We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The White Horse Inn

Shaston Road | Stourpaine, Blandford Forum DT11 8TA, England
+44 1258 453535
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent68%
  • Very good22%
  • Average4%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“steak pudding” (4 reviews)
“lambs liver” (3 reviews)
“salad” (13 reviews)
Open Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
RR - RRR
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Shaston Road | Stourpaine, Blandford Forum DT11 8TA, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Called in with our dog and staff very welcoming. This pub is always busy, mainly with pensioner offers on certain days. Prawn cocktail was poor. Prawns really small and tough. Sauce tasteless. Vegetarian curry also little flavour. Served with rice, but nothing else, small portion,...More

Thank Gaddspam
TheWhiteHorseInnPub, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, we welcome all feedback as this enables us to improve where necessary.

Reviewed 1 week ago

Having searched online for a Sunday carvery and good reviews we travelled the 35 miles to this pub - a bad decision on our part. Although having booked a table for 4 adults we were squeezed between a pillar and the next table, when we...More

4  Thank MrsPAY
TheWhiteHorseInnPub, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Firstly can we just point out that nowhere on our website or our social media platforms does it state that we do a carvery on a Sunday and we never have done in the 18 years of being here, wrong pub maybe? We don't have...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We booked for a large group and they were really accommodating. The food was delicious and the staff were helpful. Great place to visit if you’re in the area.

Thank Jenni R
TheWhiteHorseInnPub, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave your lovely 5* review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your lunch on Saturday and your comments are great, take care.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stopped here, looking for a wind-down from a morning's medical appointment. We were on the early side for lunch, but the pub was already busy even though Thursday lunch turned out to offer a restricted menu - no specials that day. We chose the...More

Thank Michael P
TheWhiteHorseInnPub, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely detailed review. We do offer a smaller menu on a Monday and Thursday, this enables the chef to take a much needed day off. This is stated on our website and menus and if...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Delighted this pub is halfway so it is well placed for lunch and chat. Excellent service and food. Have never been disappointed yet! If you are fussy regarding toilet facilities - the gents has been refurbished since my last visit and is spotless , quirky...More

Thank neilowen45
TheWhiteHorseInnPub, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

We are glad you have found a great halfway meeting place and thank you so very much for taking the time to write a review. Yours comments are lovely, take care and hopefully see you soon.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After an 8-mile walk over Hod and Hambledon Hills with my 15 yo son Alex, we just made it to the pub in time to order lunch before the 2pm cut-off. Impressive range of ales on offer and happy to give samplers. We chose the...More

Thank Tony A
TheWhiteHorseInnPub, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

What a fabulous review! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave it and we will hopefully see you again soon.

Reviewed 3 September 2018

We only found this lovely pub recently, although we have driven past it quite often. The food is excellent and the staff so helpful. Working our way through the menu and so far everything has been really good. What really impressed us though was that...More

Thank Peter W
TheWhiteHorseInnPub, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

We are pleased to hear this is your favourite 😉 thanks for taking the time to leave us your review and lovely comments about our pub, staff and food. We are a busy pub, more so since we have become a freehouse and we're very...More

Reviewed 1 September 2018 via mobile

Visited for lunch with my parents and wife, the food was served hot and promptly and well presented. 2 ham egg and chips, lambs liver and steak and ale pudding were all excellent and good value. We were going to skip deserts but having seen...More

Thank Stephen S
TheWhiteHorseInnPub, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and such a lovely one.....it is very much appreciated. We are pleased you enjoyed your experience at The White Horse and we will look forward to seeing you all again very soon.

Reviewed 31 August 2018

WE went back here on four evenings to dine after the Great Dorset Steam Fair. The food and service is excellent, bar staff very friendly and reasonably priced. It's avery busy bar/restaurant so it would be wise to book in advance and it's worth it.

Thank Eamonn D
TheWhiteHorseInnPub, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave your lovely review, we will look forward to seeing you again next year!

Reviewed 29 August 2018

The food is excellent,choice of menu exciting.Staff very friendly.We gladly recommend the white horse and we will certainly visit again.

Thank caravanstay
TheWhiteHorseInnPub, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave your lovely 5* review and recommendation, we will look forward to your next visit.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 2 hotels
The Crown Hotel
622 reviews
3.91 km away
The Saxon Inn
186 reviews
5.03 km away
The Fiddleford Inn
76 reviews
6.74 km away
The Langton Arms
344 reviews
8.26 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Yellow Bicycle Cafe
254 reviews
3.84 km away
The Cricketers
290 reviews
3.19 km away
Forum Cafe
86 reviews
3.84 km away
Nearby Attractions
Hambledon Hill
42 reviews
3.76 km away
Discover England Tours
62 reviews
4.13 km away
Hall & Woodhouse Brewery Visitor Centre
124 reviews
4.38 km away
Royal Signals Museum
141 reviews
5.71 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Mike G
20 March 2017|
Answer
Response from TheWhiteHorseInnPub | Property representative |
Hi Mike, thank you for your message. We are glad you liked our pub but very sorry that you weren't informed of the restricted menu. Normally when a booking is made and it is Chris's day off the customer is told of the... More
0
Votes
4Mollymoo
9 March 2017|
Answer
Response from TheWhiteHorseInnPub | Property representative |
Hi Yes we do. They are not allowed in the restaurant but they are allowed in the bar area where we have 5 tables, we also have a decking area out the back and tables outside at the front, hope this helps. Kind regards Ali
0
Votes
moffry
30 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from TheWhiteHorseInnPub | Property representative |
So sorry did not see your post!! We are open for food Monday lunchtimes but the restaurant is closed for food on a Monday evening.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 23:00
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 00:00
Saturday
10:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Shaston Road | Stourpaine, Blandford Forum DT11 8TA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  Blandford Forum
  • Phone Number: +44 1258 453535
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing