We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

La Peron Visskerm

RR - RRRSeafood, ,
Lower Church Street Look for the big red arrow on the right towards the harbor | Old Train Station overlooking the Harbor, Mossel Bay 6650, South Africa
+27 76 107 5922
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent62%
  • Very good23%
  • Average3%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
“mussel soup” (15 reviews)
“seafood” (13 reviews)
“prawns” (11 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Seafood, Grill, Pub
PRICE
RR - RRR
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Lower Church Street Look for the big red arrow on the right towards the harbor | Old Train Station overlooking the Harbor, Mossel Bay 6650, South Africa
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

La Peron Visskerm in Mossel Bay is a must see! Lunch or dinner, they have the best seafood in town and the decor takes you to Mozambique (where Myra imports her prawns from by the way). It's always a party at La Peron and if...More

Thank Jessica B
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Myra and her staff treated us very well! Live music, the most amazing mussel chowder, which they call mussel soup, and I have to mention that the garlic prawns were delicious! And, a local shoe maker,Leka Attitude is his business, even danced with me! I...More

Thank Kelli G
LaPer0n, Owner at La Peron Visskerm, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

So happy you found our spot. thank you for the kind review.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The mussel soup is possibly the best I have ever had. Very varied menu Quite a nice experience and relaxing.

Thank 37cathy
Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

I read the reviews (including the negative ones) and decided to give La Peron the benefit of the doubt. Unfortunately that was the wrong decision. A seafood restaurant without fish! (Claim they were busy today). No chicken. No pasta. Hard to believe their story of...More

1  Thank Jaycee K
LaPer0n, Owner at La Peron Visskerm, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

We do understand the disappointment when stock runs out. We receive our fresh stock every day and apologize that the fish had not been delivered when you arrived. Sorry for your experience, hope we can make up for it in future. We do try and...More

Reviewed 29 September 2017

We also drove around looking for a good place to have a drink before flying home. And there it was - La Person - Great Staff, made us feel like we were friends forever! Relaxing environment.

Thank sheridanconradie
LaPer0n, Front Office Manager at La Peron Visskerm, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Thank you for your revue, always welcome

Reviewed 25 September 2017 via mobile

I was driving around, looking for some local fish and chips. After about 45min and 4 stops later, I stumbled upon La Peron. A real local Pub & Grill. I was greeted with a big hello and welcomed to sit at the bar. Ordered a...More

Thank Hannes K
LaPer0n, Owner at La Peron Visskerm, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Thank you kindly hope to see you again.

Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile

We had a perfect Family Lunch there yesterday. The food was very good. The mussel soup is excellent. They just changed The Menu and it was brillant. Fresh fish lovers should Go there.

Thank heikodahse123
LaPer0n, Owner at La Peron Visskerm, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Thank you for your review.

Reviewed 10 July 2017

After trying just about all the restaurants Mossel Bay has to offer, we noticed La Peron's board on the way down to the harbour side and decided to put it to the test. We were not disappointed at all. This is a real seaside restaurant/pub...More

Thank Eileen M
LaPer0n, Owner at La Peron Visskerm, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Thank you for your kind review. We hope to see you back again.

Reviewed 23 May 2017 via mobile

This was an awesome dining experience. Great music, awesome fire, delicious food and a very attentive waitron............Seafood platter for 2 supberb😄

Thank Tania V
LaPer0n, Owner at La Peron Visskerm, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

How lovely of you to take the time to give us such a great review. We love spoiling our clients and making them feel at home. see you again.

Reviewed 18 April 2017

Would love to give a rave review to La Peron because the woman who waited on us was so lovely. But this is quite an odd place. We stumbled upon it after being unable to find a place to park on the harbor. The place...More

1  Thank pjmboston
LaPer0n, Owner at La Peron Visskerm, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Thank you for your review, We are mostly an evening spot with open Fire pits and lots of fairy lights live music etc. Glad you had a good time

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Carola Ann's
204 reviews
.22 km away
Cafe Gannet
1 305 reviews
.13 km away
Kaai 4
594 reviews
.13 km away
Punjabi Kitchen
318 reviews
.21 km away
Nearby Attractions
Bartolomeu Dias Museum Complex
520 reviews
.18 km away
St. Blaize Trail
148 reviews
1.48 km away
Cape St Blaize Lighthouse
85 reviews
1.44 km away
White Shark Africa
278 reviews
.16 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
elisbie k
18 August 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from LaPer0n | Property representative |
Hi La Peron is located on Lower Church street overlooking the harbor, on the old Mossel Bay Station
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$4 - US$16
Cuisine
Seafood, Grill, Pub
Meals
Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, View, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Lower Church Street Look for the big red arrow on the right towards the harbor | Old Train Station overlooking the Harbor, Mossel Bay 6650, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Mossel Bay
  • Phone Number: +27 76 107 5922
  • E-mail
Description
If you love seafood, then this is place for you. Not only great food, but a relaxing venue accompanied by a terrific staff and good company. Our Steaks are great, the setting with a few over the harbor, with open fire pits, just the place to relax and enjoy good music and food. GREAT FOR EVENTS Office parties, year end functions, weddings, birthdays can seat from 50people to 200pp
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing