We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Colonial Restaurant - CLOSED

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2016 - 2017 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
European
Meals
Drinks, Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours
FEATURES
Reservations

Location and contact

Reviews (228)
Filter reviews
225 results
Traveller rating
160
29
10
10
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
160
29
10
10
16
See what travellers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 225 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2018 via mobile

Colonial restaurant had such great food. The colonial restaurant has moved from magaliesburg to hekpoort and the name has changed to Heksies hide away. Still serving the best food in town has a great view of the mountains, animal friendly.beautiful environment fresh air and the...More

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank JohnathonG28
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Good atmosphere! Good service. Food was great and staff friendly. Will most certainly go back. Love the new site. This place is a gem

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Napoleon M
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

I hAve been going to this great restaurant for years and years and it just gets better snd better especially now that they have moved to better location! Superb service wine food vibe snd live music on weekends!!! Will keep coming back and bringing my...More

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Art H
Reviewed 9 February 2018 via mobile

Colonial is a fantastic restaurant! They have moved to better premises in the country offering a fantastic relaxing environment. The food is out of the world!!! Beauty of nature surrounds you!!! Fantastic new premises.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank beautynature
Reviewed 1 January 2018 via mobile

The new venue is so lovely and the food was great as usual. Definitely worth the trip. Great family place with a great view

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank mpilo98
hekpoortheksie, Owner at Colonial Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

So glad you had a really good time , we always try our best Thanks katy

Reviewed 17 December 2017 via mobile

As the key competitor of Black Horse, we expected a good atmosphere, upmarket venue, exceptional service and excellent food. And we got nothing like it at all. There is no menu, the decor is tattered and the prices inflated.More

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank burgerdnl
hekpoortheksie, Owner at Colonial Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2017

Hello we don’t see ourselves as a competitor to black horse , we don’t have the funds to establish ourselves like them , we are a very basic little restaurant where one should not have high expectations. Our furniture is unfortunately all we have and...More

Reviewed 11 December 2017 via mobile

Great food and vibe ....good fot family or romantic date even bring the dogs ! a place to linger longer with good wine good music food and friends!

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank apie1967
hekpoortheksie, Owner at Colonial Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2017

Thank you so much !! We are very doggie friendly Offer river and forest and lots of open space .

Reviewed 22 October 2017

colonial restaurant moved to hekpoort only ten minutes up the road.much nicer premises and they go under the name heksies hideaway,best food and great vieuw and good service and excellent products, definitly worth the day. casual veranda atmosphere.

Date of visit: July 2017
1  Thank gveryard257
hekpoortheksie, Owner at Colonial Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2017

Yes we are very happy with our new premises ! And love our little Casual farm restaurant !

Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

The Colonial has moved to a new spot a little further down the road just outside of Magaliesberg on the R96, the new venue and space is better suited for what they do, it has a more intimate feel and is away from that main...More

Date of visit: October 2017
1  Thank Naphon712
Reviewed 6 July 2017

Our waiter was very friendly and helpful, and VERY concerned whether we enjoyed our meals. She was worried when a meal wasn't finished as it might be horrible. The food service was slow. There seemed to be only two people serving the 3-4 tables. Our...More

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank davidlR2225IM
View more reviews
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing