquisite, delicate, delicious cuisine. A favourite...More

2  Thank Leonilda K
Amalia1234, Owner at Fusionista, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

Hi Leonilda - Thank you from all of us at Fusionista for your awesome review. Beside your amazing description of our cuisine, cocktails and ambiance, its always great when someone takes the time to appreciate and comment on the little extras we provide to make...More

Reviewed 7 April 2018 via mobile

The wife and I had dinner there on 06 April 18. What a great treat. Great staff that attend to your every need from the guy look g after the car, to the waiter, to the chef and I'm the way to the owner. All...More

Thank Chad D
Amalia1234, Owner at Fusionista, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Thank you very much Chad for your positive review. Always great to receive appreciation from someone who is able to appreciate authentic Asian food. We look forward to treating you to another fantastic Fusionista experience in the near future!

Reviewed 24 March 2018

The most tasteless Pad Thai I have ever eaten. The restaurant is located in a really dark area. I was negatively surprised since the Tripadvisor rating was good.More

Thank Lars N
Amalia1234, Owner at Fusionista, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

We regret that you did not enjoy your Pad Thai, which you have commented on in your one and only review of a restaurant on Tripadvisor. We also note that you had a takeaway Phad Thai. We have only had one other complaint about a...More

Reviewed 11 March 2018 via mobile

I can honestly say that I have not visited Fusionista once where I have not been treated like royalty, and I am stunned that the food is exceptional EVERY time doesn’t matter what I order. I don’t mind driving 40min because there is no other...More

1  Thank angeliqueerasmus84
Amalia1234, Owner at Fusionista, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Hi Angelique. The fact that you are prepared to travel many times for 40 minutes to visit us, passing many restaurants on the way, says it all. Thanks a million for your great review and we very much look forward to your next visit :-)

Reviewed 6 March 2018

Excellent food and excellent service! We didn't know the restaurant, just googled Thai and happened upon it. We love Wangthai and 2 Thai 4 and were tossing up between those when we found Fusionista. WHAT a menu!!! We loved the fact that there was so...More

Thank lieslmcilwraith
Amalia1234, Owner at Fusionista, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Thank you so much Liesl. So glad you decided to spend your special evening as our guest and that you had a great time! We hope you pay us another visit soon :-)

Reviewed 22 January 2018 via mobile

Besides the carry bag, we found the food to be pretty disappointing, as visitors to the area wanting a quick Sushi/Thai fix, we went onto trip advisor for a suggestion. As the highest rated location we opted to give it a try. Admittedly takeaway sushi...More

Thank Kalahari C
Amalia1234, Owner at Fusionista, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2018

As you correctly state "takeaway sushi and Thai is never as good as eating it at (the) restaurant and so it is hard to judge the restaurant experience." It is well-known that both Thai and sushi food do not travel well and as such we...More

Reviewed 12 January 2018 via mobile

Found a gem on our front doorstep that was unknown for 2 years. Had an awesome evening with wife, good food, service and ambience. We'll done David Smith and Co.More

Thank Leon N
Amalia1234, Owner at Fusionista, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2018

And We'll Be Waiting For You, with more tempting dishes to treat your taste buds to :-). So glad you discovered us. Pity it took so long but now you know that you have mouth-watering Asian cuisine around the corner from you we hope to...More

Reviewed 12 January 2018

Last Saturday in the sweltering heat, we popped in for a quick bit to eat and to cool down. I felt like sushi, and found this place on google, so decided to give them a try. We were very impressed. Menu is extensive. Decor is...More

Thank Gillian S
Amalia1234, Owner at Fusionista, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2018

Thank you so much Gillian. Looking forward to hosting you again when you feel like some more delicious sushi 🍣 or other Asian food 😋

Reviewed 5 January 2018 via mobile

What a disappointing evening at Fusionista, firstly no duck and no dim sum Asian food mainstays? We got past this and ordered our meals the only decent thing was the sashimi salad and our waitress Tiffany’ service. The Vietnamese leaf parcel was tough and tasteless,...More

Thank Grant F
Amalia1234, Owner at Fusionista, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

We regret that you did not enjoy your meal. Our aim at Fusionista is to create a unique and special dining experience serving the finest Asian food. We are therefore all deeply upset after reading your harshly critical review. However your review does require a...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 8 hotels in Randburg
Road Lodge Randburg
42 reviews
.59 km away
Mercure Johannesburg Randburg
172 reviews
1.20 km away
Sierra on Main
74 reviews
1.37 km away
Sierra Square Hotel
16 reviews
1.39 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Cafe Duarte
30 reviews
1.23 km away
M Squared Bakery & Coffee Shop
23 reviews
1.24 km away
Alpine Restaurant
46 reviews
1.19 km away
Nearby Attractions
Fusionista Beauty and Spa
32 reviews
.08 km away
Adventure Golf
23 reviews
1.51 km away
Brightwater Commons
40 reviews
1.26 km away
The Barnyard Theatre Cresta
84 reviews
.82 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Nompumelelo D
27 July 2017|
Answer
Response from Amalia1234 | Property representative |
Hi Nompumele. You do not need to make a dinner reservation. We can always make a plan for a table for two, even on a busy night.
1
Vote
Christelle C
24 December 2016|
Answer
Response from Amalia1234 | Property representative |
Sorry Christelle but we are currently not doing a sushi buffet. We are closed at the moment and will reopen on Tuesday the 3rd January. Hope to see you in the New Year.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
Average prices
US$39 - US$185
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Takeout, Outdoor Seating
Good for
Child-friendly, Business meetings, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 17:00
Monday
11:00 - 22:30
Tuesday
11:00 - 22:30
Wednesday
11:00 - 22:30
Thursday
11:00 - 22:30
Friday
11:00 - 22:30
Saturday
11:00 - 22:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 14 Rabie Street, Randburg 2194, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Gauteng  >  Greater Johannesburg  >  Randburg
  • Phone Number: +27 11 793 4796
  • E-mail
Description
If you are looking for something very different but still very special Fusionista is for you! Our menu is a combination of Eastern Cuisine from various countries including Cambodia, Vietnam, Laos, Japan, China, Malaysia, Thailand, Singapore and the Philippines. Savour the flavours of the East served with a slight fusion twist whilst you chill out in an exotic ambiance. Perfectly blended flavours and natural ingredients combine subtly, creating dishes with unique taste sensations that linger on the palette. From delectable sushi to mouth-watering Asian steaks to our Vegetarian menu to our amazing array of starters, soups and salads we truly spoil you for choice. Try our 9-course Taste Bud Tour of the East for an unforgettable culinary experience. Round off your meal with one of our decadent desserts including unique offerings such as our 12 flavoured soccer ball sorbet: - And cap it all off with one of our awesome cocktails including the one of a kind Fusionista Flaming Ferrari.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;