We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About
The Lighthouse Café has a beautiful ambience; it is an inviting space, light & airy with a French Provençal and Coastal feel which makes one feel right at home.Together Brett and Heleen as owners, chef and hosts have truly created a “home from home” experience for their customers. Please note that we are NOT a Vegan friendly restaurant.
PRICE RANGE
US$9 - US$24
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
CUISINES
Cafe
FEATURES
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Street Parking, Wine and Beer
Reviews (909)
Filter reviews
725 results
Traveller rating
469
193
39
11
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
469
193
39
11
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bouillabaisse pork belly chickpea burger mussels peri peri chicken fish carrot cake filet light house the main street service was excellent cape town relaxed atmosphere cape point south africa simonstown specials
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 11 November 2020 via mobile

Girlfriend and I popped in for a quick lunch (after looking for recommended restaurants in the area) and were not disappointed at all, we both had beer battered hake and the portions were huge and delicious. We didn't want the experience to end so we...ordered the apple crumble dessert and that was amazing. Prince was our waiter and he was professional and on point. I highly recommend giving this cafe a visit if you are in Simon's Town. A++More

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?
Heleen M, Owner at The Lighthouse Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

thank you for such an excellent review, so happy you had our delicious fish 'n chips and apple berry crumble, our signature dessert. Hope to see you soon again! Heleen

Reviewed 12 October 2020

Have often visited and left relatively satisfied, certainly not the best in the area but not the worst either! However on our last visit our food was tasteless, the cheap catering bacon with no bacon just fat was just thrown on a plate and presented....We called the manager but the attitude was one of so what... so sad to bad. And so sad to bad for you, as the customer votes with their feet far, far away for this one.... a much nicer experience on the beach in Fish Hoek at The Gallery, where one does not feel ripped off coupled with bad service.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
HeleenM987, Owner at The Lighthouse Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2020

this is just terrible to read. We have been nominated the best restaurant in the area for the last 7 years and I am really disappointed to read about the food and the Manager's attitude, something we will take up with both Management and Chef...More

Reviewed 15 July 2020

We saw the Sunday Lunch Roast advertised and as a sunny day was in prospect between the cold fronts , we decided to book and take the 45 minute scenic drive from home. What a disappointment We sat a a very cramped table in the...window, asked for non-alcoholic beer which was not available, no suggestion made and waited for our pre-ordered food. It arrived after ten minutes or so, an enormous plate so full that the rice accompaniment was in a separate dish,together with gravy and an unidentified sauce. Worse still, the food was cold with congealed dressing on the broccoli. It went back and hot food returned, but the damage had been done. We moved on for dessert and coffee.More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?1  
HeleenM987, Owner at The Lighthouse Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2020

I am so sorry for your disappointing experience with us. We are striving to give our customers the same quality of service and food that we are known for but, sometimes the wheels do fall off. this is not an excuse and would love for...More

Reviewed 17 March 2020

Serving great breakfasts, morning coffee, lunch and dinner with friendly charm...the carrot cake is fabulous!

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 14 March 2020

We stopped because it's #1 here on Tripadvisor. We know why. The food was delicious and the staff friendly. One thing on their menu I've never seen before was 1/2 a pizza and full greek salad. This was perfect for my hubby. More places should...do this. Highly recommendedMore

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 6 March 2020

Each of our party raved about their excellent meal. There was a happy buzz and a most pleasant feel. Super range of special, bespoke dishes. Highly recommended -we will certainly make a point of returning.

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?1  
HeleenM987, Owner at The Lighthouse Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2020

Fantastic, we love it when that "happy buzz" is going! Thank you very much for a great review..Heleen

Reviewed 24 February 2020

It's welcome to find a decent place to lunch in somewhere like Simon's Town. Most people seem to arrive in the town, catch the penguins on the beach, then disappear, so I'm guessing there's only a finite amount of trade and The Lighthouse (judging by...its full tables) catches most of that. And the food's not bad. It's just nothing special. And sometimes careless. In a mixed fish dish, two of my six or seven mussels were served unopened - never a good sign. But the folk are friendly, a cooling drink gratefully received, and maybe I simply got a bad rub of the green..More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?1  
HeleenM987, Owner at The Lighthouse Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2020

You know why we "catch" most of the trade? It is because of our reputation and the work we've done for the last 7 years to keep our reputation, standards and consistency up at all times, we have visitors from all over the world who...More

Reviewed 22 February 2020

Best value for money I had the whole time we were in CT and it took me till the last morning I was there to try, cracking fresh interior design, great staff, lovely management and awesome food. Just what you want when dining out, and...to add it was the cheapest meal we had out of all the restaurants we visited and there were a few. Thanks guys keep up the great work.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?1  
HeleenM987, Owner at The Lighthouse Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2020

Oh I am happy you discovered us, we have customers who eat with us every single day they stay in Simonstown, come for breakfast, come for lunch, come for supper, we love it!

Reviewed 21 February 2020 via mobile

Short read - this place is just incredible, go if you are anywhere near and consider changing your route if not. Longer read - We got lucky, we were doing the peninsula and had just visited the penguins. We were going for utility lunch but...thank god the beach restaurant was full so we figured there must be something in town. We were thinking toasted sandwich. Quick trip advisor said go here so we did, got last table. A number of things set this place apart, the food and the service. The food just isn't what it should be in a little cafe in a small town, it is easy eating standards but just cooked to a very high level, my daughter had the chickpea burger which was incredible. The staff are exceptional, the common thread through every other restaurant we have eaten in this visit has been that the people who serve us are friendly enough but lacking in training. If you told me the Lighthouse was a cooperative and founded by everyone who worked there I would believe you, what a difference. Strange colonial decor which makes you feel a bit uncomfortable as an English person, but brilliant restaurant.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?1  
HeleenM987, Owner at The Lighthouse Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2020

Oh my word thank you for a brilliant review! We work VERY hard at getting our service absolutely right, our staff are brilliant and so is our GM who work very closely with everyone. My husband trained our chefs who now kicks him out the...More

Reviewed 31 January 2020

Friends who were staying in Simon's Town took us there and we had a really nice meal. It had a different feel - it is quite bistro like - and we like the atmosphere. The food was great and quantity excellent. I suppose its only...drawback is being on the wrong side of the main road but everything else scores highly.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?2  
Heleen M, Owner at The Lighthouse Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2020

Thank you! We sort of consider ourselves lucky not to be on the other side of the main road as we are part of the "strip" in Simonstown and our outside tables create a lovely European feel, everyone wants to sit there, even at night...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
aha Simons Town Quayside Hotel
638 reviews
.13 km away
Simonstown Quayside Hotel
18 reviews
.21 km away
Calders Hotel & Conference Centre
60 reviews
5.88 km away
Colona Castle
105 reviews
11.18 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Sweetest Thing
202 reviews
.07 km away
Saveur
705 reviews
.12 km away
Salty Sea Dog
744 reviews
.11 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
South African Naval Museum
112 reviews
.34 km away
Simon's Town Museum
105 reviews
.44 km away
Just Nuisance
79 reviews
.04 km away
Jubilee Square & Jetty, Simon's Town
42 reviews
.17 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Leon R
29 December 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from michelle s | Reviewed this property |
I believe they are closed on Sunday evenings..but we had tea and cake at 3 in the afternoon. :-)
0
Votes
jacreesy
22 December 2017|
Answer
Response from Heleen M | Property representative |
Hi there, i will make a booking for you on Wednesday 7.30pm with pleasure, please call the restaurant on 021 786 9000 with a contact number or if you need to communicate anything else as I am not on my laptop all the time... More
0
Votes
jacreesy
19 December 2017|
Answer
Response from Heleen M | Property representative |
Hi there David & Jacqui, we are unfortunately closed on 1 & January, re-opening on 3 Jan.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing