We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The White Horse Inn

Shaston Road | Stourpaine, Blandford Forum DT11 8TA, England
+44 1258 453535
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent66%
  • Very good23%
  • Average4%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“steak pudding” (4 reviews)
“salad” (13 reviews)
“lambs liver” (2 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
RR - RRR
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Shaston Road | Stourpaine, Blandford Forum DT11 8TA, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visited the inn during our day out cycling the North Dorset Trailway. Unfortunately we had just missed the lunchtime service but the staff advised us to visit the little shop in the pub where we could purchase food to eat outside with our drinks....More

Thank HectorFOTG
Reviewed 1 week ago

The waitress was helpful but was rushed and finishing her shift. Limited puds when we asked for menu, as had run out of options. Hung around the bar waiting for service. Just a chance passing on a bike trip. Haven’t been since, as nothing special...More

Thank b0rderterrier
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The food was delicious, with a large choice, a big choice of drinks alcoholic and non alcoholic the atmosphere was welcoming, staff were friendly, polite, and couldn't do enough to help, except for one young waitress who came across, as rude, unhelpful & didn't seem...More

Thank Robyn S
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stopped by chance, via sat nav, food was fresh cooked, beautifully presented, and very tasty. Beef lasagne, salad,garlic bread for 3 picky people, home made veg samosas chips and salad,drinks and pud £80.exalant.

Thank ANN B
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

What started of as a good experience rapidly went downhill. Firstly was told there was no Sunday roast, this was a shock! So I ordered the honey and mint lamb! When it arrived the meat was fatty and the veg eatable was rather hard! We...More

Thank Phil P
TheWhiteHorseInnPub, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We are so sorry that you had a disappointing experience last evening and we can only apologise for that as we were a waitress down due to illness and it was extremely busy. We do do a Sunday roast but at lunchtime only and this...More

Reviewed 10 July 2018

Stourpaine is a pretty little village just outside Blanford. We had completed a great, but hot walk, with the dog over and around nearby Hod Hill and stopped off here on the way back to the car. We were very warmly greated by the bar...More

Thank colehill c
TheWhiteHorseInnPub, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your walk around Hod Hill and the village of Stourpaine. Thank you so much for your lovely review and comments and we will look forward to seeing you again sometime in the future.

Reviewed 9 July 2018 via mobile

I've known about this place for a few years. it's been a regular place to visit when the kids were growing up. Great food but it gets busy.

Thank jbaines2018
TheWhiteHorseInnPub, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave your 5* review

Reviewed 9 July 2018 via mobile

Stopped for a light lunch after visiting local free range meat supplier. Bar staff really friendly and helpful. We had roast beef sandwiches which came with a large plate of salad and crisps. Really enjoyed it washed down with Doombar. Will be happy to visit...More

Thank tiffer11
TheWhiteHorseInnPub, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review and lovely comments, we will look forward to seeing you again if you are in the area.

Reviewed 4 July 2018 via mobile

The reviews of this pub & it's location by the river made it an easy choice for a lazy lunch. Very friendly front of house greeted us and soon we were reclined in some comfy high back armchairs, supping tea whilst watching Wimbledon. Our choices...More

Thank mpw246pl
Reviewed 1 July 2018 via mobile

I visited the white horse with high expectations, oh I was wrong, I was having a nice meal with couple pints and then at the end receipt it seems rather high, So me and my family friends pay and then the price just keeps going...More

Thank AlexHanley
TheWhiteHorseInnPub, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We are really sorry that you had a disappointing experience with us, it's a shame that you didn't ask for someone to check your bill at the time it was presented to you if you thought it wasn't correct and we could have gone through...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 2 hotels
The Crown Hotel
598 reviews
3.91 km away
The Saxon Inn
180 reviews
5.03 km away
The Fiddleford Inn
73 reviews
6.74 km away
The Langton Arms
336 reviews
8.26 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Yellow Bicycle Cafe
247 reviews
3.84 km away
The Cricketers
278 reviews
3.19 km away
Forum Cafe
86 reviews
3.84 km away
Nearby Attractions
Hambledon Hill
40 reviews
3.76 km away
Discover England Tours
59 reviews
4.13 km away
Hall & Woodhouse Brewery Visitor Centre
114 reviews
4.38 km away
Royal Signals Museum
135 reviews
5.71 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Mike G
20 March 2017|
Answer
Response from TheWhiteHorseInnPub | Property representative |
Hi Mike, thank you for your message. We are glad you liked our pub but very sorry that you weren't informed of the restricted menu. Normally when a booking is made and it is Chris's day off the customer is told of the... More
0
Votes
4Mollymoo
9 March 2017|
Answer
Response from TheWhiteHorseInnPub | Property representative |
Hi Yes we do. They are not allowed in the restaurant but they are allowed in the bar area where we have 5 tables, we also have a decking area out the back and tables outside at the front, hope this helps. Kind regards Ali
0
Votes
moffry
30 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from TheWhiteHorseInnPub | Property representative |
So sorry did not see your post!! We are open for food Monday lunchtimes but the restaurant is closed for food on a Monday evening.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Bar Scene, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 23:00
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 00:00
Saturday
10:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Shaston Road | Stourpaine, Blandford Forum DT11 8TA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  Blandford Forum
  • Phone Number: +44 1258 453535
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing