We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kingfisher Restaurant

7 Point Road | The Point, Mossel Bay 6506, South Africa
+27 44 690 6390
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent27%
  • Very good36%
  • Average20%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“sushi” (69 reviews)
“butter fish” (5 reviews)
“kingklip” (12 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Seafood, Sushi, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
RR - RRR
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
7 Point Road | The Point, Mossel Bay 6506, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (594)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 476 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

We went to the Kingfisher as we both fancied fish and we had seen the menu in our guest house folder. The place was very busy and obviously a favourite in the area. We both ordered fish , I had the Yellowtail and my wife...More

Thank nigel c
Reviewed 3 days ago

Rainy and cloudy day in Mossel Bay so the view from Kingfisher was not the best, but it was the best part of our meal there. Our waiter seemed pretty disinterested right from the beginning, but we were able to order after a longer than...More

Thank kostek
Reviewed 5 days ago

We stayed in Mossel for one night on our way to Pumba game reserve. We had eaten a beautiful lunch at Waterkloof winery and so we only wanted something light to eat in the evening. The lady where we were staying suggested this place. I'm...More

Thank gbjoce1
KingfisherMosselBay, Manager at Kingfisher Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to give us your review. We have taken note of your comments and will give immediate attention to the issues raised. Davek

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This Restaurant has a very unique setting and all round nice vibe.Food is bit off a dissapointment. Staff needs to be educated on cleanliness.

Thank mariusjanse
KingfisherMosselBay, Manager at Kingfisher Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi Maruis, thank you for your review. We value your comments and would like to discuss the issues with you to help us improve. Our email address is info@thekingfisher.co.za and we would appreciate it if you would provide us with your contact details. Regards Davek

Reviewed 1 week ago

This restaurant has breathtaking views of the ocean and the huge waves breaking on the point (Cape St Blaize). The sole we had was fresh and very good, although whoever cleaned it did not remove the short fish bones on the sides on my piece...More

Thank ltjvv
KingfisherMosselBay, Manager at Kingfisher Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for your review tjvv. Indifferent service is unacceptable and not our normal standards. Thanks once again for bringing it to our attention as it seems a bit of retraining is necessary. Davek

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely viewing spot over the sea for lunch outside. Staff were friendly. Food was good, not stunning but did the job for to fill a gap during the day.

Thank Tracie0909
KingfisherMosselBay, Manager at Kingfisher Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you Tracie, it was great having you here. Davek

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Beautiful spot overlooking the ocean. Nice and buzzy. Great service, our waiter Charl was brilliant. Highly recommend the oysters and the prawns. Price was very reasonable too.

Thank JoannaObermueller
KingfisherMosselBay, Manager at Kingfisher Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks Joanna It was a pleasure having you and we will make sure Charl gets the compliment. Davek

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Restaurant was over-crowded and busy. Waiter was excellent given the circumstances. Worst hake and salad I have ever eaten anywhere. My partner had calamari which was not much better. The view made up for the food but I'm sure a quieter night might be better....More

Thank LizzieCapeTown
KingfisherMosselBay, Manager at Kingfisher Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for the review Lizzie. No matter how busy we are you should never be served soggy hake or calamari. This is not our usual standard and we apologize for the poor quality. Davek

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

If you build your restaurants with waiters like Minoli, it’s clear why it’s so successful. The place was packed, but it still seemed like we were the only guests. How fast we were seated with a smile, how good and fast the service was, how...More

Thank LizelDV
KingfisherMosselBay, Manager at Kingfisher Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for your lovely review Lizel. I was a pleasure serving you and we will make sure Minaldi gets her recognition. Hope to see you again soon. Davek

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great service great food..excellent view..easy access defiantly try the prawns its really great. Staff frendly and food come reallt quick even though they are busy

Thank aletbez
KingfisherMosselBay, Manager at Kingfisher Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Great review. Thank you Alet, it was a pleasure serving you and we hope to see you again soon. Davek

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 9 hotels in Mossel Bay
Point Village Hotel
567 reviews
.07 km away
The Point Hotel & Spa
259 reviews
.34 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
465 reviews
1.38 km away
The Edward Charles Manor
52 reviews
1.77 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Blue Shed Coffee Roastery
336 reviews
.68 km away
Route 57 Restaurant
427 reviews
.39 km away
Coffee At Work
67 reviews
1.04 km away
Delfino's Restaurant
785 reviews
.05 km away
Nearby Attractions
Bartolomeu Dias Museum Complex
542 reviews
1.46 km away
St. Blaize Trail
162 reviews
.34 km away
Cape St Blaize Lighthouse
89 reviews
.36 km away
The Shark Lab
74 reviews
.38 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Kingfisher Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$3 - US$11
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, View, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Monday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 7 Point Road | The Point, Mossel Bay 6506, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Mossel Bay
  • Phone Number: +27 44 690 6390
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing