We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Punjabi Kitchen Restaurant

Eden Plaza | 8 Grave Street, Mossel Bay 6506, South Africa
+27 44 690 5020
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent59%
  • Very good27%
  • Average7%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“samosas” (19 reviews)
“curry” (30 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Indian, Healthy, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
RR - RRR
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Eden Plaza | 8 Grave Street, Mossel Bay 6506, South Africa
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (314)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 302 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Five Stars for the best lamb curry and first time ever eating a whole wheat roti, which was amazing. Even ordered samosas as takeaway.More

Thank Wickuscoetzee
42Gill, Owner at Punjabi Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for the glorious review on Punjabi Kitchen. I read your review on Google wherein you went further to state, "Honestly, the best lamb curry anywhere in South Africa." As someone who travels a lot, these words mean a lot to us and the...More

Reviewed 3 days ago

This is a fantastic venue for family visits or functions but the draw card is the food. Freshly prepared with all the tastes you normally think of when wanting Indian. Highly recommended.More

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank bradley386
42Gill, Owner at Punjabi Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you very much for your very kind comments. Fish needs special care when cook to avoid it breaking or allowing spices to over power its natural flavors. That is why our fiish curry and ostrich curry are becoming very popular. We strive to maintain...More

Reviewed 6 days ago

We were on holiday in SA and had some time to spare in Mosselbai to find a snack lunch and came across this place - and were really pleased we did so. We ate in the cafe area, not the restaurant (although both were offered)...More

Thank LSWUk
42Gill, Owner at Punjabi Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for reviewing Punjabi Kitchen so quickly. It was a pleasure to be able to discuss your travel plans and pass some information. We hope it was helpful. We are delighted you enjoyed the food. We shall look forward to your return visit.

Reviewed 1 week ago

We had reached the restaurant on a quiet night and thought unlikely to be able to get a meal since the hole place looked deserted. However, once we exchanged greetings with the proprietor, we got a hearty meal of our choice washed down with excellent...More

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank dilip_modi
42Gill, Manager at Punjabi Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you very much for your kind words and for sharing your experience with readers of Trip Advisor reviews. As explained, I am 76 and both my wife and I had retired. We inherited a take-away business due to the owner's inability to continue. We...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Very welcoming. Young lady that served us was very helpful and friendly. Food was delicious. RecommendedMore

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank Ward1822
42Gill, Owner at Punjabi Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for sharing your experience at Punjabi Kitchen with would-be fellow travelers who, we are confident, will certainly benefit from it. We are delighted that you enjoyed not just the food but the entire package of the venue and service. We understand you were...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Received excellent service. The waiter approach professional. Felt comfortable and at ease.Beautiful setup of room.

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank alfredd987
42Gill, Manager at Punjabi Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your compliments. At Punjabi Kitchen we always strive to give our best service and food in one of the cleanest venues in Eden District. Thank you for your support.

Reviewed 1 week ago

You go abroad for the cultural diversity, well, I do at least: so it was something of a surprise to find a restaurant in South Africa so reminiscent of a very good Indian restaurant in Britain. The owners had emigrated from Leicester and Peterborough if...More

Thank NoSybarite
42Gill, Owner at Punjabi Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you very much for a lovely review on Punjabi Kitchen. It is really appreciated. We strive to provide the best food and service within human capability within the constraints of spices and other ingredients and we are delighted that you like the food. Thanks...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Food was OK, but the owner was rude, no sense to talk n greet people. A big No specially for indiansMore

Thank Sonal J
42Gill, Owner at Punjabi Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

It is important that those who read your review should know our side of the story as well. Your guide had rung and booked meals for 8 of you with two Jains for whom special dishes had to be cooked. We were told you would...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had samosas as a starter and they were divine!! Hubby had the butter chicken and I the lamb curry. The flavors are impeccable but we love hot curry and their hot isn't very hot. I had some of the deserts, not something I would...More

Thank Helen H
42Gill, Owner at Punjabi Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your very descriptive comments on the food at Punjabi Kitchen. We are delighted that you loved our samosas and enjoyed the meat dishes. Unfortunately Indian sweet dishes are an acquired taste and not everyone's cup of tea. Those who like them, come...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Almost stumbled across this gem in a small shopping mall by accident. Although the whole mall was empty and close to closing they graciously accepted our order. We were able to order the butter chicken which actually was supposed to be pre booked in advance....More

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank Kazlouemo
42Gill, Owner at Punjabi Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking time to write a review on Punjabi Kitchen. Although we take the last orders at 8 p.m. due to this being off season, we do stay open till people have eaten and left. Our buitter chicken needs four and a half...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Carola Ann's
199 reviews
.09 km away
Cafe Gannet
1 281 reviews
.09 km away
Kaai 4
579 reviews
.23 km away
Nearby Attractions
Bartolomeu Dias Museum Complex
509 reviews
.07 km away
St. Blaize Trail
141 reviews
1.48 km away
Cape St Blaize Lighthouse
83 reviews
1.45 km away
Garden Route Casino
48 reviews
1.40 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
kissoffire
2 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from 42Gill | Property representative |
Sorry in line with the rest of the food industry no dogs are allowed except for Dogs for Certified Blind.
0
Votes
snahjenal55
23 February 2015|
Answer
Response from PunjabiKitchen | Property representative |
Dear customer, we are not a certified Halal Kitchen. However, all Ostrich meat supplied in this part of Africa is Halal and the chicken too. Our Lamb, Mutton and Beef are to the best of our knowledge not Halal. We do... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$16
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Validated Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Reservations, Delivery, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Monday
9:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Eden Plaza | 8 Grave Street, Mossel Bay 6506, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Mossel Bay
  • Phone Number: +27 44 690 5020
  • E-mail
Description
Punjabi Kitchen offers a unique dining experience serving innovative North Indian cuisine. It is an elegant restaurant situated in the heart of Mossel Bay CBD, in Eden Plaza which is neither a shopping mall nor a flee market but houses a fully licensed Bar. a convenience store, coffee shop, jewelry shop, greeting card & Gift shop, African Craft, Scarf, Toys, Games and leather hand bag shops to cater for the needs of the local people and tourists. There is also a well equipped cigarette kiosk. A family friendly restaurant, Punjabi Kitchen also has a Take-Away Department and offers a fantastic variety of spicy foods and real Indian food freshly prepared by our chefs on site, at affordable prices. For those who would prefer something different, fish curry and pizza are available at request. Restaurant and Take away service is available 9.00 a.m. to 9.00 P.M. Monday to Saturday with last orders at 8.00 p.m. During the low season we close on Sundays and Public Holidays. Plaza Lounge Bar, which is part of Punjabi Kitchen, stocks extensive range of medium to high quality wines, beers and spirits. To maintain the high standard of our bar stock, we impose a R50 corkage per bottle to discourage people bringing their own liquor.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing