We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$4 - US$10
CUISINES
Bar, Seafood
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
View all details
features, about
Reviews (572)
Filter reviews
533 results
Traveller rating
153
215
77
40
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
153
215
77
40
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviews seafood value for money rustic restaurant great view ocean basket harbour views vibe
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed today via mobile

This cafe has ruined our holiday- wish we’d never gone. My wife now very unwell with food poisoning from a chicken salad that took 45 mins. I was lucky to escape with diarrhoea from a fish salad. Poor hygiene in kitchen as I went to...check on the food. Staying at an expensive lodge in bed- more than disappointingMore

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I used to be a huge fan, lately, the alluring view, great service and ambience cannot make up for the terrible food! The freshes fish are on their doorstep, yet we were served the worst yellowtail and calamari EVER, oily, dry and not fresh! I...feel sorry for the waiters, they really walk the extra mile and the friendly service is appreciated, however, the kitchen keeps dropping the ball! Unfortunately won't ever see me or my guests again, I will be taking Sea Gypsy off our recommendation letters.More

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?
Colin735, Owner at Sea Gypsy Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review. Regards Colin.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Good food great view off the ocean and pmenty place for the kids to play in a safe and clean area. The food is very nice and the service is good aswell.

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?
Colin735, Owner at Sea Gypsy Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you. Gypsy Team.

Reviewed 17 December 2021 via mobile

The restaurant had an alluring appearance - a real fisherman's haven. We were expecting good sea food as the restaurant is set right on the water with fantastic views! We were however dissapointed in the quality of their food. Under seasoned and not well cooked....Ocean basket will satisfy your sea food need much better. Perfect place for a beer next to the ocean - that is about that!More

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?
Colin735, Owner at Sea Gypsy Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2021

Thank you for your review. Regards Colin.

Reviewed 4 December 2021 via mobile

Lovely view and good food. love the laidback vibe and friendpy wait staff. most definitely a staple when visiting mossel bay.

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?
Colin735, Owner at Sea Gypsy Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2021

Great stuff. Thanks Gypsy Team.

Reviewed 7 November 2021 via mobile

The moment we stepped into the establishment I could smell the oil - I should have known to rather not have lunch there. Fish and calamari (although soft) was VERY oily. Won't go there again.

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?
Colin735, Owner at Sea Gypsy Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2021

Thank you for your review. Regards Colin.

Reviewed 3 October 2021 via mobile

Great view of the sea did not makeup for the terrible food. We ordered fish, chips and pawns. The prawns looked grey in colour and were tasteless. The fish did not taste fresh and the chips not the best we have had in our life's....They promised to call the Manager after sharing our dissatisfaction, never happened. Disappointed that we were charged full price for the meal after complaining.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
Colin735, Owner at Sea Gypsy Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2021

Thank you for your review. I am very sorry for your dissapointing visit and would like to contact you personally to resolve this matter in the right way. Can you please contact me on 0829245600 Regards Colin van Niekerk (Owner)

Reviewed 25 September 2021 via mobile

Perfect seaside setting and ambiance with awesome view. Very friendly waiter. The gypsy combo was delicious- but beware of the price hike when you opt to swap hake for fish of the day! Disappointing coffee availability. Ice cream and chocolate sauce served on a side...plate?? In these COVID times I was not comfortable with the plastic condiment bottles- they didn’t look clean.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Colin735, Owner at Sea Gypsy Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2021

Thank you for your review. Regards Colin van Niekerk

Reviewed 8 June 2021 via mobile

We ordered combo, hake and calamari. The calamari was to be but the hake came as two thin pieces, batter soggy and it left a fish oil taste in your mouth. I've had better tish and chop inland. One would expect more from a restaurant...by the harbourMore

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Colin735, Owner at Sea Gypsy Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2021

Thank you for your review. Regards Colin.

Reviewed 29 May 2021 via mobile

Think the kitchen dropped the ball a bit, but management was great and understanding. Thank you. Will see you again when back in Town..

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
Colin735, Owner at Sea Gypsy Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2021

Thank You. Colin.

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
602 reviews
.28 km away
The Edward Charles Manor
66 reviews
.64 km away
Eden Country Inn
4 reviews
.94 km away
Point Village Hotel
825 reviews
1.34 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Carola Ann's
362 reviews
.61 km away
Cafe Gannet
2 014 reviews
.27 km away
La Peron Visskerm
444 reviews
.13 km away
Kaai 4
842 reviews
.18 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Santos Beach
179 reviews
.51 km away
Bartolomeu Dias Museum Complex
700 reviews
.31 km away
Cape St Blaize Lighthouse
131 reviews
.83 km away
Cape Saint Blaize Distillery
5 reviews
.33 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Sea Gypsy Cafe staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sea Gypsy Cafe

Yes, Sea Gypsy Cafe offers takeaway services.

Sea Gypsy Cafe is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 3.5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4