We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$5 - US$29
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
View all details
features, about
Reviews (325)
Filter reviews
313 results
Traveller rating
161
103
27
10
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
161
103
27
10
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pizza cake steak wine tasting stunning views cape town banting burger valley robertson stop brandy route stock winery lunchtime biltong
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Friendly and attentive staff. Attractive menu. Exceptionally pleasant 2021 Cab Sav which perfectly complimented a very tasty pizza. Dessert cake - kahlua chocolate was a tad dry.

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 9 June 2021 via mobile

We have recently visited Nuy for an early morning breakfast. The service was great and friendly and the food was great. Highly recommended. BONUS: Amazing views free of charge

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
nuyonthehill, Owner at Nuy On The Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2021

Thank you

Reviewed 23 February 2021 via mobile

What an amazing experience. I had the Cranberry Burger 🤤🤤🤤 and my husband had the Banting Burger. The only words I can say is WOW. The atmosphere is lovely, beautiful mountain view. Thank you to Johann our waiter, I asked him for the best and...he gave me the best 🙂🙂. Will defnitely visit again!!!More

Date of visit: February 2021
Helpful?
nuyonthehill, Owner at Nuy On The Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2021

Thank you for your review.

Reviewed 21 February 2021

I had a Nacho Pizza and it was the most disgusting thing ever!! It was impossible to eat and the sauce on the pizza base was so thick and super acidic. I ended up having food poisoning and had problems with my tummy for the...rest of the week.More

Date of visit: February 2021
Helpful?
nuyonthehill, Owner at Nuy On The Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2021

Good day Our sincerest apologies for the meal you did not enjoy in our restaurant. We serve many of the Nacho pizza's and have had no other complaints or any other patron getting sick. Please send your contact information to onthehill@nuywinery.co.za We would like to...More

Reviewed 14 February 2021

Should be no stars at all but unfortunately I had to pick one!!!! Bitterly and extremely disappointing experience at Nuy Restaurant at Nuy Wine Estate outside Worcester for what was supposed to be a wonderful Valentines Day lunch. My sirloin steak was sinewy at best....Steven's fillet steak was requested as rare, was sent back twice because it was medium at best and declined for the third attempt seeing as my meal was almost finished by the time the third attempt would have arrived. The hostess came back each time to apologize but by the the third attempt the mood of a romantic Valentines lunch had disappeared. On receiving the bill for R356.00 which consisted of my steak, sauce and a bottle of wine, we approached the hostess/manager of the floor for a reconsideration of the bill seeing as we had travelled over 140km because of their assumed reputation to enjoy the ambiance and view. We were advised that the Manager whose name was provided as "AC" was not prepared to offer more than an apology. And to be told that because it was an aged steak it would not look "rare"!! How. sad particularly during the challenging times of Covid that Management were not prepared to consider more than a verbal apology in ruining a 140km drive in the hope of a special and romantic Valentines lunch. Needless to say, in light of advising Management of how disappointed we were in their weak attempt at rectifying the issue, the alternative of going to social media did not phase them at all all. Bearing in mind that Steve is a Tour Operator/Tour Guide, it is not exactly a place he would frequent with his future guests at all and very short sighted of Management seeing as he told them up front of his occupation. In addition who would risk driving 140km to be bitterly disappointed by unappreciative and nonchalant Management again?🤔More

Date of visit: February 2021
Helpful?
nuyonthehill, Owner at Nuy On The Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2021

Good day We are sorry that you are disappointed. Will you please provide us with your email address or contact number - onthehill@nuywinery.co.za At Nuy on the hill we always strive to give our customers the best experience possible and thank each person who supports...More

Reviewed 11 January 2021

Situated on top of a hill, we were able to do a good wine tasting, followed by a light pizza lunch. The wine sales revealed a very unusual wine "Chant de Nuit", which has table grapes in the makeup giving a very fruity flavour, perfect...for the pizzss we enjoyed. Better still was the price of the wine at cellar prices. The views are great and there was also entertainment on a Sunday. Well worth a visit.More

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 7 January 2021 via mobile

Perched on top of a hill this is a great lunch stop. Excellent burgers, delicious aioli! Friendly fast service.very good COVID protocol. Worthwhile!

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 12 November 2020

Restaurant and wine tasting on the hill with breath taking views of the Nuy valley. Easy access from the R60. Indoor and outdoor seating on the beautiful green lawns - and pet friendly. Try their pizzas - and don't forget the Koffiepit Pinotage - nothing...more relaxing.More

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 31 October 2020

The restaurant is situated on top of a hill overlooking the valley and mountains. We bought cake for our afternoon coffee and everything was delicious!

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 12 October 2020 via mobile

By far one of the better banting burgers I've had. Would definitely recommend. The wine and view give you a feeling of pure bliss.

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Protea Hotel Worcester Cumberland
88 reviews
13.17 km away
Golden Valley Lodge
44 reviews
15.06 km away
Fairy Glen Private Game Reserve
134 reviews
18.88 km away
theLAB Robertson
116 reviews
39.24 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Fowler's Grill
162 reviews
14.29 km away
Daly bread
82 reviews
14.10 km away
Cafe Hugo
60 reviews
13.92 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Karoo Desert Garden
83 reviews
14.19 km away
Merwida Wine Cellar
14 reviews
22.82 km away
Golden Valley Casino
48 reviews
14.45 km away
Worcester Museum
24 reviews
12.12 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
brendae860
16 November 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Chris M | Reviewed this property |
They serve breakfast from 09h00 to 11h00 7 days a week, as far as I am aware.
0
Votes
mangia1962
26 July 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Maria Christina A | Reviewed this property |
Not sure about the pet policy, sorry
0
Votes
CarrynB4
14 May 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Alan C | Reviewed this property |
We are not the owners or managers. You will have to contact Nuy direct.
2
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Nuy On The Hill

Nuy On The Hill is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4