We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

De Vette Mossel Groot Brak

| Souwesia Beach, Groot Brakrivier, Mossel Bay 6525, South Africa
+27 79 339 0170
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent54%
  • Very good26%
  • Average5%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
“snoek” (22 reviews)
“bread” (25 reviews)
“mussels” (21 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Seafood
PRICE
RR - RRR
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
| Souwesia Beach, Groot Brakrivier, Mossel Bay 6525, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

We had old years eve Dinner at this little gem!! Superb seafood great atmosphere the traditional South African hospitality. We had a awesome time and would defnitely go visit again.

Thank Jetsetter410
Riaanjordaan, Marketing at De Vette Mossel Groot Brak, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear Jetsetter. Thank you for your review. We are very happy to hear that you had a great old years eve dinner by us. We look forward to your next visit!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

we were out walking our dog and decided to pop in for a drink before walking back home, we were greeted very friendly even though they were closing up as a sunday afternoon, they have a doggy deck so we sat and had the one...More

Thank theresa c
Riaanjordaan, Guest Relations Manager at De Vette Mossel Groot Brak, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Theresa! Thank you for your review! We look ofrward to your next visit!

Reviewed 23 May 2018 via mobile

Great Seafood in an Unique setting with wonderful atmosphere. Nice family and friends experience. You can take your own wine or cooler for that matter. Friendly host. We will be back!

Thank ADSaaiman
Riaanjordaan, Public Relations Manager at De Vette Mossel Groot Brak, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2018

Hi ADSaaiman! - Thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you again soon!

Reviewed 21 May 2018 via mobile

I am visiting from the USA and let me tell you: this is an awesome hidden little gem to get the real South African seafood experience! Come here hungry as you will eat yourself almost sick (in a good way)! Fun, laid-back vibe and all...More

Thank Sarah E
Riaanjordaan, Public Relations Manager at De Vette Mossel Groot Brak, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2018

HI Sarah! - So glad you discovered us! Please tell all your friends and we hope to see you soon again!

Reviewed 24 April 2018 via mobile

Great vibe, excellent food. Awesome team! Advice... please check out their webpage first... at the tip of your fingers is all the info... even to book on-line.... this will be the last technoglogy.... once you arrive... no shoes... no stress... just sit back and enjoy...More

Thank Elsabe M
Riaanjordaan, Guest Relations Manager at De Vette Mossel Groot Brak, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2018

HI Trudie! Thank you for your ecellent advise and we hope to welcome you back again soon!

Reviewed 23 April 2018

We went to Vette Mossel out of Season time and it was TERRIBLE !!!! Not doing any effort with the food Mugs are rusted Braai Grids Rusted Got tummy illness sure it was of all the dirty dishes and RustMore

Thank Liezel V
Niel1234, Owner at De Vette Mossel Groot Brak, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2018

Hi Liezel. Sorry to hear about your experience. The grids might look rusty and dirty, but all grids are burn on open flames and then cleaned. Guests are free to choose from a variety of coffee mugs - enamel, plastic and ceramic. Please bear in...More

Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Great food and excellent atmosphere!! The food is so good and it’s literally impossible to eat every dish. Wonderful views on the beach! Friendly staff as well!

Thank Rabenco
Riaanjordaan, Guest Relations Manager at De Vette Mossel Groot Brak, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2018

Hi Rabenco - thank you for your review! We hope to see you soon again!

Reviewed 3 April 2018

The setting is right on the beach. Kick out your shoes and enjoy proper South African hospitality. The food was excellent and the ambiance even better. You will not go hungry!

Thank Albertgerber
Riaanjordaan, Guest Relations Manager at De Vette Mossel Groot Brak, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hi Albert! Thank you for your review and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your experience with us! Come visit again soon!

Reviewed 3 April 2018

Visit the restaurant with family of 13 people and from the youngest to the eldest thoroughly enjoyed the experience and the food. What a wonderful concept!! Thanks for hosting us. We will be back

Thank Vermeulen B
Riaanjordaan, Guest Relations Manager at De Vette Mossel Groot Brak, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hi Vermeulen! Glad the whole family enjoyed the experience - looking forward to your next visit!

Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

One wonder why this restaurant is open only three days a week, but when you visit them, you will experience something that is unique and friendly and with a warmly feeling that just does not exist at the usual restaurants. Here you must be barefood...More

Thank Herman K
Riaanjordaan, Public Relations Manager at De Vette Mossel Groot Brak, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Hi Herman! - Thank you for your review and we are glad that you enjoyed your experience with us - that is the whole idea - the experience! We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 9 hotels in Mossel Bay
Point Village Hotel
612 reviews
14.44 km away
Eden Country Inn
4 reviews
14.57 km away
Diaz Hotel & Resort
147 reviews
14.58 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
487 reviews
14.66 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Peperboom Restaurant & Deli
71 reviews
1.39 km away
Searles Village Restaurant & Pub
7 reviews
1.49 km away
Seeplaas
46 reviews
1.25 km away
Tafeltjie Dek
10 reviews
1.29 km away
Nearby Attractions
Zorgfontein Game Farm
126 reviews
6.72 km away
Hartenbos Waterpark
20 reviews
12.49 km away
ATKV’s Hartenbos Museum
6 reviews
11.39 km away
Santos beach
129 reviews
14.73 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
RonelRob
22 October 2017|
Answer
Response from Riaanjordaan | Property representative |
Hi Ronel - We do serve Christmas lunch - you are welcome to book on our website!
0
Votes
C0enie
3 January 2017|
Answer
Response from Niel1234 | Property representative |
There is no outside seating area. No animals, including dogs, accept registrated guidedogs for the blind, is due to health restrictions allowed. So, no dogs anywhere, under any circumstances, is allowed. Niel, owner.
-1
Votes
Deebro75
10 December 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from HanHan712 | Reviewed this property |
No pets allowed.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Wheelchair Accessible, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Parking Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
Child-friendly, View, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: | Souwesia Beach, Groot Brakrivier, Mossel Bay 6525, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Mossel Bay
  • Phone Number: +27 79 339 0170
Description
De Vette Mossel (The Fat Mussel) offers much more than perfectly prepared seafood – this is an experience – in unusual and informal surroundings with traditional Cape fishing culture – in true West Coast Style.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing