We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

De Vette Mossel Groot Brak

| Souwesia Beach, Groot Brakrivier, Mossel Bay 6525, South Africa
+27 79 339 0170
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent55%
  • Very good24%
  • Average5%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
“snoek” (21 reviews)
“bread” (21 reviews)
“mussels” (19 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Seafood
PRICE
RR - RRR
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
| Souwesia Beach, Groot Brakrivier, Mossel Bay 6525, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago

Very over priced with average quality food. The location is nice, but it is really not for the discerning pallet.

1  Thank einesweetie
Reviewed 1 week ago

we came to DE vette on 30 December 2017 to Celebrate our Anniversary. what a great choice we have made. Excellent Staff, Excellent well Freshly prepared food! you will see me very soon, That is A FACT!

Thank Misscupido
Riaanjordaan, Guest Relations Manager at De Vette Mossel Groot Brak, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Misscupido - thank you for your review and we are thrilled that you enjoyed the experience! Looking forward to your next visit!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Im not big on seafood in general, but like most reviews pointed out, the bread and snoek was brilliant. Mussels, I did struggle a little, friends on the table rated the mussles as very good, the mussle meat was so so. The catch of the...More

Thank Tiaan O
Riaanjordaan, Public Relations Manager at De Vette Mossel Groot Brak, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Tiaan - thank you for your review and if you visit us enough we'll make a seafood eater from you yet... :)

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The atmosphere at the restaurant is amazing. Everyone is relaxed. The owner is very entertaining. Having you feet in the sand all night is great. All the dishes are incredibly tasty.

Thank Annika D
Riaanjordaan, Guest Relations Manager at De Vette Mossel Groot Brak, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Annika - Thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back soon again!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Friendly staff with more food than you can eat. The freshly baked bread table was definately my favourite. Great views and being barefoot in the sea sand while enjoying lunch, priceless.

Thank StellaJ09
Riaanjordaan, Guest Relations Manager at De Vette Mossel Groot Brak, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Stella - looks like you had the right idea when you visited us! Thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back soon again!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

One gets the feel of a west coast seafood experience. Definitely worth the R270 per person. There are lots of food and one can take a coolbox with drinks for no extra cost.

Thank Johan d
Riaanjordaan, Guest Relations Manager at De Vette Mossel Groot Brak, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Johan - thank you for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your visit! Come back soon!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Quirky signage, laid back, funky vibes and a lot of laughter. One of the "secrets" to having a good time at this venue is to follow the process. They run each sitting on the minute. I can therefore totally understand some of the other comments...More

Thank Marais M
Riaanjordaan, Guest Relations Manager at De Vette Mossel Groot Brak, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Marais! Thank you for your review and you are 100% right! It is about the experience and to just come and relax! We hope to see you soon again!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Rude owner and staff!!! Will not recommend it at all!!! Didnt even get to taste the food, because they basically chased us away!!!More

Thank TilanaF
Niel1234, Owner at De Vette Mossel Groot Brak, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi. Bookings are essential - as stated on our website, facebook etc. We were in any case fully booked. It would have been extremely unreasonable to expect that we cancel the seats of guests who made proper reservations in order to accommodate you. I understand...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Our 2nd time here and loved it. Ps. Don't eat too much potbrood, or you wont make it through the whole "menu".

Thank Melvin D
Riaanjordaan, Guest Relations Manager at De Vette Mossel Groot Brak, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Melvin - thank you for the review and the good advice! :) Hope you come visit us soon again!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Wow!!!!!What a horrible experience We visited De Vette Mossel for a birthday celebration At the parking spot owner was very rude asking if we can read and said we cant park there In the meantime we were visiting his restaurant We booked and paid in...More

Thank Anna P
Niel1234, Owner at De Vette Mossel Groot Brak, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Anna. Its you again! As explained to you now numerous times - you cannot turn up with a larger party as what you booked for - this is true for all popular restaurants especially during the festive season. (We were fully booked.) Its got...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 9 hotels in Mossel Bay
Point Village Hotel
568 reviews
14.44 km away
Eden Country Inn
4 reviews
14.57 km away
Diaz Hotel & Resort
121 reviews
14.58 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
465 reviews
14.66 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Peperboom Restaurant & Deli
59 reviews
1.39 km away
Black Vanilla
23 reviews
1.41 km away
Seeplaas
33 reviews
1.25 km away
De Dekke Restaurant
100 reviews
1.31 km away
Nearby Attractions
Zorgfontein Game Farm
121 reviews
6.72 km away
Janine Iron and Washing Museum
13 reviews
11.88 km away
Bartolomeu Dias Museum Complex
541 reviews
14.73 km away
Hartenbos Waterpark
13 reviews
12.49 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
RonelRob
22 October 2017|
Answer
Response from Riaanjordaan | Property representative |
Hi Ronel - We do serve Christmas lunch - you are welcome to book on our website!
0
Votes
C0enie
3 January 2017|
Answer
Response from Niel1234 | Property representative |
There is no outside seating area. No animals, including dogs, accept registrated guidedogs for the blind, is due to health restrictions allowed. So, no dogs anywhere, under any circumstances, is allowed. Niel, owner.
-1
Votes
Deebro75
10 December 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from HanHan712 | Reviewed this property |
No pets allowed.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Wheelchair Accessible, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Parking Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, View, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Kids
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: | Souwesia Beach, Groot Brakrivier, Mossel Bay 6525, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Mossel Bay
  • Phone Number: +27 79 339 0170
Description
De Vette Mossel (The Fat Mussel) offers much more than perfectly prepared seafood – this is an experience – in unusual and informal surroundings with traditional Cape fishing culture – in true West Coast Style.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing